We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location”
Review of Langton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langton House
Ranked #7 of 23 Windsor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Superb Location”
Reviewed October 13, 2008

We were very pleased that the b&b was so convenient for getting into Windsor and found Paul's info on their website very useful in helping us to plan our stay. Great too to have off street parking.

We were slightly put off by the indifferent welcome from Paul, who had been so pleasant on the phone and in his emails. Whilst one comment described him as 'inhospitable', we would say a little cold & in a hurry to show us to our room & continue his evening.

We liked the room, nice curtains and bed linen and a very comfortable bed. But the woodwork was very tatty indeed and in desperate need of a coat of paint, the same for the public areas we saw. Shame that there were no tea & coffee making facilities in the room (1st b&b we have ever stayed in where this has been the case) - there was a kitchen upstairs off the corridor for our use but not the same at all as having this in your own room. Perhaps they could consider adding this to the rooms.

Also seemed penny pinching to have the cheapest possible unbranded soap & shampoo sachets in the room - could maybe strike a deal with Woods of Windsor? Likewise a b&w photocopy by way of a b&b brochure.

9.00am to have breakfast at the weekend is really very early! Perhaps this could be extended to 9.30am -9.45am. But great flexibility with breakfast - at our request, they provided kippers (best we've ever had) - so worth asking! Shame about the butter (unbranded) individually wrapped - nice to have slices/cubes on a plate and likewise pots of jam instead of in individial plastic portions. All small things but make a diffference.

On our 2nd morning met Sonya who served our breakfast -such a contrast, friendly asked if everything was alright or if we needed anything else.

Please don't take our comments as criticism but as ideas of how things could be improved with a relatively small outlay. By so doing the whole b&b and experience could be brought up to a higher level.

  • Liked — Period house with great character and original features
  • Disliked — Penny pinching with cheap toiletries and no T&C making facilities in room, in need of decoration.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank awmw2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    45
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
76
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

We disembarked our cruise ship in Southampton and took a train to Windsor where we enjoyed a short stay in this lovely B&B. Paul and Sonya make their guests feel very welcome. The room was comfortable and pleasant with a small ensuite bath. Breakfast was a hearty English meal which prepared us for a day of touring lovely Windsor. We can't wait to go back to spend more time and will definitely stay here again. We will use it also for a base to visit London. It is so conveniently located to everything including Heathrow.

  • Liked — Quiet neighborhood yet close to center of Windsor
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bcatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2008

Langton House is very conveniently located right in the heart of Windsor, just a short walk from the village and Windsor Castle. Host Paul was very helpful and made us feel at home. Our room was spacious and clean, and the location is very quiet. Breakfast was great, continental is fine if that's all you need, but the traditional english breakfast was delicious.

I recommend it as both good value for money and as a very convenient place to stay.

  • Liked — Great location, delicious breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLAMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2007

We had looked forward to staying here, especially since the e-mail exchanges made it sound so inviting. The room was clean and the breakfast tasty, but we had a warmer reception at large, city hotels than we did here. It seemed we needed to adjust all our plans to accomodate their needs. Isn't this somewhat backwards? Perhaps the proprietor just isn't a people person, but we found him less than hospitable. The B&B was a disappointment (apparently they're nicer to Rick Steves), but Windsor was wonderful. We'd go back to the town but would not stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed was a rack, and proprietor was inhospitable.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddywackOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foggbloke, Owner at Langton House, responded to this review, January 13, 2008
Sorry to hear about your disappointment with your stay at Langton House. We do actually care about our guests and always listen to constructive criticism. I am sure that had something been said at the time we may have been able to help you with any issues you had.
Because we have so very many good comments from our guests I am actually a little confused as to why you seem to have had such a disappointing stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2007

I'd read other peoples' reviews on Trip Advisor which is why I booked this guest house for my husband and I for 2 nights in mid-August over a weekend. It was every bit as good as the most rave of the reviews. Incredibly clean, amazingly good breakfasts, we had a beautiful room and the proprietor is so friendly and helpful (even helping us retrieve an overcharged taxi fare from a local firm). There are plenty of 'good' places to stay but Langton House is truly exceptional in every way.

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarkspeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langton House

Property: Langton House
Address: 46 Alma Road, Windsor SL4 3HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Langton House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run bed and breakfast in the centre of Windsor, UK. Beautiful Victorian house situated in a quiet street in central Windsor. All rooms are spacious, elegant, comfortable and clean with en-suite or private facilities, large colour TV with Freeview, wireless Internet access and tea and coffee. Car parking available. Full English breakfast included. 4 star rating. Guaranteed a wonderful and friendly stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Langton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing