We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Reviewed January 27, 2014

just spent fri/sat night at this hotel quick and easy check in first floor there is a lift but we used the stairs.room109 WOW massive bed kettle for hot drinks bottled water iron hairdryer and when you opened the curtains straight out to the castle.two full length windows with a balcony fantastic. massive bathroom which was modern and spotless. sofa and tv area
if you are wanting a romantic weekend away or a special birthday book this room
we had breakfast included which was buffet style full english and continentel and served till 10.30 so you could have a lie in
fantastic stay

Room Tip: room 109 fantastic castle view and balcony windows you could watch the changing of the guard from he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diggerdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for writing a review and I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and would recommend room 109 to other guests. Being directly opposite WIndsor Castle the front facing bedrooms do have fantastic views. I hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

916 - 922 of 1,547 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

We booked on secret escapes so got a good deal on the room with late checkout, breakfast cream tea and champagne. The location is amazing if you're a tourist, really nice to look over the castle.

The staff were friendly on arrival and the room was quite spacious although not exactly "luxury". Behind the tv was really dusty and the coffee/tea pot hadn't been changed so was full of used sachets, which was pretty gross. The walls were quite thin and I heard the gentleman in the room next door climaxing which was also pretty gross. I have to say that we didn't complain about the state of the room so perhaps they would rectified it if we caused a fuss.

Breakfast had a huge variety and the sparkling cream tea was lovely. The main gripe we had was we were twice disturbed during our late checkout, once from the cleaning staff (we hadn't put the do not disturb sign on the door in fairness) and once by the reception telling us that we had to leave... We then awkwardly shouted back through the door that we had late checkout and the apologised and left. Understandably both were unrelated mistakes, however it did leave an uncomfortable feeling for our last hour wondering who would burst through the door next...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ploppenspiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for posting a review. Please accept my apologies that the room was not serviced as it should have been when you arrived. The rooms should always be serviced to a high standard, but if not please inform reception immediately and a member of the team will come and rectify an issue straight away. Please also accept my sincere apologies that you were disturbed in the morning. I have spoken to the Head Housekeeper and Front of House Manager to ensure that communication is improved and that they communicate if guests have a late departure arranged. I would recommend any guest to place the do not disturb notice outside of their room as this clearly indicates to both staff and other guests at the hotel that you do not wish to be disturbed. I was pleased that you found the staff friendly and the breakfast and sparkling cream tea to be of a high standard.

Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We paid the £15 one off payment to use the spa facilities for two hours here.

At first glance this seems like a cheap deal however you do not get a lot for your money. No beds, no poo, no windows!

A jacuzzi that fits about 4 people comfortably, a sauna and a steam room.there is a room off of reception that has two beds in. They play 'nature sounds' and vibrate for two seconds. Did not see the point.

Would have been better if tiu had a treatment then finished off the experience with a dip in the jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you for writing a review. There is a £15 charge for hotel residents to use the spa facilities on a Friday, Saturday and Sunday. As you state we have a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room as well as 2 lie down beds which are located in a separate room and are there for relaxation purposes. They lightly vibrate and have the option for music. We have 5 treatment rooms and it is always better to book well in advance to ensure availability.
Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I paid £180 for a weekend in this hotel.

Our room was lovely and if you looked out the window there was a partial castle view. The bar downstairs in lovely.

The room was beautiful and comfortable. The bathroom was clean but needs a bit of updating. The towels were large but quite thin and didn't feel luxurious.

The only real downside is the spa. It isn't really a spa and costs £15 a head. There aren't any loungers to relax there is really just a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. It feels a bit of a rip off.

All in all the location is good and the price is good. Great for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missmairw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thank you for writing a review and I was pleased that your room was comfortable and you found the bar downstairs lovely. There is a charge for using the spa on (Fri,Sat,Sun) for residents £15. This includes the Jacuzzi/hydro pool, sauna and steam room. You can also book treatments with the therapists if required and always advisable to do this prior to arrival. I was pleased that you felt overall that the hotel was a good place to stay, in a good location as a reasonable price for the weekend. I hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Windsor.

Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in December on business, the hotel is in a prime location for getting around Windsor and getting to and from the train station. The hotel is right opposite the castle which is nice. The room I had was massive and very comfortable, the bathroom was very large too. The walls seem to be very thin, I was woken up through the night by the sound of glass smashing and I thought it was in my room, turns out it was in the room next door! But apart from that I had a good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thank you for writing a review and I was pleased that your room was very comfortable and you found the hotel ideally situated. Please accept my apologies if you were disturbed by noise from another guest bedroom. I would hope that all guests show courtesy and keep noise levels to a minimum at all times. I hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Windsor.

Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Beautiful Hotel with the best views, in a fantastic location.
However spa poor broken mood shower, Jacuzzi not working properly, no pool.
Mixed deal with staff also , reception and maintenance good, restaurant staff appalling, when asked if there were vegetarian sausages I just got a simple reply of " No!". All staff in breakfast looked like they were doing you a favour when you asked for anything and food was cold.
Would I stay here again yes as hotel lovely, would I eat or book in the spa no.
Windsor castle a stone throws away which was fantastic and a must see if visiting Windsor.

Room Tip: view of castle amazing .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Please accept my sincere apologies that you had a mixed experience at the hotel. I was pleased that you enjoyed the location, views, reception and maintenance, but disappointed by your comments concerning the restaurant staff and this will be addressed with the Food & Beverage Manager. We do try to ensure that all facilities in the Spa are working at all times, but unfortunately on occasions this is not always possible.
Regards
Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our room faced Windsor Castle and I'll tell you - that is one surreal view. Absolutely spectacular. The room itself was large and well-appointed: king size bed, sofa, flat screen TV. Massive bathroom but rather simply furnished. Tiny sink, regular size bathtub and the Plexiglas semi-door didn't open so you actually had to stand in the shower to turn it on. Brrrr. The location was noisy - late night pub crawlers and early morning deliveries. The bar is overpriced and there is no on-site parking. But reception was lovely and the location is great - lots of restaurants within an easy walk. Breakfast is NOT included!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeafordVickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

I was pleased that you enjoyed your bedroom and view of the Castle. I will review your comments regarding the shower screen and ensure that this is working correctly. The hotel is situated opposite the Castle in Windsor town centre and I would like to apologise if you were disturbed by external noise. I believe that the bar prices are set at the correct level and offer value for money based on the location, service and facilities. The hotel does not have on-site parking, but there are a number of public car parks within walking distance of the hotel. When booking a bedroom you have a choice of options. (Room only, Bed and Breakfast, Dinner Bed and Breakfast). Please ensure that you choose the Bed and Breakfast option if you would like breakfast included in your bedroom rate.

Regards
Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa

Address: 31 High Street, Windsor SL4 1PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: $109 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views directly over Windsor Castle, The Harte & Garter Hotel, Windsor enjoys the finest location in town. With many of its original features intact, this remarkable property offers you a combination of both modern facilities and classical style. Originally two 14th century inns, the hotel is made up of the main building which overlooks Windsor Castle and Goswell House. Offering 98 luxurious and individual bedrooms, 19 of which are in Goswell House, which has a separate entrance to the main hotel but has full use of all the hotel's facilities. Retaining some of the original features, many rooms have unrivalled views of Windsor Castle. The hotel also holds seven elegant private dining and meeting rooms. Important note about Stables Salon: The hydro pool and sauna are closed for maintenance. The steam room is available on a complimentary basis. The Rasul chamber, 5 treatment rooms and retails areas remain open as normal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harte And Garter Hotel
Harte Garter Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing