We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a excellent hotel for value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I was looking online for a visit to Windsor, and came along this hotel.I choose this hotel because of its great deal ( breakfast and dinner included)and it was really good. We were welcomed by nice people at the reception, and we were surprised how nice the room was, because of the cheap price we paid.
I do see people leaving bad comments about this hotel, and I do not know why? Because you get normally what you pay for! This hotel gives you so much more as you pay for!!
The staff is very friendly especially Maurice who is a person born for the hospitality trade.
Dinner and breakfast was really good, fresh cooked breakfast and not some dried up buffet as you normally see in bigger hotels like this!

Overall 5 out of 5,

And will be back soon,

Thanks again for the great stay

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ledolcevita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for writing a review and I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and the staff looked after you well. The team at the hotel are working hard to ensure that all guests have an enjoyable experience and they will be very pleased with your feedback. Thank you.

Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

931 - 937 of 1,570 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

I'm staying in this hotel whilst I look for an apartment in Windsor. The location is second to none as are the very helpful staff. Pick a double with a view as these rooms are huge compared to the standard ones and all have a view of the castle . The rooms can be a little cold and the showers are not powerful enough but other than that a great hotel

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank AP B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for your comments and I am pleased you are enjoying the hotel and the staff are looking after you well. Please do not hesitate to contact reception if you would like us to review the heating or shower and the maintenance team will be more than happy to make any adjustments.

Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We had our wedding at the Harte & Garter Windsor the weekend before christmas. What started out a mediocre effort from their events team turned into disastrous the night before and morning of the wedding with staff trying their darn hardest not to help or assist and the other staff kindly informing us a member of the events team was staying in the hotel for the night but did not wish to assist with our long list of issues.
The chef complained non stop to our wedding cake supplier that he hated cheese, he didn't want to assist with the cutting once we had the picture taken and had no care for how she was setting and how it should be cut for service (we had a cheese tower for a cake dressed in fruit).
The majority of the cheese didn't make it back from the kitchen for service and disappeared from that point. We order double the amount of cheese and biscuits to the guests we had attending and the hotel could not find what we had been told had been cleared away by the evening service staff the next day. 2 days later a small amount of one of the 4 cheeses turns up and the hotel give us a bottle of cheap fizz to apologise for the missing amounts they can't find.

We booked the honeymoon suit for two nights and this was big mistake Windsor is one of the noisiest places ever throughout the night. Friends staying in various rooms had the same complaint. We honestly should have walked the 5 mins home and stayed there.

Seen as we have had no contact from the Harte & Garter for feed back for our wedding and stay I'm happy to make just a few of my opinions public.

Save your money and stay in the travel lodge behind the Harte & Garter. At least you then get car parking!!!

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from main pathways as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foodielub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Please accept my sincere apologies that you had certain issues at the hotel. We did send you an e-mail at the start of January to gain feedback and please accept my sincere apologies if you did not receive this. I have asked the wedding co-ordinator to contact you tomorrow to thoroughly discuss your event and comments as we do value all feedback received from guests.
Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We had a one night stay at the hotel last weekend which we booked through Travelzoo. We did not have a view of the castle but as we didn't get there till late afternoon and was getting dark this did not really matter, certainly wouldn't have paid the extra £25.00 to upgrade. The room we had was fairly large, spacious bathroom, lovely big bath towels and really comfy beds. The young man on reception was very friendly and more than helpful. The waiting staff in the restaurant were also very friendly and charming. Food was average, nothing to rave about. The down side of staying at this hotel is that there is no car park and car parking in Windsor is very expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonwalker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for writing a review and I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and were well looked after by the team at the hotel. The bedrooms that are front facing do have very good views of the castle and the superior rooms do have a supplement of £25. This is of cause a guest’s personal preference as to whether they would like a castle facing bedroom. The hotel does not have parking facilities, but there are numerous public car parks that are available and please do not hesitate to contact the hotel who will advise of the charges that apply for each car park. The car park at the Windsor/Eton riverside station is the most reasonable with regard to charges and is a 3-5 minute walk to the hotel. Please do stop outside of the hotel and we will be more than happy to unload any luggage that you have and take this to your bedroom whilst you park your vehicle.
Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We took a two day break in October 2013 as our family pet passed away in the summer and decided to getaway in the autumn! We got the deal thru Secret Escapes which included dinner on both nights and complimentary brekkie and it was handy to Windsor Castle ( main reason for stay!!) we loved the village and Shops a bit quirky and Weird but a good distraction after check in!! The Hotel looked a old world type which was good and room was comfy and cosy but problems with a flash red light on a smoke alarm drove one of my party crazy! Staff were okay but did'nt exert themselves, the bar man didn't know what an APERITIF was ( an alcoholic drink before dinner!!!). Dinner was a set menu a choice from 3 starters 3 mains 3 Desserts! We tried it one night( see photos!!) and then found a little itallian place on a side street for our last night in Windsor! Also there was no mineral water in the rooms which was a Disgrace!! plus a face cloth in the bathroom would be grateful!! Breakfast was a buffet but if you are like me and like a PROPER COOKED BREKKIE to my liking order it from the staff ( there might be wait but it's worth it!!) Bacon and Sausages cooked for more than 10 seconds each side!! Overall the Hotel was over priced for its star rating, they need a new CHEF in the kitchen who likes to produce SLOP for the hotel patrons at dinner ! More training needed all round!! We loved Windsor but would stay elsewhere!!

Room Tip: Read more Reviews!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosebudwaterlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for writing a review regarding your stay in October 2013. Please accept my sincere apologies that all aspects of your stay were not as enjoyable as they should have been. The red light on the fire detectors do flash as the system is a wireless system and the flashing indicator light is there to show that a signal is being transmitted. I will discuss this with our fire maintenance engineers, but am unsure as to any corrective action I can take as this is how the system is designed to operate. Since your stay we now have a new kitchen team and several new service team members. A new menu has been introduced that is receiving very positive feedback and we have carried out additional training with the service team which is on-going to ensure that they are well trained and giving excellent customer service at all times. Mineral water and face clothes are not items that we put in standard bedrooms, but can be requested and the team will be more than happy to bring these for you. On busy morning we do operate a buffet breakfast for hot items for guests as the feedback we have received is that this is the preferred option. However we are more than happy to take your order for a cooked breakfast and this will be plated and brought to your table. I hope that with the above changes in place you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to Windsor.

Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had a lovely experience at The Harte and Garter. The service was excellent from all staff in bar to the dining at dinner and breakfast.The room was very nice and comfortable.Everything we could have wished for in an overnight stay in Windsor.Also thanks to Maurice on reception and the efficient young lady as well. Just one small thing shower head in bathroom not very good but did not spoil our stay .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinaHouseHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for writing a review and I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable experience at the hotel and found the hotel staff very helpful. I will pass your comments onto Maurice who I know will appreciate your feedback. I will review the shower heads in all bathrooms to ensure that they are working correctly. I hope that you will stay with us again.

Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Would not come here again, the rooms were bland and dated, the Spa is not free as mentioned on their website and the staff are awful. the only good thing about the hotel is the location! VERY OVER PRICED

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Please accept my sincere apologies that you did not have an enjoyable stay at the hotel. The hotel website does indicate that there is a £15 charge to use the spa facilities on a Friday, Saturday & Sunday. I will review to see how we can make this clearer for guests. We do have a planned maintenance programme for all bedrooms and try to keep them as fresh and undated at all times. I was disappointed that the staff did not look after you very well, but cannot comment any further or take any action as you have not specified why you felt they were awful? Please accept my apologies once again.
Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa

Address: 31 High Street, Windsor SL4 1PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: $106 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views directly over Windsor Castle, The Harte & Garter Hotel, Windsor enjoys the finest location in town. With many of its original features intact, this remarkable property offers you a combination of both modern facilities and classical style. Originally two 14th century inns, the hotel is made up of the main building which overlooks Windsor Castle and Goswell House. Offering 98 luxurious and individual bedrooms, 19 of which are in Goswell House, which has a separate entrance to the main hotel but has full use of all the hotel's facilities. Retaining some of the original features, many rooms have unrivalled views of Windsor Castle. The hotel also holds seven elegant private dining and meeting rooms. Important note about Stables Salon: The hydro pool and sauna are closed for maintenance. The steam room is available on a complimentary basis. The Rasul chamber, 5 treatment rooms and retails areas remain open as normal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harte And Garter Hotel
Harte Garter Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing