We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here in this excellent hotel close to all attractions in feb 2013. The hotel is very nice and facilities are excellent. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Room service is also very good and reasonably priced.
Have rebooked for easter weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gravedigga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Gravedigga,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa and especially for your kind comments about the team. I have made sure they have seen your positive feedback.

I am delighted that you had such a good time and look forward to welcoming you back over Easter. Maybe we can get some Spring Sunshine arranged for you, so that you can enjoy your stay even more.


Warm regards,
Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    546
    285
    151
    96
See reviews for
232
772
42
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I went to the hotel for an afternoon tea with a friend and it was the worst we have ever had. The sandwiches had stale bread and were poorly filled with cheap fillings. The cheesecake had a terrible base of very poor quality and the cheesecake itself had an overly sweet flavour. The scones were warm, however not fully baked and were stogy inside. The cream accompanying did not have any flavour; but the worst item out of the entire tea was the jam. The jam was sugary and had approximately 5% fruit content. When cut the marks of the knife were visible. It was clearly purchased from the budget range of a cheap supermarket: not what you would expect from an expensive afternoon tea at a supposedly quality hotel. I will certainly not be returning; nor do I recommend anyone else to.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Nmr1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Nmr1511,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am really sorry to see that you have specifically joined TripAdvisor to write about your experience, as at Sarova Hotels we pride ourselves on our food quality, and especially on our afternoon teas. Our restaurant has been awarded AA rosettes continuously and our produce is all bought in from quality catering suppliers.

I am very sorry you were so unhappy with the afternoon tea and can only apologise for that. I was however slightly perplexed by your comments, as we use high quality products throughout and do not serve cheesecake with any of our afternoon teas.

Our afternoon tea is served with a choice of ‘Darvilles of Windsor’ teas, to provide a high quality local tea, and comes with freshly made sandwiches, filled with smoked salmon and cream cheese, duck and plum sauce, Emmenthal and cucumber, and egg and cress. Our cake selection includes lemon tarts, chocolate brownies and coffee cream slices. The raisin scones are served with Cornish clotted cream and strawberry jam.

We do sometimes encounter problems; however, we endeavour to react quickly, in each and every case, to ensure that the issues do not have an impact on our guests' overall experience. Having discussed your review with my food and beverage manager, he was very concerned, as he has not been aware of any guests leaving unhappy after having our afternoon tea.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally should you wish to discuss this matter further, and I do hope that we could welcome you back on another occasion.

Warm regards,
Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Really liked this hotel. The wifi is consistent and strong. Able to make VoIP calls from multiple places.

Breakfast and other amenities (wifi) are included in the rate.

Rooms are large (by European standards). Most rooms have a kitchenette as well.

Location is great. Right near Windsor castle and shopping.

Great view of the Thames river. Can't complain too much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karbarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Karbarz,

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and the great review about your recent stay with us at The Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I am delighted that you had such a great time and have passed your feedback on to my team.

Maybe next time, you can visit in the summer and enjoy the river view on the terrace as well. Our WiFi works out there too, and it is such a calming and relaxing experience.

Warm regards
Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our first wedding anniversary and weren't disappointed. It's a lovely hotel with bags of character. The staff were excellent. Upon arrival there had been a mix up with our spa booking, we were very disappointed. However, management swiftly made it up to us by offering us an upgrade and a bottle of wine.
Our room was lovely, with the most comfortable bed I've had in a hotel. We had lovely views of the river and the room temperature was perfect (I'm always cold in hotels). Nice modern bathroom too. The hotel is in a great location and just a short walk fom the shops and the Castle. We did make use of the drawing room in the evening too, a lovely and quiet place for a drink. All the hotel staff we came into contact with we're excellent.
We will definitely be returning to this hotel next time we are in Windsor.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsDKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear MrsDKing,

Thank you so much for your great feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed your first wedding anniversary stay with us at The Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I am thrilled that you were so happy with the team and have passed your feedback on to them.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards
Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for one night and were slightly dubious given the mixed reviews that we had read on TripAdvisor. From the minute we arrived everyone was really helpful, luggage was put into storage and our car was parked in a pre-booked parking space. We had requested a quiet room given the comments regarding the noise from the nearby streets and we were given Room 10. The room was in the newer part of the hotel and it couldn't be faulted - 'yes' it was quite small but this property doesn't profess to be 5 star so it would be stupid to make a negative comment.

The hotel is centrally located and nearby to the shops, bars and castle. We had room service breakfast which was absolutely fine - delivered on time and with a smile. If we needed to come back to Windsor we wouldn't hesitate to stay again- for us it was good value.

Room Tip: Room 10 was located in a quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoatGirlBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear GoatGirlBedfordshire,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review for The Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and for your positive comments regarding your stay.

It really does help when we know a guest's preference in advance, so that we can make sure they get exactly what they want. Thank you for helping us to achieve that.

I hope to welcome you back soon, maybe in the summer, so that you can have breakfast out on the terrace and enjoy the view.

Warm regards,
Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Took my husband away for his birthday and had hoped the hotel would be as lovely as the photos. Sadly our bedroom a bit drab. The tv remote control didn't work and the tv took ages to actually turn on or change channels. The free wi-fi also failed to reach the bedrooms!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinAnne499484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear MartinAnne499484,

Thank you for your time to write this review. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed. From reading your review I guess you were staying in the Nook, where the rooms are nice and spacious with big bathrooms, but they haven’t been refurbished for a little while and are quite neutral in colours. The rooms in the main house are more traditional and colourful with more features like old fireplaces and high ceilings, so they might be more to your liking.

Our WiFi access for all external buildings was disrupted for several days this month, as a cable had been damaged and needed rewiring, which did take a few days to fix. I am very sorry this affected your stay.

Please do let me know if you are in Windsor again and I will allocate a refurbished main house room and will also make sure it has a new TV and working remote.

Warm regards,
Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Be aware you have to prebook your car park space. If you don't you have to drive five mins down the road to the Station car park and walk back. not good if you have a lot of luggage.
Rooms are basic and in need of updating. Bed was old and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TucksCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear TucksCottage,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am really sorry that you were unhappy with your stay.

We try and advertise the fact that parking needs to be pre-booked on all booking channels, so I can only apologise that you were not made aware of this. The car parking situation in Windsor is very limited and as our own car park is very small, we have to recommend the other public car parks around us. We do however have our concierge service available 24 hours a day to assist any guests arriving at the hotel to unload their car and get their luggage brought to the bedrooms, whilst they park up.

Our ongoing refurbishment continues, with most rooms now updated, with new furnishings, beds and mattresses going in. I would really appreciate if you could provide me with your room number, so that I can get the mattress changed.

I do hope you will give us the opportunity to show you the hotel in a better light and maybe stay in one of our brand new Riverside rooms.

Warm regards,
Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.8 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa

Property: Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Address: 52-56 Thames Street, Windsor SL4 1PX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly special hotel at the heart of Royal Windsor. A superb location. Individual charm. First class service and attention to detail. Sir Christopher Wren Hotel has all this, and more.Sheltering beneath the ramparts of Windsor Castle, the hotel enjoys a spectacular setting, overlooking the River Thames at Eton Bridge. The main building holds a unique place in British heritage – and over the years, it has been meticulously restored to offer guests the highest levels of comfort and service. Today, Sir Christopher Wren offers 99 traditional and contemporary rooms, award-winning dining, and a modern gym and spa, as well as outstanding facilities for weddings, conferences and other events.So, if you’re looking for a first-class hotel experience, either for business or pleasure, you’re sure to find it at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel Windsor
Sir Christopher Wrens Hotel
Sir Christopher Wrens Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing