We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny room and a mattress that needs putting in the skip”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Alma Lodge

Alma Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windsor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alma Lodge
Ranked #15 of 22 Windsor B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tiny room and a mattress that needs putting in the skip”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Room was very small with a single bed. Why the owners have chosen to put a drop leaf table and a single chair in the room beggers belief. The TV is wall mounted 90 degrees from the direction the bed is facing.with the bed side lamp directly in the way. The mattress was dreadful - it was like sleeping in a pot hole. Never again. If you have a large car then go very slowly and carefully through the access to the parking area at the back.....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roughguide247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
15
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

Friendly B&B fairly close to Windsor attractions. I stayed here for a business trip and have to admit that it was far better than the usual soulless standard business hotels. Breakfast was freshly cooked and the staff were very friendly and obliging.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

we stayed here aug 13th till 17th
we came to windsor for a visit to legoland and a few "easy" days away.
The owner Eric very kindly collected us from the train station and showed us around the B and B.
This place is spottlessly clean and breakfast was excellent and piping hot!
We had a family room with two seperate bedrooms with a connecting door ,double in one and bunks in the other.
The lovely scenery of windsor is right on its doorstep,a short ten minute stroll straight down alma rd brings you to the river and the french brothers boat tours,the windsor wheel and a lovely park are just at the end of the road too.
Eric was even kind enough to pack bread for the 4yr old in our group to feed the swans with !
If you take the first right from this B and B you can stroll into windsor centre and see the amazing castle ,we took a horse and carriage ride from outside it {where the red bus stops opps harte hotel} for £40 for a half hour ride thru into the"great walk" and into the park ,he leaves every half hour after 12 noon on a first come basis.
Eric was very accomodating even allowing us to print off vouchers for legoland and the Band B has free wi fi ,tea n coffe facilities and even a small fridge for your drinks.
Well done Alma lodge our stay was great as was your facilities and service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triplova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

We were in the lower floor which was like being stowed away somewhere. Furnishing was IKEA-like, air was hot, could not open the windows because of the road traffic, Heathrow airplanes were annoying too and parking was difficult for anything larger than a Smart. And they charged 90 GBP per night. The personel was very helpful though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurzreisender13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

This is a nice B&B and we had the downstairs bedroom which is newly decorated and exquisitely clean.
I think that as the owners do not live on site there are some issues with arrivals and departures. We were told to phone ahead of arriving and when we did we received a rather stressed response and a slightly awkward atmosphere on arrival. We didn't know where to park as the whole road and surrounding roads are residents permits only or out of hours meters. The owner very kindly paid our metre for us and then we moved our car into the tiny car park around the back in the morning. Car keys are often requested to be left so that a general musical chairs scenario can take place all day to enable visitors in and out of sparse and cramped parking spaces.
Our night was a little sleepless as whoever was in the room above insisted on talking most of the night while a small child danced on the ceiling. Not exactly peaceful. Breakfast the next day was again awkward as all guests emerged about the same time and the owner was clearly and verbally not that pleased with this situation. My husband had a cooked breakfast which he enjoyed and I had cereal. I wasn't offered any other option although another table was offered yoghurt. We were allowed to park our car all day which was kind but I do feel that this B&B is a bit uncomfortable in its approach to its guests and you feel like you are intruding. However it was nice enough and I have no complaints about the style or comfort of the bedroom itself. The Alma Lodge is situated very close to the town centre and is extremely convenient for travellers.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarplum007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

I was in the lower ground floor front room. Very spacious and tastefully refurbished, with small but attractive ensuite, tv fridge and small dining space for two. There were (I think) two other bedrooms on this floor, with a smart galley style kitchen, making this a great self contained space for a large family or group of friends. Short walk to centre of town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicasso_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed one night here and were looking for easy access in and out of Windsor and to be close to Heathrow. This B&B fit the criteria and although it was challenging to get in and out of, it had off street parking. The room appeared to have been recently renovated and bathroom was modern. It did lack soap and shampoo for the shower, but we've learned to bring these along. The breakfast was adequate, but didn't include any fruit or yogurt which is more our preference, and we ended up with the "Hot English Breakfast" that we didn't realize we had requested. It was also coated with ketchup that wasn't to our taste. The gentleman looking after the B&B was quite a character and did give us help with directions and his views on life, so we didn't have the heart to complain.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L-JCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.5 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
Alma House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Lodge

Property: Alma Lodge
Address: 58 Alma Road, Windsor SL4 3HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alma Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing