We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Staff but too many faults to warrant the tariff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff but too many faults to warrant the tariff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed with my 3 sisters (2 twin rooms, 413 and 416) for a long weekend. We booked well in advance - 6 months - and were able to get a slightly cheaper rate. The hotel is centrally situated and close to the railway station. We were in the annexe over the road up quite a lot of stairs, so to have a porter to carry our bags for us was essential. The staff were friendly and amazingly efficient however, there were a lot of little "niggles" that we had to have seen to, but once reprted they were put right immediately i.e.
* Rooms not cleaned and key cards de-activated. We were given a free drink in the bar whilst waiting
* No clean towels in the room
* Toilet seat fell off
* Shower handle fell off (both 413 & 416)
* No hot water in shower
* Shower leaked.
* Complimentary toiletries turned up on 2nd to last day - we were unaware that we should have had some.
However, the amazing staff put things right immediately and even let us leave our bags in our rooms after check out and they were brought down for us to collect from reception later that day.
I would certainly not have paid the full going rate as the hotel is not as grand as it likes to think it is and all the little faults should not have happened in the first place. The staff are its saving grace

Room Tip: Room 413 was very noisy on Sunday evening after the club over the road turned out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxxx04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear xxxxx04,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your lovely comments about the team, which I have shared with them.

I am sorry you had some issues, but I have made sure all of the points raised have been rectified.

I do hope the positives outweighed the negatives and you would consider us for a future stay.

Warm regards,
Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    560
    287
    152
    97
See reviews for
240
791
42
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thame, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

A group of friends stayed for one night at this brilliantly located hotel in the heart of Windsor. The service was excellent and the hotel has a lovely warm feel. Our twin room was incorrectly made up as a double but this was rectified really quickly.
The bar area had plenty of atmosphere it the evening and the food at breakfast was delicious.
I would definitely come back to this charming hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 46 which is in the main building, doesn't have a view but is perfectly well sized an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Fiona M,

Thank you so much for your positive review of the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and for your excellent comments regarding the service and atmosphere.

I am glad we were able to rectify the issue with the twin room promptly and you enjoyed your stay so much.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Windsor soon.

Warm regards,
Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights whilst my husband was working in the area. The location of the hotel was very good but we were very disappointed with our room- number 81- it was detached from the main hotel and located in the area next to the spa- no view and the window was frosted and needed to be otherwise everyone walking by could look in!
The room was clean but not very big- it looked like a new AC system had been fitted but the wall around this had not been sufficiently decorated- the sink and bath both had cracks in them-
We had a drink in the bar over looking the river which was lovely but didn't use other facilities on offer which we normally do when staying in hotels
As we wrote in the hotel customer feedback the room would be ok for one night but for no longer- we were also aware that the hotel was busy due to the horse show being on-
Would consider staying again but would want to see the room first to ensure it had a window with a view to outside

Room Tip: Avoid room 81
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoes-handbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear shoes-handbag,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and for the positive rating on our service.

As mentioned the hotel was very busy during the horse show week, so we weren’t able to move you to a different room on this occasion, but I would really like the opportunity to welcome you back and show you some of our newer rooms.

Please do let me know when you are next in the area and I will personally oversee your room allocation.


Warm regards,
Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

On arrival at the hotel we checked in and was shown to a room in the annex to the hotel. Although the very clean and tidy with a roll top bath in the on-suite, the view from the bedroom was disappointing as the window was frosted. Phoned through to reception who did not hesitate to upgrade us to another room. This was in the main hotel with wonderful view of the River Thames and Eton on the otherside. The staff were more than helpful and the food was excellent. Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel, indeed we are considering another stay at this hotel in the very near future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWright2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear PWright2013,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I am delighted we managed to find you a room that exceeded your expectations and that you were so happy with the team and the food on offer.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We booked a two night stay over the May bank holiday to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. On arrival we were helped with our luggage and informed we could not check in until 3pm so decided to sit in the sun on the gorgeous terrace and enjoy an afternoons drink whilst we waited. At 3.15pm our room was still not ready, and offered a complimentary drink for the inconvenience.
Our room was opposite the main hotel, room 301 and wow it was lovely, airy and very clean. The staff were fantastic, friendly and very accommodating. The food was delicious and the staff all worked very hard with a constant smile on their faces, even when certain unfriendly, impatient customers were rude. We were no way disappointed by the hotel or the staff. Due to the beautiful weather the terrace was packed which meant the staff were rushed off their feet. At times, we had to wait a little longer to be served, but by no means was this the staffs fault. The only unpleasantness of our stay, was as I said early the rudeness from a number of customers.
The hotel and setting was perfect and we will be definitely staying again and recommending this hotel to anyone that visits Windsor. Both the castle and boat trip along the Thames are a must.
Our only one recommendation is that the staff learn what the table numbers outside are, as on a few occasions we saw a couple of the staff walking round with food looking lost. Other than this one small thing, the place is amazing and the staff are hard working.
Because the weather was so lovely, we didn't manage to use the spa facilities, other than a quick visit last minute for a file and polish, which they managed to fit me last minute. Again highly recommended.
Thank you to all at Sir Christopher Wren.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat_tuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Cat_tuck,

Thank you so much for the lovely review of your stay at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and especially for your wonderful feedback on the team.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the room in the Riverside Building, as this has been our latest refurbishment project and we are still finding out how the rooms are perceived by our guests.

It was great to read that you enjoyed the terrace, the food and the sunshine, and I am thrilled about your comments regarding the service, as I know that the team struggled a bit over the Bank Holiday weekend, as everyone seemed to have decided to come out and enjoy the sun near the River.

We did call in some additional team members from other departments to help out on the terrace, which is why they may have been a little lost in regards to the table numbers, but we have taken your comments on board to improve this for the future.

I am glad we managed to fit you in for a mini treatment as well, and would like to thank you again on behalf of the team for your great comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Enjoyed an evening here with work colleagues. It is the sister hotel of The Bull in Gerrads Cross. Ideal to the shops and walking distance to the train station. However the car park is extremely small and accomodates 14 cars at a push. You have to leave your keys with reception and they move the vehicles around as and when required!!!! There is a charge for this facility. Dinner great one of the best I have in a long time, hot and well presented. Staff are trained well and friendly. Room I stayed in was fine but got to see some of the other rooms (based across the road) which were newly renovated and they looked very nice indeed. This is an old property and the rooms have been renovated to a high standard but some are small and they have done a good job with them. A stay here is recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SavannahMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear SavannahMiddlesex,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and dinner at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed dinner so much and have passed your positive comments about the team on to them.

As you mention, some parts of the hotel are very old and the original ‘main house’ is Grade 2 listed, so we have kept a lot of the original features whilst refurbishing.

Parking is very limited in Windsor, which is why we try and maximise spaces for our guests, but we do always advise of the public car parks for anyone that prefers their car keys not to be left with our concierge.

Let me know when you are due to book again and I will try and allocate you one of the newly refurbished rooms in the Riverside Building.

Warm regards,
Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I'm not surprised to hear stories of terrible service and lost bookings as the same thing happened to us - and the staff were far from apologetic about it. We had booked six weeks in advance for a birthday, but we were told there was no record of our booking when we arrived. They then tried to make out it was our fault as we had not asked for confirmation over the phone when we rang to book. There was no explanation offered, they just said they were full so couldn't do anything about it and the only option was a table outside. We had booked for the bubbles and jazz dining experience on a Sunday, so we pointed out we wouldn't be able to hear the singer and band. Tough, we were told, it was our only option. The food was nice but then we waited half an hour to order coffees and another 25 mins for the bill to arrive after it was forgotten about. This was a surprise for my mum's birthday and we were all left feeling very disappointed by the whole experience. This was her favourite restaurant but we will never be going here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen7291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Helen7291,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I was very sorry to read of your disappointment relating to your Sunday lunch experience, which I have discussed in detail with my team.

I can only apologise again that the booking was not found on the day and the situation was not dealt with greatly, but with a fully booked restaurant the team tried their best to accommodate you, once they were aware of the special occasion. My food and beverage manager had already made me aware of the shortfalls in service, due to an extremely busy lunch on the terrace as well as in the restaurant on the very sunny Bank Holiday weekend.

I have since also replied to your letter, as well as your dad’s letter and hope that my response will go some way to make up for the problems experienced.

Hopefully, we can welcome you and your family back some time in the future to reinstate Thames View Restaurant as one of your mum’s favourites.

Warm regards,
Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
2.8 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa

Property: Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Address: 52-56 Thames Street, Windsor SL4 1PX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly special hotel at the heart of Royal Windsor. A superb location. Individual charm. First class service and attention to detail. Sir Christopher Wren Hotel has all this, and more.Sheltering beneath the ramparts of Windsor Castle, the hotel enjoys a spectacular setting, overlooking the River Thames at Eton Bridge. The main building holds a unique place in British heritage – and over the years, it has been meticulously restored to offer guests the highest levels of comfort and service. Today, Sir Christopher Wren offers 99 traditional and contemporary rooms, award-winning dining, and a modern gym and spa, as well as outstanding facilities for weddings, conferences and other events.So, if you’re looking for a first-class hotel experience, either for business or pleasure, you’re sure to find it at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel Windsor
Sir Christopher Wrens Hotel
Sir Christopher Wrens Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing