We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable but not exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Surrey, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Acceptable but not exceptional”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here when competing at the Windsor Triathlon. Hotel is very well located in the centre of Windsor, and the room we had (301) was nicely furnished and clean although suffered a little from a lack of natural light. With an early start for the triathlon the next day we retired early, but found the noise from the adjoining street (presumably people coming out of pubs and clubs) woke us up a number of times during the night (up to about 2am) meaning it was far from a ideal nights sleep. Staff we friendly enough and we would have no problem staying again but would look to get a room that does not overlook the high street

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uk-traveller-mrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experience and to also comment about room 301. I apologise that you were disturbed by the noise outside; unfortunately the street facing rooms do experience street noise.
Thank you very much once again for your feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    490
    336
    167
    123
See reviews for
283
652
51
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Booked a 2 day legoland special and picked this hotel as only being 3 miles , when we got there it was lovely really nice room and we were very pleased . Eat dinner in hotel ,a lot of things on menu where not available but what we had was very nice . Having a family room my husband and I had the bed and are 2 grandchildren of 7 and 11 shared the sofa bed ,we all collapsed in to bed at 9.30 and fell asleep but not for long a night club is just out side the room and it was so loud that we did not sleep till it stopped at 3 o'clock in the morning . the breakfast was ok but we only lasted till 1 o'clock at legoland because we were so tried .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experience.
I apologise that you were disturbed by the noise outside; unfortunately the street facing rooms do experience street noise.

I do hope this will not deter you from visiting us again.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Windsor hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Salzburg, Salzburg, Austria
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My stay was marvellous...the service was great and the situation of the hotel it is just incredible...in front of the Windsor Castle, I could see from my room beautiful views to the castle. I really enjoy it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eladia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experience. We always strive to deliver a great experience for all our customers so your review is greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I booked this for my partner's birthday. We had afternoon tea in the hotel first which was nice, good selection of food and very pleasant, helpful staff. Lovely setting.
We then went to the spa where we had booked a Rasul Mud Treatment. This was good and an unforgettable experience! You have to apply the mud yourself so don't go alone! The sauna was nice, steam room similarly. The hydro pool was small, the fountains didn't work and the water was not particularly warm. The experience shower was broken and if we had not had the mud experience, which has its own showers in the treatment room, the only showers to use were in the changing rooms, and are standard not 'experience' showers.
However, overall experience was good. It's a small spa which is nice and during the two hours we were there were only joined by one other person. Would be nice to have some body lotion and face cream in the changing rooms along with the shower gel and shampoo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelnTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experience and to also comment about afternoon tea.
I am sorry to read of your disappointment relating to our Spa which I have brought to the attention of our Spa Manager and maintenance team to ensure that the issues you have raised are dealt with promptly. Like all facilities, we do, from time to time suffer unforeseen technical issues which we attempt to rectify as quickly as possible.
Thank you for your valued feedback.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is OK. Nice staff. Breakfast is the same every single day (you get tired of it). I stayed at room 317 for 7 days. Well, to be really honest that was not an actuala hotel room. They adapted it and it was really, really small.. So if you can, try to avoid it.
Besides, you dont´have access to the elevator if you are located on room 317 - you must take the stairs to go down. This is not a problem, except when you have a suitcase. Oh, on weekend they have loud parties at the hotel, and you cannot sleep at all until late at night.

Room Tip: Don´t get rooms 317 to 320... They are adapted bedrooms with no access to the elevator to go down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PATRICIA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experience. I am really sorry that we did not fulfil your expectations. We try our utmost to satisfy our guests however room type allocation is subject to room type booked and our availability.

Thank you for your valued feedback.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My company booked the hotel for a meeting and my colleagues and i stayed for 2 nights, we had read the reviews and i cant understand some of the bad ones.
I garantee there is not a better location in Windsor, right opposite the Castle.

Our rooms were lovely and spotlessly clean, the staff very attentive, all the staff i met were so helpful

The food was good and the restaurant tables look out on to the high street where you can watch changing of the gaurd

This is a great hotel and i have persuaded my husband to book us in for a night away

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your praise regarding the high level of service provided by the whole team at Harte and Garter Hotel. I am very pleased to read that your colleagues also enjoyed their stay with us.
We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I booked our one night stay through Secret Escapes. After reading some mixed reviews I was a little concerned but I needn't have been!

The hotel's central location made it an ideal base for exploring historic Windsor & Eton.

The staff have been very welcoming, friendly and helpful at all times.

Our room -212, had a truly brilliant view of the castle. There were double doors that opened out onto a tiny balcony in the main room and bathroom, allowing for the most fantastic people watching!! Yes with the doors open its a little noisy but you're on a main route through Windsor!

The bed was comfortable and the room well furnished. We needed an iron and one arrived within 2 minutes!

The restaurant in which we ate our breakfast was delightful. We were greeted by the welcoming staff and immediately asked about tea and coffee which arrived in moments. The breakfast buffet was excellent! Full English cooked breakfast, cereals, cold meats, fresh fruit and pastries looked fresh and appetising alongside many different juices.

Well done Harte & Garter!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleepy_cat_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your overall enjoyable stay. Thank you for pointing out our very good level of service. This will serve as an encouragement to all the staff to keep on providing such standards.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope that next time you visit Windsor, we will still be your first stop.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,292 reviews
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa

Property: Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Address: High Street, Windsor SL4 1PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Important note about Stables Spa: The hydro pool and sauna are closed for maintenance. The steam room is available on a complimentary basis. The Rasul chamber, 5 treatment rooms and retails areas remain open as normal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harte And Garter Hotel
Harte Garter Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing