We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They take tesco vouchers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Rouge Windsor

Cafe Rouge Windsor
Ranked #57 of 242 Restaurants in Windsor
Price range: $0 - $68
Cuisines: French, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Inspired by the nearby Windsor Castle, Café Rouge Windsor is filled with wonderfully rich features like swallowtail flags and mahogany planters. The Three Musketeers has provided inspiration with vintage swords and shield on display. Have a leisurely breakfast, lunch or dinner in one of our leather banquettes both inside the restaurant or outside under our terrace heaters.
Cotswolds UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“They take tesco vouchers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a very good meal using my tesco vouchers and just paid for drinks.

If I did not have the vouchers I would probably NOT eat here

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greenoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    156
    111
    59
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
158 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Poor - will not go again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Service OK, not great, food awful, I ordered smoked salmon crostini to start, it arrived in 2 minutes flat, I was speechless, there was about a teaspoon of smoked salmon cut into small pieces floating in some sort of creme fraiche, sitting on some soggy lettuce, nice ............

The mains were not much better, my partner had a chicken baguette with fries, just a couple of lumps of chicken in a dry baguette with some soggy fries, one glass of wine each, one dessert and one coffee, all for the princely sum of £45.00 !!! It was truly horrible.

And don't get me started on the toilets, down a dingy flight of stairs, you need to hold your nose as you descend, dirty, paper all over the floor and smelly.

I will not frequent Cafe Rouge again, even if I had a voucher it would have still been awful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taplow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Service and Qualilty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great people,Mohamid and his staff, Pollem, Ewelina, Lai La and of course Vinnie the mix of mationality is great and without exception all staff work hard as a team and provide my wife and I with excellent service and food

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worst Meal ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I had the worst experience ever; crowded, loud, terrible food and over priced menus. The meal was simply inexplicably awful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GagaGagaGaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Okay for supper, but only with a voucher”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Service was fine, food was okay, desert was lovely....we had a nice time, I think Steak overdone, but daughter loved her Caeser salad. Good location.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maisy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge Windsor also viewed

Wokingham, Berkshire
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
 
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Cafe Rouge Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing