We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clarence Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We chose The Clarence due to location and convenience for being in town with no car but actually was one of the many highlights of our 'posh English weekend' away with girlfriends before I emigrate. Pauline is the friendliest Hotel Manager we've met and really made our stay with a giggle and a chat everytime we saw her. We booked the suite with adjoining double and twin, jacuzzi bath and shower in the shared bathroom which suited us as a group of girls but also very ideal for a family. Breakfast was good and very accommodating to us not wanting the full works! ! Would recommend to anyone wanting a personal touch and effort by friendly staff and the fabulous Pauline!!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
There are newer reviews for Clarence Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 326 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed two separate nights at the Clarence Hotel in two different rooms. This is a cozy place with friendly staff. Both rooms were ensuite, the bathroom a little small but very functional. Breakfast is a wonderful "full English," served in a lovely dining room. There is also a pleasant garden to sit and relax. The location is extremely convenient, just a short walk to the various attractions in Windsor including the castle, shopping, and restaurants. Staff were also cheerful and helpful, helping my print my boarding passes for the flight out. I recommend this place if you're visiting Windsor and would like a cozy place to stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SanNic44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. Double room with ensuite was small, but adequate as we were out all day. Nice lounge to sit in, with bar stocked with canned beers and lagers and some spirits. Hotel was clean and generally in good condition. Breakfasts were excellent, with good friendly service. Hotel owners were away when we visited, but the ladies who covered were very efficient and friendly with lots of time for you even though they were rushing around covering everything. Good hotel, enjoyed our stay. Close to Windsor centre.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed at this hotel with my son for a weekend away in Windsor. Lovely friendly staff and nothing was too much trouble. Very clean hotel and room. Breakfast was lovely. There is a small pretty garden at the back if you wish to relax outside. Excellent location for castle, shops and restaurants. Only parking for four cars outside but there are many car parks close by. When I arrived there were no spaces for my car. I parked opposite hotel and left my keys with the lovely lady at reception and she told me not to worry and to go out for the day and she would make sure my car was eventually parked safely outside. Which it was. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to visit Windsor and be in the centre of all that is going on.

Room Tip: Ask for an early check in if you want to try and get a parking space at the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had two rooms, one double and one family for four people. They were clean, comfortable and as we expected. Breakfast was good, even though they could not seat us at one table. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

If you want old English then this is it. Wonderful setting next to the Thames.

The staff are first class and the chef should be in a Top London restaurant. The dishes impressed my French colleagues and this included an excellent cheese board!

If you like old traditional English hotels then this is it. Brilliant location as Windsor castle close and T5 only 20 minutes - perfect for impressing foreign colleagues.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is a beautiful Grade II listed building set more or less in the middle of everything and that includes being located right on the flight path to Heathrow airport! The noise isn't a problem and it was quite a thrill to see the planes and work out where they were from. Our room was very clean and well presented, compact but functional as we were only going to be sleeping there, showering etc and it was facing the rear so was very quiet. There isn't a car park as such - just a drive for about 4 cars but we got lucky although we were blocked in on the day of our departure!! and the owners had gone out for the day!! however the problem was solved as there is a bit of an odd arrangement - you leave your keys at reception and if you get blocked in you just move the vehicle!! The breakfast was very tasty and sets you up for your day. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.3 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Hotel

Address: 9 Clarence Road, Windsor SL4 5AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: $61 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing