We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

My mother and I had a special time at the Christopher Wren Hotel.
It was a great location, lovely staff, wonderful room and spa.

We loved the Stained glass Sir Christopher Wren and all the medieval portraits.

What more could you ask for?

Thanks
Carla

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Carla h,

thank you very much for this superb review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I really appreciated your ratings and am glad you loved the history of the building.

Hopefully we can welcome you back here with us in Windsor soon.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    581
    295
    152
    99
See reviews for
248
827
45
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Excellent service from hotel,on all levels.from reception, baggage handling,cleaners,bar staff waiting staff,management etc etc.we were upgraded to a wonderful room overlooking the river with its own private terrace.everything was there as requested,and they even provided a beautiful bouquet of flowers which I hadn't ordered,which was a lovely surprise,and we were very grateful for.How thoughtful and kind.Nothing was too much trouble.Wouldnt stay anywhere else in windsor.Georgie even told us where to park our car much cheaper than all the times I had visited windsor before.Just around the corner.Thats good customer service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherieF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear SherieF64,

thank you so much for this amazing review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

It is so motivating for the whole team to be appreciated in such a lovely way and I have made sure Georgie has received a special thank you.

I am glad we were able to exceed your expectations for your birthday and I look forward to welcoming you back here with us in Windsor soon.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed in a triple room at the Sir Christopher Wren for 2 week nights booked through Secret Escapes - it took 4 phone calls to secure our booking due to some very inefficient payment systems and only certain staff being able to take bookings.

The hotel itself is in an excellent location right in the centre of Windsor with wonderful spa facilities and friendly staff. The night we arrived we enjoyed exploring Windsor and had a wonderful three course meal in the hotel restaurant. This was generally a great experience apart from the fact that the white wine was warm and we were given a very hard time about changing it to one that was actually cold. We also waited over 45 mins for dessert which didn't really matter to us but was still a little annoying. Unfortunately that first night we were placed in a room with no air conditioning on a very hot night and so we were kept awake by loud noises from the road through the open window. I recommend anyone who books at this hotel to make sure your window is not overlooking the road...

The next day, following an excellent cooked breakfast, we asked to move and were given a much better room. The staff were very accommodating and Andie was especially kind and understanding. However in reality they were totally rushed off their feet so when they offered to move our bags from one room to the other in practice they did not get around to it for over an hour. In the end we moved the bags ourselves.

My sister and mum and I all had a chance to use the gym facilities and hot tub at the spa building. We all had a wonderful Swedish massage and felt totally spoiled.

I would stay here again because the location is so amazing and the massage was fantastic, but I would only stay in a room facing away from the road and I would not come with very high expectations of the staff. Individuals were friendly and helpful, but there seemed to be too much work for them to do so some basic things easily fall between the cracks.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the back of the hotel rather than overlooking the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahandfamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Sarahandfamily2014,

thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It was good to see your overall positive ratings, despite some shortfalls in our service.

I have made sure Matt, my health club manager, has seen the wonderful feedback on the massages and am glad you enjoyed your meals.

Please do contact me when you are next planning a trip to Windsor and I will ensure we allocate a quiet room.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Wonderful traditional hotel in a fabulous location overlooking the Thames and the bridge across to Eaton. We had our Conference here and it was the ideal scenario being right on the River. The Staff were very attentive, caring and passionate about Windsor as whole.

Feels more like a large home rather than a hotel. Nice little lounges and areas for private meetings.

If you have the time - try and treat yourself to a massage at the Spa - wonderful.

Centrally located to do the Tourist things and see the Castle and eat out.

I'll definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Witcheiwends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Witcheiwends,

thank you so much for this excellent review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

It was great to read your wonderful feedback on the team and how well you were looked after for your conference.

I look forward to welcoming you back here with us soon.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Second visit here. Wonderful yet again. Can't fault it other than the staff need to learn serving skills a little more and hot plates for hot food please,to make it perfect. Nothing major to fault them on though.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitch58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Hitch58,

thank you so much for this excellent review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

It was great to see that this was your second stay and you are so happy here.

I have reminded my team to ensure enough hot plates are available, even for the busier service times.

We have added some additional training for our food and beverage team and hopefully you will see the improvements in place when you visit next.

Come back soon.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Just returned from a lovely weekend with our daughter and her husband to celebrate a special birthday. Hotel lovely, service excellent, only thing to complain about was the bacon at breakfast was so underdone, it was difficult to eat. Would go back and recommend it. Great location for all sights.

Room Tip: Ask for an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Pat R,

thank you very much for this brilliant review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

It was great to read your comments about the excellent service and I have made sure the team have seen your feedback.

I have also spoken to Lee, my head chef, about the bacon at breakfast and have reminded him to check breakfast more regularly.

Thank you for the recommendation and come back soon.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

After a disastrous stay 2 years ago the management offered a free night and breakfast stay valid for 6 months. Due to travel commitments and health issues we were unable to take up the offer. Last weekend we were due at a family reunion in Windsor and decided to approach the hotel to see if they would honour the promise made over 2 years ago. Not only did they do so but upgraded us into a King Club room, with everything laid on, including a note from the manager stating that she hoped "this visit would be memorable for all the right reasons". We booked in for 2 nights on one of which there was a wedding party filling the bar. The bar manager quickly realised we were residents and, rather than us queue at the bar for drinks, took our order from where we were sitting and had them bought to us. The porter was incredibly helpful as were the reception staff. We were even able to extend our departure time by an hour. We believe that "stuff happens" but what really matters is how it is put right. Jutta Staude and all the staff at the Sir Christopher Wren went out of their way to ensure that this visit would be perfect. There are always plenty of staff on hand and we also had a lovely lunchtime meal on the terrace, beautifully served by such friendly waiters who were perfectly, rather than over, attentive. Consequently, we are more than happy to recommend this hotel to everyone and will no doubt return as soon as possible. Apart from that we think Philboss review says it all about everything else. An excellent and thoroughly enjoyable stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: Decide whether you want to be in the main building or one of the others within the square. We had r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprite_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Sprite_9,

thank you so much for this outstanding review of your return stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I was overjoyed to read all your fantastic comments and really appreciated the opportunity to show you the hotel how it should be.

It is always very rewarding to change someone's opinion and I have made sure the team have seen your feedback as well.

Hopefully we can welcome you back here with us in Windsor soon.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa

Property: Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Address: 52-56 Thames Street, Windsor SL4 1PX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly special hotel at the heart of Royal Windsor. A superb location. Individual charm. First class service and attention to detail. Sir Christopher Wren Hotel has all this, and more.Sheltering beneath the ramparts of Windsor Castle, the hotel enjoys a spectacular setting, overlooking the River Thames at Eton Bridge. The main building holds a unique place in British heritage – and over the years, it has been meticulously restored to offer guests the highest levels of comfort and service. Today, Sir Christopher Wren offers 99 traditional and contemporary rooms, award-winning dining, and a modern gym and spa, as well as outstanding facilities for weddings, conferences and other events.So, if you’re looking for a first-class hotel experience, either for business or pleasure, you’re sure to find it at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel Windsor
Sir Christopher Wrens Hotel
Sir Christopher Wrens Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing