We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Windsor

“Birthday lunch with friends”
Review of The Boatman

The Boatman
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 2/26
8:00 PM
Ranked #30 of 266 Restaurants in Windsor
Price range: $13 - $52
Description: The Boatman is proud to be Windsor's only proper pub on The Thames with uninterrupted views of the river overlooking Eton Bridge and the fascinating waterfront life. The Boatman has an all-weather terrace with a retractable roof in case of inclement weather and its extensive outside area offers seating for up to 100 people - the perfect place for enjoying both sunny days and otherwise! The stylish inside decor combines traditional pub charm with a modern, quirky vibe which provides a relaxed place to eat, drink and socialise. It's magical at night with sparkly lights and the shimmering reflections from the river. The Boatman restaurant and pub also provides a great space for private events for up to 80 people ad their chef can create a range of menus tailored for any event - corporate, private party or wedding! The friendly Boatman team offers a menu and bar which is full to the brim with classic freshly cooked food, great wine, a fabulous choice of cider and beer, all served with opens arms and a friendly smile. The Boatman is a dog-friendly pub and your four-legged friend can enjoy treats, water and attention whilst you enjoy a drink or a meal. They are also a family-friendly pub and restaurant with a delicious children's menu and high-chairs if you need them. There is also plenty of space for pushchairs. So if you're looking for restaurants in Windsor, pubs in Windsor or places to eat in Windsor, come visit The Boatman. You'll find it just behind Windsor and Eton Riverside Station by the river, just down from Eton Bridge (also known as Windsor bridge depending on where you live!)
Restaurant details
Description: The Boatman is proud to be Windsor's only proper pub on The Thames with uninterrupted views of the river overlooking Eton Bridge and the fascinating waterfront life. The Boatman has an all-weather terrace with a retractable roof in case of inclement weather and its extensive outside area offers seating for up to 100 people - the perfect place for enjoying both sunny days and otherwise! The stylish inside decor combines traditional pub charm with a modern, quirky vibe which provides a relaxed place to eat, drink and socialise. It's magical at night with sparkly lights and the shimmering reflections from the river. The Boatman restaurant and pub also provides a great space for private events for up to 80 people ad their chef can create a range of menus tailored for any event - corporate, private party or wedding! The friendly Boatman team offers a menu and bar which is full to the brim with classic freshly cooked food, great wine, a fabulous choice of cider and beer, all served with opens arms and a friendly smile. The Boatman is a dog-friendly pub and your four-legged friend can enjoy treats, water and attention whilst you enjoy a drink or a meal. They are also a family-friendly pub and restaurant with a delicious children's menu and high-chairs if you need them. There is also plenty of space for pushchairs. So if you're looking for restaurants in Windsor, pubs in Windsor or places to eat in Windsor, come visit The Boatman. You'll find it just behind Windsor and Eton Riverside Station by the river, just down from Eton Bridge (also known as Windsor bridge depending on where you live!)
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I organised a trip to Windsor with 20 friends and The Boatman were very accommodating. We ate in the lovely conservatory, perfect for a beautiful blue sky day. The service was great, so friendly and the food went down a treat. I highly recommend! As the only pub on the river, and so close to the town centre, our experience here was perfect. Thank you!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank meelyindaclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoatmanWindsor, Other at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your 'perfect' review and recommendation. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 862 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2020

I've been here quite a few times - it's my favourite middle-priced-but-way-higher-value-than-you-pay restaurant in Windsor and it also has lovely views of the river. But - when I went last night with my parents the vegan Moussaka on the menu was so darn good I made a mental note to tell everybody on Trip Advisor. Bring your vegan friends here!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Doktor_Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoatmanWindsor, Other at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Thank you for your praise of the vegan Moussaka - and for letting everyone know!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020 via mobile

Saturday Lunch..... table for 4 in the outside building overlooking the river. Four mains, one dessert, two glasses of wine and 3 coffees came in at £99 so pretty good value for the location really.

Nice to look out onto the river but sitting underneath a heater which blows warm air right into your face isn’t ideal. Didn’t want to ask for it to be turned down as conscious of others getting cold.

Food was 4/5. Good portion sizes and tasted good but wasn’t anything particularly special.

Parking in the train station car park could be tricky at busy times as there were only a couple of spaces at the far end.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank SarahW36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoatmanWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2020

Hi Sarah, thank you for your very considered review. We do try and give value for money, and we're pleased you thought we did. Sorry about the heater (perhaps you could have asked to be moved?). We are very lucky to have Windsor & Eton Riverside station just behind us, and their (inexpensive) car-park adjacent, but do agree that parking in Windsor can be problematic at times, especially on Saturdays - fortunately because cars are coming and going quite frequently there are usually one or two spaces available!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

My husband and myself called at the Boatman by chance, We were impressed with the venue and the staff but most of all the most delicious Sunday roast dinner we’ve ever had !! Would absolutely recommend the Boatman at Windsor a definite stop for us in the future...

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bogarthayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoatmanWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

We are all so pleased you enjoyed your visit (especially the Chefs). Hope you stop here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020 via mobile

After a great day sightseeing around Windsor with my wife and her family from America, we decided to have lunch at the boatman , we got a great table overlooking the Thames and was greeted by very friendly staff , good choices on the menu and the food was very good , we would definitely recommend this place to anyone. This was a lovely place to finish a lovely day out in Windsor well done to all at the boatman

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank PaulA821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoatmanWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Thank you from all at the Boatman for your lovely review and recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boatman also viewed

 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Old Windsor, Windsor
 

Been to The Boatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing