We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location, setting, quality cottage accommodation...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Willow Cottage

Open plan kitchen area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan kitchen area
Front View Open plan Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Open plan kitchen area
Front View
Open plan Living area
Living Area
Rear View of Gardens to enjoy
Main Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Bathroom
Bath & Shower
Pond area for you to relax
View from Kitchen
Your own fenced private garden to relax in
Garden table
A couple of our ducks, we have several different breeds
Around Pond area for you to relax and use as well
Selection of Kids Toys and Books
Coffee Machine
Wide selection of Books and Games
Bench around Pond to sit on and chill out
Selection of Games
iPod/Phone music docking station
Sky+ TV with On Demand with DVD/CD player built into TV
Private Drive leading to the Cottage and parking area
Country lane leading to the Drive of the Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead, Berkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SJP99
Manila, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location, setting, quality cottage accommodation, presented with care.”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

If you care, and care to avoid the massive tidal, anonymous accommodation in the overnight holding of nights near London Heathrow airport, if you would look for comfort well beyond convenience I would recommend Willow Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, setting, and facilities.
Liked least: The directions could have been simpler. It is not that difficult to find.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ro_Hetho
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely barn conversion in peaceful setting”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Willow Cottage.

Our toddler loved having the run of the enclosed garden and watching the ducks go about their routines. I particularly liked sitting in the chair by the lake - a tranquil spot. We also liked that there were no steps / staircases to worry about!

The cottage was modern, nicely decorated and well equipped, including children's books and toys.

We really liked the location in the country - a short pleasant walk down public footpaths (through fields with wild flowers) to country pubs, and yet close to Windsor and the fast trains into London.

The owner was extremely helpful too - we would definitely stay again.

The only thing I'd suggest be different were the directions, as we didn't immediately realise that we needed to drive in through a second gate after the turn off from the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large windows in the lounge area with lovely view to the lake. And the garden and lake - a very tranquil setting.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoneybri...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great location”
Reviewed April 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This really was a great find and helped to make our family holiday really memorable. It is lovely, inside and out, and so obviously well thought through. All the little touches make it feel incredibly welcoming (home-made bread, jams, milk, refreshments, books, dvds, games) and yet it doesn't feel cluttered like you are in someone else's home nor so staged it is cold. The space/decoration is classic, muted and airy giving it a really peaceful feel whilst also being warm and welcoming. It just has a perfect balance and that is because it's clearly been so well considered and carefully done. Although the garden feels open to a couple of neighbouring plots (the dividing fences being low and not solid) and the duck pond also seemed to be communal, the little garden area wasn't overlooked by the neighbouring cottages themselves that I noticed so it still felt private enough for us and the overall feel was pretty idyllic. It really is a lovely property. The bathroom is a little small but perfectly adequate and the shower is lovely. The hot water at the sink is a little challenging with caution needing to be employed over the temperature, but there is constant hot water and the additional touch of the quality toiletries and lovely soft towels was very appreciated. The location of the cottage worked really well for us to explore Windsor/the local area and pop back as needed easily and quickly. I also have to say that all communications with the owner leading up to our holiday were very clear and helpful and the welcome pack provided some really useful, pertinent information. If we ever returned to the area I would definitely look to see if Willow Cottage was available again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The consideration that had gone into setting it up.
Liked least: The fluctuating temperature position on the bathroom sink tap.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara M
2 reviews
“Exceptional cottage and owners in an ideal location”
Reviewed April 3, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We arrived at the cottage and were taken aback by the lovely little touches that the owners had left for our stay. Home made bread (lovely) jam and butter, milk in the fridge, a supply of dishwasher tablets and quality cosmetics in the bathroom. The cottage was fitted out to a very high standard which included an extensive supply of books, DVDs, sky (full package) and a selection of games and toys for little ones.
Whilst we were there one of our little ones came down with an illness, we contacted the owners for a local takeaway, the owners not only provided us with a couple of takeaway menus but came with extra blankets and a radio controlled speed boat for the little one to play with on the duck pond! Fantastic, that made our poorly little ones day!
The cottage is ideally located for Legoland, Windsor, Thorpe Park and the food capital "Bray"
We really enjoyed our stay and will be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage, duck pond, property owners, legoland, Windsor, local restaurants! Etc.
Liked least: Going home when it was over!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiaHarry1...
Berkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning Cottage; simple, welcoming and very homely.”
Reviewed November 25, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
4
people found this review helpful

The cottage was welcoming, homely and felt very comfortable and relaxing. The view outside was stunning, perfect for a getaway. We were able to settle in quickly, everything was neat and tidy, and well thought out.

The owner of the cottage was also lovely and very helpful, any questions/queries we had were promptly replied to.

Overall it was a wonderful experience and I would definitely recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was welcoming, homely and felt very comfortable and relaxing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfd72
jfd72
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect escape”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Had 5 nights here over the August bank holiday weekend. Weather was good which helped as garden and grounds are amazing. It did rain one day but not a problem as cottage is cosy and spacious and has sky tv and broadband. Great place to chill out , and also really good for access to visit lovely places: Henley, Marlow, Bray, Eton and Windsor. Absolutely perfect for a good escape from it all. The owners were so welcoming and nothing too much trouble. Thank you so much , we will definitely come again (ASAP!!!) :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location , grounds
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarper
Brighton
1 review
“Best-in-class cottage”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This is the perfect option for those wanting to find a little peace and quiet, stay in excellent lodgings and yet be close to all the great activities that this area has.
My wife, 4 year old daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights to visit Legoland and Windsor, both of which are in close reach and simple to get to. We often go for the cottage option as we like to put our daughter to bed reasonably early and then have the space and facilities to enjoy the evenings just the 2 of us, so living space and good kitchen facilities are important to us and this place scores highly on both. April and John have thought of everything and more to ensure there is no disappointment when you come to look for something you'd have in your own home, lots of really nice little touches, from the food essentials on your arrival to the small, but very good selection of DVD's and Sky entertainment at your disposal (nothing like curling up on a cosy sofa and watching a film after a hard day's chasing around after a little girl if you ask us!).
Other good bits: comprehensive guide book to cottage and surrounding pubs; outdoor space + BBQ (we didn't use as not quite warm enough, but would have in Summer); pond at the rear with shy ducks; bathroom step for kids, small but very useful thing no cottage we've stayed in has ever had before; comfy beds (although duvet cover on double bed was linen I think, bit scratchy for us); Nespresso coffee maker; all crockery and utensils you'd ever need.

To top it all off was the service received from John, we had a problem with the boiler on arrival so no hot water and it was sorted as promptly as possible. Not only that he couldn't have been more polite when dealing with us, a real star.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing