We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice option in Windsor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've stayed at the Harte and Garter twice...the first time about 10 years ago; the second was 11-14 Feb. 2013. Well-placed on the Windsor High Street; easy to walk to everywhere around central Windsor. Hotel was apparently refurbished in 2007...room was quite comfortable, as was the bed. Thermostat in the room was slightly hard to find, but once located was great on controlling the temp. I only ate breakfast...buffet style, which was fine. Did note spend a great deal of time at the hotel as I was traveling on business. All in all, I enjoyed my 3 night stay and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZurichDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

It’s reassuring that you enjoyed your stay with us some ten years after your first experience at the Harte and Garter.

We always strive to deliver a great experience for all our customers so your review is greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,115 - 1,121 of 1,572 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Afternoon tea was just ok and somewhat dissapointing. The ambience in general was cold, most of the waiters did not smile, cheap white bread for sandwiches, the place looked tired and in places dirty. What a shame as this hotel is opposite Windsor Castle and has the makings of an excellent venue, with a little TLC and a course in customer service it could be fabulous. Oh dear... even the ladies wc's looked dreadful....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wernons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I booked a room via the hotel's website, gave all my CC details and received a confirmation. On arrival I was again asked for my CC for 'authorisation'. Once I had done so the receptionist asked me if I would like to 'authorise' for extras!!!! So now three authorisations later I'm wondering what on earth these people are doing!

Next to our room. Standard double Castle facing. Great view. Clean room but goodness what a small bed. I didn't even know that hotels still used 4'6" beds! The TV was wobbling all over the wall and I had to use a cup to wedge behind it to keep the TV upright. Nice. Now here's my pet hate. Hasn't anyone figured out how to provide fresh milk with tea trays yet?!? I can't abide the plastic milk, that is normally out of date, and a tray with no biscuits!!! We paid £180.00 for our room, why not charge us another pound and provide a 'nice' tea tray and fresh milk. Oh for British hoteliers to show some imagination!

Slept well apart from the odd reveller on the street below but glad to be on the third floor!

Breakfast, well yes another rubbish buffet, luke warm, dried up food that we English should be ashamed to put our names to. Why oh why can't we cook a great breakfast to order? As its the one meal guests endure prior to check out don't you think hoteliers would treat it with just a bit more gravity? I understand it's challenging to serve breakfast to order but with a few more staff and a bit more organisation it is and can be done well. How about aspiring to meet and indeed exceed the low expectations of your guests!!

Would I return or recommend? Well simply put no. It was a great base for Windsor but falls into the typical stereotype of an English provincial hotel. It could be so special!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brimbelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

I am sorry to read your disappointment relating to certain aspects of your stay. I can assure you that your comments have been discussed with the respective departments,
As it is valuable feedback like this which helps us identify areas for improvement, raise standards and provide a better experience for all our guests.

We genuinely appreciate the time you have taken to contact us and should you ever change your mind about staying with us again, please contact me directly to give us the opportunity to provide a stay which meets your requirements.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stopped here for breakfast with two Italian friends.Nothing remarkable about the food - the usual buffet - but it was a nice break on a wet, miserable, windy day. We lingered a long time, drank lots of tea and coffee, were not hassled by hovering staff wanting us to leave. I liked the decor - pretty well-preserved late Victorian. Perfect if you want to visit the castle, which is opposite - with the train station next door.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drayton36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experience and to also comment on our lovely decor which unfortunately was in contrast to the conditions outside!

Your comments have been passed on to my restaurant colleagues and hopefully we will welcome you and your friends back in more favourable weather conditions.
Kind Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Have twice eaten here. On each visit the waiter started by telling us what was not available from the menu! Usually what we wanted to order!
Not a large menu to begin with and my starter was tasteless and the mashed potatoes on the main course were cold.
Food very average considering the nature of the place and very overpriced.
Disappointing.
Will not go back here. Plenty of other places to eat in this town.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

I am sorry to read of your disappointment relating to our food offering which I have brought to the attention of our Restaurant Manager.
One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. Thank you for your valued feedback

Kind Regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I booked a table with views of the castle for my friends birthday lunch . The table was a booth with great views of the castle .. Perfect !!
Lunch was beautifully cooked and presented , drinks were not too badly priced.
We also had a cream tea for our dessert and it was amazing !!! Fresh warm scones, real clotted cream and lovely strawberry jam and plenty of it . It actually defeated me which I hate to admit lol !
All in all my friend was made to feel special and pampered . They even bought out a special birthday cake for her !
Well done Harte & Garter !!!
Your staff are a credit too you .
Your hotel is lovely !!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank madtabby71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experience. In particular, we would like to thank you very much for your kind comments regarding our staff; we take a lot of pride in the service we deliver here at the Harte and Garter, and we are delighted that this aspect of your visit stood out for you.
Thank you very much once again for your feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had High Tea @ this Hotel, recently. Sorry to say that this was abysmal, poor, & a rip-off. What was served up, did not match the picture in any way. Tea - weak, warm. Scones - from Tesco value range, not enough Jam. Cream - too stodgy. Cakes - tiny finger food canapés, Bland, soggy & tasteless. Worst sandwiches I've ever had. Again - bland, almost nil filling, & bent & squashed @ the corners. Hardly any variety. All together - a right royal rip-off.
Plus side - The glass of bubbly was acceptable & we had scenic view of the castle. Pleasant waiter & service, but did not bother asking if we needed any thing else or if all was to our satisfaction.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kishor54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa

Address: 31 High Street, Windsor SL4 1PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: $107 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views directly over Windsor Castle, The Harte & Garter Hotel, Windsor enjoys the finest location in town. With many of its original features intact, this remarkable property offers you a combination of both modern facilities and classical style. Originally two 14th century inns, the hotel is made up of the main building which overlooks Windsor Castle and Goswell House. Offering 98 luxurious and individual bedrooms, 19 of which are in Goswell House, which has a separate entrance to the main hotel but has full use of all the hotel's facilities. Retaining some of the original features, many rooms have unrivalled views of Windsor Castle. The hotel also holds seven elegant private dining and meeting rooms. Important note about Stables Salon: The hydro pool and sauna are closed for maintenance. The steam room is available on a complimentary basis. The Rasul chamber, 5 treatment rooms and retails areas remain open as normal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harte And Garter Hotel
Harte Garter Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing