We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Christmas Break”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Clockhouse

View of the Clockhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the Clockhouse
The front of the Clockhouse View from the back garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
View of the Clockhouse
The front of the Clockhouse
View from the back garden
courtyard
Looking at the Clockhouse
Clean crisp white sheets. Few!
The entrance hall
The main house, 12 Straight Road only 5 mins from Windsor Castle.
The entrance hall, a light space with the stairs and french doors into the kitchen
The country kitchen is bright and has a dining table within the same room
The kitchen is fully equipped
The dining table, looking out onto the courtyard
The dining table
The cute shower room is downstairs off of the kitchen
The huge main room upstairs is full of charm, cosy but spacious and warm.
Comfortable sitting area with sofa and armchairs
The fireplace in the sitting room area
The cosy bedroom
and of course, the bed!
upstairs
The courtyard for you to relax in.
From the back of the house
In the courtyard
Seating outside
you courtyard
The Olive tree in the front garden
View of the Clockhouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead, Berkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GeoffLeec...
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas Break”
Reviewed December 29, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We spent Christmas this year at The Clockhouse and had a family Christmas Day lunch there. First of all, Sam and her family were very welcoming and lovely to meet. Sam did everything she could to make sure that we had all that we needed. This included finding some extra chairs and a table for us so that we could all fit in. She didn't even seem to mind our very noisy mini schnauzer. The accommodation itself is unlike anything I have stayed in before. It is furnished in a 'brocante' style and I guess that Sam has scoured many antique shops to find all the furniture that makes The Clockhouse what it is. The television is the only modern thing in the bedroom/seating area. It is idyllic. The kitchen area is big enough to seat 10 and has everything you need to cook a large meal. It is fairly basic but perfectly adequate; it is the living area upstairs that is so charming. Quite simply, if you are visiting Windsor, do not bother staying in a hotel; get in touch with Sam and stay at The Clockhouse. You will not regret it. Thank you, Sam, for a great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne O
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful place, lovely location”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My husband, two sons and I stayed at the Clockhouse following a busy trip to Legoland. We wanted to stay over to allow us to visit Windsor the next day. The Clockhouse is beautifully decorated and there was plenty of space for us, with so much more character than a hotel chain. The location is ideal for both Windsor and Legoland with a supermarket and lovely authentic Italian restaurant just round the corner. We had a perfect stay and the owner Sam was incredibly welcoming. I would absolutely recommend the Clockhouse to a family or a couple for a gorgeous romantic retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely decor
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
1 review
“Our review is brilliant, went in August but better late than never”
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Sean and I had a great time. Relaxed a great deal, decor beautiful, home from home. Tempted to move in! Host a treat, and looking forward to our next visit !!! Thanks clock house (Sam and Tim, Sean is looking up Robert B Parker right now) xxx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooticat
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, well located apartment spoiled by dust and cobwebs.”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Sorry to have to agree with the previous reviewer about the cleanliness but it was still a problem when we visited and it did spoil an otherwise beautiful apartment. The bedding was clean, the towels provided had been laundered but were stained. General dust and cobwebs everywhere. We were excellently located for Legoland, the purpose of our trip and we spent the whole day there. There is a co-op shop around the corner which was handy, a Tony Carvery very close by and also an Italian restaurant where we enjoyed a meal. There was a swing set and trampoline in the garden which my daughter was thrilled about. Overall I liked the Clockhouse and I find it unlikely that these reviews will go unaddressed. With a little spring clean I'm sure we would visit again, however, it's not possible to recommend it today.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2014
I must apologise that you did not find The Clockhouse up to your standards - or mine. Unfortunately I had to go to France to assist my mother and I left the property in the hands of an independent cleaner, and I am disappointed to discover from both you and another guest that it was not prepared to an acceptable level. Thank you for pointing this out to me - and rest assured, this matter has been addressed. I am glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susiepops...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In need of a good clean”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It has been very nice at one time, but could do with a bit of TLC. Also make sure the kitchen is clean which I find should be very important.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: cleanliness and general state of repair
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2014
I must apologise that you did not find The Clockhouse up to your standards - or mine. Unfortunately I had to go to France to assist my mother and I left the property in the hands of an independent cleaner, and I am disappointed to discover from both you and another guest that it was not prepared to an acceptable level. Thank you for pointing this out to me - and rest assured, this matter has been addressed. As you can see from our previous review, this has not been a problem in the past. I am glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira B
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Thoughtfully-decorated very comfortable rooms and a pretty courtyard. Perfect for visiting the local area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwhip
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable & relaxing”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a fab 2 night break @ the Clock House, Me, the wife, the baby to be & the 2 dogs.
Ideal location with a country feel, great for the dogs in an enclosed court yard & garden,
Lovely chilled out owner, Definitely be back when visiting the Queen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy comfortable surroundings
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing