We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms ok, location great, wifi slow, food poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Rooms ok, location great, wifi slow, food poor”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

stayed at this hotel for 4 nights for a business meeting. The location is excellent (opposite windsor castle) and there is no parking (parking at Riverside train station is £7.50 per day). My room was nice, reasonable size but never got the wifi to download (it connected but was painfully slow). There are plenty of good places to eat in Windsor, so avoid here (the breakfast is ok).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarteandGarter, General Manager at Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for writing a review. Please accept my apologies if you experienced problems with the WIFI. I have checked the WIFI with our provider and tested this throughout the hotel and it is now working correctly.

Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    484
    329
    164
    120
See reviews for
275
639
50
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed for one night, that was enough. Despite having a room with a view of the castle the room was in need of a makeover but not as bad as the rest of the hotel which was very tired looking. The restaurant and bar was cold because the main entrance doors were permanently propped open. We were served afternoon tea by an extremely rude Eastern European waitress, and the breakfast was luke warm and of poor standard. Would I stay here again? Definitely not. There are far nicer hotels at a similar price in Windsor. I certainly would not class this as a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowbridge59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarteandGarter, General Manager at Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for writing a review and I am disappointed that certain aspects of your stay were not as good as they should have been. I will review your comments with the Food and Beverage manager and take action to improve.
Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Windsor hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is the best hotel in Windsor for the view of Windsor castle from your bedroom in the morning (provided youpay a little extra for a castle view room).The room is quite small but ample for your needs.It has a modern bathroom and a comfy bed.I felt like the Queen standing on the balcony watching the passing of the gurads below.

Room Tip: ask for a castle view room looking up towards the gate where the passing of guards go from
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queencharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarteandGarter, General Manager at Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for writing a review and I was pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel.
Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We arrived at the Harte & Garter full of excitement before jetting off on our honeymoon. We had chosen the hotel because of the Luxury King Room, and the amazing roll-top bath that was shown on all of the pictures.

When we were shown to our room (having had to carry all of our own, heavy bags! - not usually an issue, but honeymooners at an upmarket hotel should be offering that service) and were immediately disappointed to see that we didn't have the room we had booked - through their own website. No roll-top bath to relax in as our first night as a Mr & Mrs, and the room was tired and small compared to the photos. We are not usually ones to complain, but felt we had no option because it was simply misleading advertising.

When calling down to reception to enquire why we did not have the room we had booked, we were told that only 3 of the 19 rooms that they class as "Luxury King Room" actually have the roll-top bath. This is not mentioned on the website or the photos. We were then told that we had in fact been "upgraded" to have a view of the castle. Had we not been local and see the castle every week, it may have been appreciated more. But the fact is that the pictures upon booking the room - through their own website - were incredibly misleading.

When we were called back by the "Duty Manager", we were informed that there were no rooms available with the roll-top bath. I suggested that the manager might like to consider sending a bottle of house wine which would make a poor situation seem slightly better for a newly married couple - which the hotel knew because it was mentioned in the booking (probably costs no more than £3-4 at cost for a hotel like this) and was told no - because "a new manager is starting in 2 days time". The duty manager then proceeded to start shouting down the phone at me. I suggested ending the phone call before one of us said something we regretted, and he agreed. It is fair to say I was outraged.

The service throughout our evening and next day was poor & frosty, and we get the feeling that because of the fact Windsor is so overrun with tourists, this establishment (which has huge potential) has forgotten the cornerstone of success - GOOD SERVICE.

The only redeeming thing was the quality of the breakfast and service from the breakfast staff - which was fantastic. The bar staff were also excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hansimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, Manager at Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experience here at The Harte and Garter Hotel.
I am very disappointed to read your comments regarding your stay, please accept my sincere apologies that your stay did not live up to expectations.
Your comments regarding your stay have been shared with my teams and will be investigated as this is not the standard of service we offer to our guests.


We always strive to deliver a great experience for all our customers so your review is greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed for just one night recently. On the positive side the location is fantastic, directly opposite Windsor Castle and the room was large, with good facilities and a very comfortable bed.
BUT, as a business traveller it fell a long way short of expectation.
Firstly the internet, advertised as free and available throughout the hotel, was not accessible from my room. I had to send a file during breakfast and even then the speed was atrociously slow.
Secondly there is no car park. This was mentioned in the write up - but I missed it. The nearest parking is 5 minutes walk away and costs £15 for a maximum period 12 hours. Having already paid nearly £200 as a last minute booking too!
I wont be returning, sadly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, Manager at Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experience here at The Harte and Garter Hotel.
I am sorry to hear we were not able to meet your requirements, your comments regarding your stay have been shared with my teams.


We always strive to deliver a great experience for all our customers so your review is greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Attended a 2 day residential meeting in the hotel. First room was not pleasant, with no aircon and the view from the window included a decaying bird entangled in the (obviously effective) anti bird netting. I was moved after one night when another room became available. This was much nicer although the view was still dismal. Meeting room (Lancaster) was really excellent with a small balcony overlooking the high street and castle. Unfortunately, the meeting room service fell short of what was promised/contracted, -which was rather dissapointing. No parking available at the hotel (use the multi storey nearby at £20/24 hours). Reception was a mixed bag, sometimes understaffed with only a single uninspiring in-pat, but was properly manned up by efficient and pleasant staff when I checked-out . Would I come back? I wouldnt rule it out, but the MacDonald is nicer if you can afford it, and the Mercure has 'free' car parking onsite. As to location -all three of these hotels are within 100metres of each other, and Windsor is a great place.

Room Tip: Ask for aircon if it is hot. For most of the year this should not be a problem !! If you can get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Origami_kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, Manager at Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experience here at The Harte and Garter Hotel.
Your comments regarding your stay and meeting room requirements have been shared with my teams so we can look further into these matters, I do apologise we were unable to meet your requirements and this occasion.


We always strive to deliver a great experience for all our customers so your review is greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Fabulous location with great views of the magnificent Windsor castle. If you are going for afternoon tea, great! If you are going sight-seeing, great, shopping, great, night out, great! However, if you are going on a 'spa weekend' don't bother. There is no spa. There's a dungeon that smells damp. You have to walk through a dirty alleyway to get there. Treatments are rushed and by no means relaxing. There is loud clubbing music playing and the staff cannot be bothered. Extremely disappointing. BUT we did not let any of this spoil our weekend and still had a lovely time.
PS. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairewithani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, Manager at Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experience here at The Harte and Garter Hotel.
I am pleased to read overall you enjoyed your stay with us, your comments regarding the spa and treatments have been shared with my teams.


We always strive to deliver a great experience for all our customers so your review is greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa

Property: Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Address: High Street, Windsor SL4 1PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Important note about Stables Spa: The hydro pool and sauna are closed for maintenance. The steam room is available on a complimentary basis. The Rasul chamber, 5 treatment rooms and retails areas remain open as normal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harte And Garter Hotel
Harte Garter Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing