We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with this B&B”
Review of Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clarence Hotel
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Stayed September 22-25, 2010
Excellent location: Just a block away from many shops and restaurants, and two blocks from Windsor Castle.
Parking: Space for four cars in hotel driveway (free), limited free street parking only at night 9pm to 8am next morning for three cars. Other than that you'll probably have to pay to park several blocks away.
Hotel Common Space: Lobby - nicely done; Sitting Room - Nicely done with two couches and small bar which is open at night.
Hotel Room: Stayed in family type room on third floor with wife and adult daughter. Room was tight like most hotels in Europe, but very nice. Bathroom was very nice and modern, shower only.
Breakfast: Room holds 8-10 tables, nicely decorated. Food was great, enjoyed the experience of the english breakfast. Great service.
Hotel General: Three floors & no elevator, Courtyard - Very nice, Steam Room - back of courtyard.
***** I left credit cards and lots of cash at the hotel by accident. They took the time to make the necessary arrangements to bank transfer the funds and mail me the receipts and cards to me. They went well beyond my expectations in resolving the dilemma I placed myself into.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catb1rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 327 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2010

The room was small but clean and comfortable, and the bath totally updated. Breakfast was good. It's convenient to walk to restaurants, the castle, and the train into London. However, it was a climb (no lift) to the second floor, so it's not for those who have leg problems. We had the two windows open at night, and used the fan for white noise to block the slight traffic noise, so we slept well. Parking is first come, first served, but we lucked out by getting a spot and not using our car for the three days we were in Windsor. Don't miss reading the restaurant recommendations in the hotel folder in the room; they're helpful and fairly entertaining, too.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ysanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Ivy and I found the hotel ideal. The Title (above) sums it up. The room we had was at the back and was quiet, undisturbed. We particularly liked the way that the staff (reception, restaurant, room and bar) were discreet but friendly. No-one was trying to sell us anything except a smoothly run, wery efficient hotel....... and it is. We're coming back soon to finish 'doing' Windsor - a lovely town. Thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waterloo180615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed at the Clarence Hotel in the Albert Suite for one night. The room was modern and very tastefully decorated. There was free WiFi in the rooms. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was good value and included a full English breakfast. It is located within a few minutes walk of Windsor Castle and the town centre with lots of shops, cafes and restaurants. The only downside was the room didn’t have air-conditioning. As the room faced west, even with the window open the room was quite warm. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again preferably on a cooler day.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silver999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

The hotel is really close to Windsor Castle. The room was clean and cute. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank narc0leptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We spent two nights in a family room which was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good and enough. The location at the begin of the walking area was very convenient for shopping and discovering Windsor and Eton. Beautiful garden to have breakfast and to relax in nice atmosphere. Parking lots are limited but public parking is possible close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bert_wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Situated centrally in Windsor, this hotel is a real gem. Not far from the many sites of this famous town, this small hotel has well-appointed rooms, friendly and helpful staff and is very reasonably priced. And, if you like a good hearty breakfast to start your day, this is the hotel for you!

The Clarence is a perfect antidote to the soulless chain hotels that are springing up in every city - it's a throwback to the days when the hotel management took an active interest in the well-being of their clientele.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philrileyBlackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.6 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
0.3 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Hotel

Address: 9 Clarence Road, Windsor SL4 5AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range: $60 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing