We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming!”
other travelers have booked this property
16th Century Charm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
16th Century Charm
Sunny terrace and outdoor dining for eight The Orangery and Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
16th Century Charm
Sunny terrace and outdoor dining for eight
The Orangery and Terrace
Vaulted Master Bedroom. King Size Double Bed
Guest Bedroom (first floor). Super King Size Double or two Singles
Stylish, modern bathroom.
Breakfast Hall. Dining for six.
Breakfast Hall
One of many antique stained glass windows
Study area between Breakfast Hall and Living Room
Living Room from Study area
Comfortable Cottage-style Living Room
Kitchen with modern facilities
Kitchen
Sitting area of Orangery from Terrace
Dining area for eight in the Orangery overlooking the garden
Changing the Guard at Windsor Castle
Have fun feeding the swans near the Windsor/Eton bridge!
The Jubilee River - a two minute walk from Rose Cottage which can be seen in the right background
Cows grazing on Dorney Common. Take care when driving across it - there are no fences!
Dorney Lake, the 2012 Olympics Rowing and Canoeing Venue. Excellent walks around it.
Boveney Lock - a few minutes away by car. On the Thames Walk.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead, Berkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
XDLKX
1 review
“Charming!”
Reviewed September 28, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Beautiful cottage with charming character and ideally situated for Windsor and legoland. The weather wasn't on our side during our stay, which was a shame not to use the garden and conservatory which adds to the property. Owners Jill and Bill were very friendly and on hand when needed. Thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2016
Legoland is a great favorite with our guests and pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne H
Stockton-on- Tees, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, a little slice of peace.”
Reviewed September 22, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This lovely cottage had everything we wanted for a relaxing break. Plenty to do in the area. We had a day on the river at Henley and a trip to Legoland. The cottage is tastefully furnished and very well equipped, even down to a picnic basket for those trips. The welcome basket was very appreciated.Jill is very approachable but not obtrusive.Thank You so much, we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living spaces.
Liked least: The downstairs bedroom
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2016
Thank you Anne and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chinavisi...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I stayed in Rose Cottage along with some family members prior to a family wedding. It was ideal in every way - spotlessly clean, well equipped and the owner had even left us a basket of provisions; there were so many extra little touches. Such a beautiful house and garden, in a lovely area - a convenient location for visiting so many places. I would certainly recommend it to anyone and I will definitely be back! The downstairs room with bathroom next door was ideal for my 83 year old brother who is not so mobile & the owner even provided an extra folding single bed for one extra guest. Some Australian relatives called in to visit & they just loved the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! Impossible to choose.
Liked least: N/A Everything was perfect - I loved the house.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2016
Thank you Elizabeth,
It is such a pleasure for us when our visitors also love the cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cgib78
1 review
“Quaint Cottage in great location.”
Reviewed August 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and I along with our 3 kids stayed for a week in this cottage. The kids loved the garden and their bedroom upstairs with its character. Jill had a basket of lovely scones, jam and breads on our arrival also milk in the fridge. The Cottage was very clean with all the kitchen implements you will need. The living room is cosy. The sunroom is very bright and warm. We would definitely recommend this Cottage to our friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2016
Thank you Claire, delighted the whole family enjoyed their stay and you will visit us again.
Kind regards
Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue R
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A real Jewel!”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My daughter booked this gorgeous home for a family visit, the location close to Etonwick was perfect for a holiday with relatives. My 2 daughters, their husbands and my grandson sated in the cottage and were soooo comfortable and well catered for! We hosted a delightful family reunion gathering in the garden, our English family were in awe of the house, the decor, the facilities and the beautiful garden. The cottage is equipped with everything, and so much more that you could need, modern amenities blend perfectly with olde world charm! Jill and Bill were friendly and really helpful hosts, the welcome basket full of special treats was much appreciated!
Thankyou Jill and Bill for taking such magnificent care of a beautiful home that is clearly very special to you. My family loooovvveeddd their time there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2016
Thank you Lauren, it's such a pleasure to share this special home with our guests. Look forward to seeing you again next year.
Best wishes
Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue L
Rayleigh
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A gem in wonderful countryside”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What a delightful cottage! Spacious, everything we could possibly need provided. The beds were comfy, the towels fluffy, the welcome pack truly delicious! Great location for Legoland and Windsor, with beautiful countryside all around. The conservatory is particularly nice for a relaxing breakfast with a very pleasant garden if it's hot weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the cottage
Liked least: The very low doorway into guest bedroom, but it is part of the character really.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2016
Thank you Sue, so glad you enjoyed your stay and come to visit again.
Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JILL C
Norfolk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed May 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Rose Cottage lived up to all our expectations. It is tucked away off the road with a beautiful garden. The cottage is very well equipped, the beds are extremely comfortable with lovely linen, the bathroom has been beautifully renovated. The welcome pack was just want you need to start off your stay, eating a cream tea in the garden in the sun!! Due to travelling with young children we were unable to take advantage of the pub across the road which looked good, we heard no noise from the pub. Jill the owner visited us on our first day which was a nice touch. I would highly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage and garden
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2016
So pleased you all enjoyed your stay and hope you visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing