We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
16th Century Charm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
16th Century Charm
Sunny terrace and outdoor dining for eight The Orangery and Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
16th Century Charm
Sunny terrace and outdoor dining for eight
The Orangery and Terrace
Vaulted Master Bedroom. King Size Double Bed
Guest Bedroom (first floor). Super King Size Double or two Singles
Stylish, modern bathroom.
Breakfast Hall. Dining for six.
Breakfast Hall
One of many antique stained glass windows
Study area between Breakfast Hall and Living Room
Living Room from Study area
Comfortable Cottage-style Living Room
Kitchen with modern facilities
Kitchen
Sitting area of Orangery from Terrace
Dining area for eight in the Orangery overlooking the garden
Changing the Guard at Windsor Castle
Have fun feeding the swans near the Windsor/Eton bridge!
The Jubilee River - a two minute walk from Rose Cottage which can be seen in the right background
Cows grazing on Dorney Common. Take care when driving across it - there are no fences!
Dorney Lake, the 2012 Olympics Rowing and Canoeing Venue. Excellent walks around it.
Boveney Lock - a few minutes away by car. On the Thames Walk.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead, Berkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
anniesuff...
Halesworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We spent 4 days here, mainly so that we could visit legoland and Windsor with our grandchildren and we thoroughly enjoyed everything. The cottage had plenty of room for us and the children inside, with the family upstairs and ourselves in the conservatory with a proper mattress on a sofabed. The cottage is very pretty outside and in - featuring a range cooker on which our son-in-law cooked a full roast lunch. It is very convenient for the M4 although there is some noise but not enough to be intrusive. The owner Jill was very helpful, providing a lovely selection of treats to welcome us. A very good pub, The Pineapple, is just opposite which provides an enormous range of sandwiches, Sainsburys is not far away and yet one feels in the country with lovely walks too and an easy drive into Eton.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty, well equipped cottage, convenient position.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2016
Thank you Anne and delighted you enjoyed your stay
Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We couldn't have found a better place to stay!”
Reviewed October 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were in the UK in August for a family wedding at Taplow House. Rose Cottage was the perfect location for our stay and to entertain various members of the extended family. Jill was very welcoming and extremely accomodating of our needs and the property gave us easy acces to Windsor where the other half of the wedding party was based and very close to Taplow House which was the wedding venue. The property has a very nice solarium and large garden which were perfect for the bridal shower and a group barbecue reception the evening of the wedding. You do need a car but shopping is only a few minutes away and the motorway is easily accessible as well. The regional walking path is accessible on foot and don't miss breakfast at the Dorney Court farm shop & café. The cottage is a really interesting historic building and as long as you are ready to watch your head and duck at appropriate times it is a fabulous spot to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entertaining space.
Liked least: You really need to be careful pulling out of the drive. but easy enough to get used to.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Thanks Robin delighted all went so well for you - and love your comment about our beamed ceilings!
Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XDLKX
1 review
“Charming!”
Reviewed September 28, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Beautiful cottage with charming character and ideally situated for Windsor and legoland. The weather wasn't on our side during our stay, which was a shame not to use the garden and conservatory which adds to the property. Owners Jill and Bill were very friendly and on hand when needed. Thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2016
Legoland is a great favorite with our guests and pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne H
Stockton-on- Tees, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, a little slice of peace.”
Reviewed September 22, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This lovely cottage had everything we wanted for a relaxing break. Plenty to do in the area. We had a day on the river at Henley and a trip to Legoland. The cottage is tastefully furnished and very well equipped, even down to a picnic basket for those trips. The welcome basket was very appreciated.Jill is very approachable but not obtrusive.Thank You so much, we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living spaces.
Liked least: The downstairs bedroom
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2016
Thank you Anne and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chinavisi...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I stayed in Rose Cottage along with some family members prior to a family wedding. It was ideal in every way - spotlessly clean, well equipped and the owner had even left us a basket of provisions; there were so many extra little touches. Such a beautiful house and garden, in a lovely area - a convenient location for visiting so many places. I would certainly recommend it to anyone and I will definitely be back! The downstairs room with bathroom next door was ideal for my 83 year old brother who is not so mobile & the owner even provided an extra folding single bed for one extra guest. Some Australian relatives called in to visit & they just loved the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! Impossible to choose.
Liked least: N/A Everything was perfect - I loved the house.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2016
Thank you Elizabeth,
It is such a pleasure for us when our visitors also love the cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cgib78
1 review
“Quaint Cottage in great location.”
Reviewed August 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and I along with our 3 kids stayed for a week in this cottage. The kids loved the garden and their bedroom upstairs with its character. Jill had a basket of lovely scones, jam and breads on our arrival also milk in the fridge. The Cottage was very clean with all the kitchen implements you will need. The living room is cosy. The sunroom is very bright and warm. We would definitely recommend this Cottage to our friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2016
Thank you Claire, delighted the whole family enjoyed their stay and you will visit us again.
Kind regards
Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue R
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A real Jewel!”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My daughter booked this gorgeous home for a family visit, the location close to Etonwick was perfect for a holiday with relatives. My 2 daughters, their husbands and my grandson sated in the cottage and were soooo comfortable and well catered for! We hosted a delightful family reunion gathering in the garden, our English family were in awe of the house, the decor, the facilities and the beautiful garden. The cottage is equipped with everything, and so much more that you could need, modern amenities blend perfectly with olde world charm! Jill and Bill were friendly and really helpful hosts, the welcome basket full of special treats was much appreciated!
Thankyou Jill and Bill for taking such magnificent care of a beautiful home that is clearly very special to you. My family loooovvveeddd their time there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2016
Thank you Lauren, it's such a pleasure to share this special home with our guests. Look forward to seeing you again next year.
Best wishes
Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing