We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights for a short break. Receptionist was lovely when checking and took us to our room. Room was nicely furnished, clean and modern. All the staff we encountered were fantastic and friendly. We had breakfast in or room and the food was great. Hotel is in a really nice location and really easy to get to. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear shortly13,

thank you so much for this perfect review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I am thrilled that you had such a great time and enjoyed the room and your breakfast.

I was especially delighted that you described the team as fantastic and friendly throughout and I have already shared your comments with them.

What a wonderful way to receive our 500th review on Tripadvisor.

I can't wait to welcome you back with us here in Windsor.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    562
    287
    152
    97
See reviews for
240
793
43
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

On the whole our stay at this hotel was excellent. The room was large, beds comfortable and complimentary fruit was a nice touch. The Hotel itself is an old building with lots of charachter.It also has a lovely terrace bar overlooking the Thames. Unfortunately, this was where the one bad experience of our trip took place. At 5.30pm after returning from an all day shopping trip we thought it would be nice to have a jug of Pimms on the terrace, inspite of the fact it was a beautiful day the staff had reserved half a dozen tables on the terrace for a wedding party which were in the adjacent conservatory. When we explained that we were guests at the Hotel and would like a table outside we were told that there were none available, even though none of the reserved tables had anyone sitting at them. Even when we said we would go elsewhere the manager did nothing to find a table for us. My friend decided to dig her heels in and eventually a young waitress, who was very apologetic found us a space.In the hour that we sat there not one of the tables reserved for the wedding party was used. Then,to add insult to injury we were charged a £2 service charge for a jug of Pimms.What a cheek!!.
On departure we informed the very efficient front desk staff of our issue and she was also very apologetic. Such a shame that in this day and age poor customer service still rears its head occassionally.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runningwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear runningwitch,

thank you very much for the overall excellent review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I am delighted you liked your room and the character of the building.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the incident on our terrace, I am very sorry that you didn't receive the excellent customer service that we aim to provide to all our guests throughout the building on the Saturday afternoon and hope that this didn't take away from the overall enjoyment of your stay.

I have addressed this matter with Maciej, my food & beverage manager, and he has also asked me to extend his apologies.

As you can probably imagine, managing a busy terrace, whilst trying to keep a bride and groom happy on their special day, can be a little challenging at times, which may have influenced how your query for a table was handled.

I am glad that one of the waitresses did find you a table and hope you did enjoy your Pimm's in the sunshine, when you got to it.

We do apply an optional 15% service charge to all our food and beverage bills, in line with most hotels and restaurants in the area.

Andiswa, my reception manager, was on duty on Sunday morning and did feed your comments back to me. Thank you for your kind remarks on the reception service.

Please let me assure you that all our guest feedback is taken on board and I do hope to welcome you back here in Windsor soon.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed for 1 night back in May in the buildlng across the road from the main hotel. The room was first class,spotless, lovely view of the Thames and brand new furnishings. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel reception staff were very helpful. We had American visitors with us and they also enjoyed the proximity of the hotel to the sights in Windsor. We would certainly stay here again when visiting Windsor in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 29Florida2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear 29Florida2014,

thank you so much for the excellent review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa.

I was very happy to read your comments and have shared your feedback with my team.

The riverside rooms you stayed in are very special, as we only finished refurbishment earlier this year, but should you be in the area again after August you might want to try the Swan rooms, as they will be refurbished this summer.

The swan building does not have the stunning river views, but is a heritage building with exposed beams and lovely, traditional features.

Welcome back soon.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for one night following a day at Royal Ascot. Arrived at 12:00 and although official check in wasn’t until 15:00, and even though they were running full due to the races, they still had rooms available so we were able to check in early. The room was a good size and we were lucky to get a river view. It was spotless and decorated to a high standard. Staff were polite and booked us a taxi even though they were visibly very busy. Breakfast the next morning was decent. We we're unable to use the small onsite parking as it was full, but pulled up outside to check in, then moved the car a couple of hundred yards down the road and park at the train station. Its a great location for seeing the sights. We walked over the bridge to explore Eton, and then in the other direction up the hill to Windsor high Street and the castle. When we return to Windsor we will definitely check this hotel first.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexDex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear EssexDex,

Thank you very much for your perfect review of your time with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel during Royal Ascot.

I am glad we managed to check you in early and you got a river view room. We do try and get rooms available as soon as possible, but it does always depend on the previous person checking out early as well. I hope your luck lasted all the way to Royal Ascot as well.

Our parking is limited, so early booking is required, but we do always assist with luggage as you arrive, so that you can park up afterwards in one of the car parks close by. I am pleased this worked out well for you.

Thank you as well for your positive comments on the team and breakfast.

I look forward to welcoming you back here with us in Windsor soon.

Warm regards,
Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night in June, the night before a visit to Eton for the World Cup Regatta rowing. Travelling in from London, ther hotels location was less than two minutes away from Windsor Riverside station, and we were checked in and in our room in less than 10 minutes of our tran arriving in Windsor. Check in staff were extremely polite and welcoming, and although our request for a river view room, could not be fulfilled (the rowing was on after all), we were pleasntly surprised with our room. Although the bedroom is somewhat dated in decore, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the bathroom very large.

We checked out rather early as we needed to go to Eton, and headed to the restaurant for the breakfast. Although this was self service buffet style, it was plentiful and tasty. Such a shame that we were let down by the weather because we had planned to come back to the hotel for their bubbles and Sunday lunch on the terrace. I can imagine in summer, the terrace, with its views, is lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Ricky B,

Thank you very much for the positive review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and have shared your comments regarding the welcoming and polite staff at check in with all the reception team members, who asked me to extend their gratitude.

I do hope to welcome you back here soon and hopefully you can enjoy our bubbles and jazz lunch next time around; it is definitely worth staying for on a Sunday, even if the sun isn’t out.

Warm regards,
Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for one night only but the hotel was ideal. Rooms are of a decent size and if you're lucky you have a wonderful view of Windsor. The bar staff were very helpful and the outside terrace on the river makes for a nice evening drink. The town of Windsor is only a five minute walk from the hotel. I did not get chance to use the spa, but I would happily go back and stay here again.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Dan F,

Thank you so much for the excellent review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I am delighted you had such a great time and enjoyed your stay so much.

It sounds like you got a chance to enjoy some sunshine on our terrace, which seems to be far too rare this year, but does make for a very relaxing end to any day.

Do try and use the Spa as well when you are here next time. The outdoor Jacuzzi is even more relaxing than the terrace, although you won’t have the Swans swimming by.

Warm regards,
Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during royal ascot and thoroughly recommend the place.
Its situated right on the water and the footbridge that leads to Eaton. You can go on a 40 minute sight seeing boat trip from here for around £5 per adult ( kids and disabled were free)alternatively you can take a stroll into town to the castle (my opinion way over priced at just under £20 per adult). Or just find a bar or restaurant and chill.
The breakfast in hotel is well worth it.
The rooms are spotless
The staff are polite.
Stay away from cabs they are a rip off and the majority of the drivers barely speak english.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad123kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Brad123Kate,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel during Royal Ascot this year.

I am glad you enjoyed your room, breakfast and the team and also found some time for sightseeing around Windsor and Eton, whilst staying with us.

Should you be staying with us again for Royal Ascot or other occasions, please do let us assist with car services. We use a very reliable company with well trained drivers and they will also pick up from Ascot and other areas.

Warm regards,
Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
2.8 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa

Property: Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Address: 52-56 Thames Street, Windsor SL4 1PX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly special hotel at the heart of Royal Windsor. A superb location. Individual charm. First class service and attention to detail. Sir Christopher Wren Hotel has all this, and more.Sheltering beneath the ramparts of Windsor Castle, the hotel enjoys a spectacular setting, overlooking the River Thames at Eton Bridge. The main building holds a unique place in British heritage – and over the years, it has been meticulously restored to offer guests the highest levels of comfort and service. Today, Sir Christopher Wren offers 99 traditional and contemporary rooms, award-winning dining, and a modern gym and spa, as well as outstanding facilities for weddings, conferences and other events.So, if you’re looking for a first-class hotel experience, either for business or pleasure, you’re sure to find it at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel Windsor
Sir Christopher Wrens Hotel
Sir Christopher Wrens Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing