We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, lovely staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel, lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in an executive room. Room was on the third floor and was a lovely room with desk , several armchairs and a large bathroom with bath and shower. Only downside due to the age and design of building no lift and the stairs are steep. So make sure you ask for a room lower down if you have difficulty in walking. Car park is very small so make sure you reserve a space before you arrive.( Bonus to be able to park car) Staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. Breakfast on the first morning was buffet style due to the hotel being very busy but the second morning was served and cooked to order. Overall the choice was very good and the dining room is lovely being right on the river looking towards Eton. Will definitely say again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enid4551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear enid4551,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and for the great comments regarding your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I am delighted we were able to exceed your expectations and you enjoyed staying in one of our executive rooms.

Please do let me know when you book next and I will allocate a similar room with fewer stairs.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    546
    285
    151
    96
See reviews for
232
772
42
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

despite booking 2 months in advance, we were place in the furthest point of the annex, which was across the street. It was a wet weekend and we needed a coat to go to the bar & restaurant. We needed to negotiate 2 flights of grubby stairs, the external stair was unlit and flooded due to a broken gutter. The bar staff were surly and unhelpful, we were told that there was no chance of a sandwich at 2045 hours. After a long day out on Saturday we were looking forward to using the spa but it closed at 1800 hours. Our room was reasonably appointed, but overlooked a nightclub which was noisy until the early hours and took deliveries early in the morning. Next doors showers could clearly be heard , along with banging doors. Our set menu dinner was poor, some items were not even available, and was asked for dinner order prior to drinks. It was very rushed. The bar was ultra expensive, and we ended saturday night wishing we had gone to the local indian. Never again, I would rather stay in a business hotel.

Room Tip: ensure you ask for a room in the main building. the annex is terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnboy414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear johnboy414,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Please let me apologise for your disappointment with some aspects of your stay.

The hotel consists of five buildings and we try and allocate rooms in line with the room types booked and the guest preference, I am sorry you did not like the Nook building, which has the more modern neutral design.

We do pride ourselves in on the excellent customer service we provide, so I was very concerned about your comments regarding the bar staff, especially as we serve a full a la carte menu until 9.45pm and sandwiches all night.

I have taken your comments regarding our Spa opening times on board and you will be delighted to hear that our Spa will now open from 8.00am to 8.00pm during the weekends, starting from next week.

I do hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back here and I will make sure you get a more traditional room in the main house next time around.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Recently stayed here for 2 nights. I must admit we were a little concerned by some of the negative comments on this site but arrived with an open mind. The first room we were offered was small, the bed wasn't much bigger than a single and it was overlooked by offices. We were a tad disappointed so spoke to the receptionist to ask if a larger, more private room was available. Our request was met positively and we were given complementary upgrade to a club room- it was a beautiful room- spacious with river views and a big bed! The breakfast is served in an airy room with great views of the Thames. The continental and cooked breakfast selection was great- tasty and varied. Waiting staff were friendly and efficient. We went to breakfast earlier on day 1 (9am) and it wasn't busy at all- not being much of a morning person this suited me! Day 2 we went later (10am) and it was much busier, however we were invited to take our breakfast in a seperate room which was quiet and comfortable. All staff were friendly, any request was dealt with efficiently and nothing seemed too much trouble. The gym was a pleasure to use- it was virtually empty when we used it. Advice and guidance was readily available from a personal trainer. There's a great selection of machines, weights and fitness equipment. The sauna and outdoor jacuzzi were perfect after a heavy gym workout. The hotel is perfectly located within easy walking distance to both Windsor and Eaton and great views of Windsor castle. Can't think of anything we would to improve- we had a great weekend staying at Sir Christopher Wren and would definitely stay here again when next in Windsor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaz040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Shaz040,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel & Spa. I truly appreciate all your kind comments and am especially pleased that you had such a good time, after being initially concerned about staying with us.

Our Riverview rooms are just unbeatable and I am glad we were able to upgrade you on this occasion. The gym is always an added bonus and I am delighted that our personal trainer was able to assist.

Please be assured that I have shared your positive comments with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Booked two double rooms and at the last minute found we couldn't go because of snow. The hotel was very helpful and rebooked us in with no fuss and no extra charge at a later date. The hotel is very central - about 2 minute walk from the castle and town centre and overlooks the river. It has parking and a lovely man to park your car for you because the car park is very small andvery packed. We went in March and there were two comfy lounges with roaring fires and newspapers on hand,free loans of umbrellas, a nice bar and very friendly helpful staff. Room was a double but booked for one person and was little small but very comfortable, great shower and usual amenties,, Bed was firm. Breakfast was fabulous - very tasty and penty of choice. It has a terrace where you can sit and overlook the river.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main hotel - not on fire escape and overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfie089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear alfie 089,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and for your lovely comments about the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I am delighted you found the team so helpful, when you had to move your booking and I really appreciate your comments about the breakfast quality.

Hopefully you can make it back to Windsor soon, with some more sunshine, so that we can provide Pimm’s on the sunny terrace instead of hot chocolate in front of the fire place.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have been there for a few days in a company meeting and I have to say that the service was correct and the hotel is near by all the attractions, so it is quite convenient for my propose.

Only "BUT" it was the pillow that it was a bit hard for me, however nothing that cannot manage with 2 beers before go to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Little B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Little B,

Thank you very much for your great review of the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel & Spa. I am glad you had a good stay whilst attending your conference and enjoyed the service and location.

For your next stay, please let us know about your pillow preference, as we have a choice of pillows available on request.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here in this excellent hotel close to all attractions in feb 2013. The hotel is very nice and facilities are excellent. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Room service is also very good and reasonably priced.
Have rebooked for easter weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gravedigga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Gravedigga,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa and especially for your kind comments about the team. I have made sure they have seen your positive feedback.

I am delighted that you had such a good time and look forward to welcoming you back over Easter. Maybe we can get some Spring Sunshine arranged for you, so that you can enjoy your stay even more.


Warm regards,
Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I went to the hotel for an afternoon tea with a friend and it was the worst we have ever had. The sandwiches had stale bread and were poorly filled with cheap fillings. The cheesecake had a terrible base of very poor quality and the cheesecake itself had an overly sweet flavour. The scones were warm, however not fully baked and were stogy inside. The cream accompanying did not have any flavour; but the worst item out of the entire tea was the jam. The jam was sugary and had approximately 5% fruit content. When cut the marks of the knife were visible. It was clearly purchased from the budget range of a cheap supermarket: not what you would expect from an expensive afternoon tea at a supposedly quality hotel. I will certainly not be returning; nor do I recommend anyone else to.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Nmr1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Nmr1511,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am really sorry to see that you have specifically joined TripAdvisor to write about your experience, as at Sarova Hotels we pride ourselves on our food quality, and especially on our afternoon teas. Our restaurant has been awarded AA rosettes continuously and our produce is all bought in from quality catering suppliers.

I am very sorry you were so unhappy with the afternoon tea and can only apologise for that. I was however slightly perplexed by your comments, as we use high quality products throughout and do not serve cheesecake with any of our afternoon teas.

Our afternoon tea is served with a choice of ‘Darvilles of Windsor’ teas, to provide a high quality local tea, and comes with freshly made sandwiches, filled with smoked salmon and cream cheese, duck and plum sauce, Emmenthal and cucumber, and egg and cress. Our cake selection includes lemon tarts, chocolate brownies and coffee cream slices. The raisin scones are served with Cornish clotted cream and strawberry jam.

We do sometimes encounter problems; however, we endeavour to react quickly, in each and every case, to ensure that the issues do not have an impact on our guests' overall experience. Having discussed your review with my food and beverage manager, he was very concerned, as he has not been aware of any guests leaving unhappy after having our afternoon tea.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally should you wish to discuss this matter further, and I do hope that we could welcome you back on another occasion.

Warm regards,
Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.8 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa

Property: Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Address: 52-56 Thames Street, Windsor SL4 1PX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly special hotel at the heart of Royal Windsor. A superb location. Individual charm. First class service and attention to detail. Sir Christopher Wren Hotel has all this, and more.Sheltering beneath the ramparts of Windsor Castle, the hotel enjoys a spectacular setting, overlooking the River Thames at Eton Bridge. The main building holds a unique place in British heritage – and over the years, it has been meticulously restored to offer guests the highest levels of comfort and service. Today, Sir Christopher Wren offers 99 traditional and contemporary rooms, award-winning dining, and a modern gym and spa, as well as outstanding facilities for weddings, conferences and other events.So, if you’re looking for a first-class hotel experience, either for business or pleasure, you’re sure to find it at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel Windsor
Sir Christopher Wrens Hotel
Sir Christopher Wrens Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing