We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff and Service. Shame about the bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on 28th July 2014 for one night.

The reception we received on arrival was first class. Furthermore, a later dealing with 'Perry' on the Front Desk left me wondering whether we had booked in to a Holiday Inn Express or The Ritz. Without exception every member of staff delivered an excellent service.

As a disabled guest I was offered the option of an Accessible Room. The room was large enough to get a wheelchair in and out without any structural damage. The facilities in the wet room bathroom were brilliant.

However, the standard 4"6 bed had seen better days. No support for two sleeping together. The pillows were also tired.

No noise from aircraft even though we were directly under the flight path.

Breakfast was ok

Bring the beds and pillows up to standard and you will have one if the best hotels in this area

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Wayne_McIntosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXWindsor, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feed back. Please note that the process of upgrading our rooms actually began in May and we are in the process of gradually covering each room. I am confident that you will exprience this change on your next visit.
Best Regards
Gehan.J.Dias-Bandaranaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Windsor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 566 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel is in a great location for visiting Legoland or just visiting Windsor town centre! It is clean and friendly but that's about it! We landed on Monday for a family break to Legoland, and after a long day at Legoland my husband and I thought we would treat ourselves back at the hotel to a nice wee beer and and a meal for our family! Well we were told no beer on Draft until Friday, nothing was available to eat only Cod nuggets and raw oven chips!...yuck...my husband and my kids suffered tummy cramps the whole night!...then nxt morning my kids were up early and excited to go to Legoland 5 and 2 yr old and we got a call from reception asking us to keep our kids from walking or running on the floor as the room below us wanted to sleep....so we tried our hardest and stressed every morning trying to keep our kids on their beds til we got out of the room for breakfast! Ah yes Breakfast....no fresh fruit at all, all week!! What was there was edible but very basic. For a one night stay I'd probably consider again but for more than that I wouldn't be back here!

Room Tip: Ask for a floor room if you have kids!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dee946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXWindsor, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Madam,
Thank you for your feed back. We are sorry that you feel that the hotel is very basic. We are a Focus Service hotel within our Intercontinental Hotel Group Brands. I am sure you would have a wider choice of brands to choose from wihin our Full Service Brands, which would be of a much more varied offering,
Best Regards
Gehan.J.Dias-Bandaranaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed one night here after a visit to Ascot Races. Staff were helpful and pleasant, room was clean and well-presented if a little basic, but with a brilliant shower in the bathroom.
Hotel is conveniently located about 5/10 minutes walk from Windsor town centre with its shops, bars and restaurants. Has a decent outside seating area in the yard.
Breakfast was dismally poor and included in the price paid - I would be loath to pay extra for it. Comprised a meagre selection of breakfast cereals, fruits etc. Was looking forward to a full English breakfast, but on offer were just sausages that looked as dry as bones and a tray of baked beans swimming in the usual tomato sauce; no eggs, no bacon, no grilled tomatoes, or any other enticements. You could have toast so long as you liked white bread. Coffee is served by a machine; I pressed the button for black coffee and it came out with milk added! Nice.
I suppose this hotel serves a basic need for an overnight stay, but you wouldn't want to linger.
Oh, and parking . . . underground parking at £10 per night. Street parking? Forget it, it's opposite Windsor police station and double yellow lines proliferate.

Room Tip: No rooms with a view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ossiemurdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXWindsor, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for you feed back. We hope to be of better service on your return.
Best Regards
Gehan.J.Dias-Bandaranaike
General Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Nice to find a hotel with air conditioning as most of the Premier Inns do not. NIce room, albeit a little smaller than the Premier Inn family rooms. Also noted that the family room did not include a bath in the bathroom, no problem for us as we had bathed our little one before we left and were only there for 2 nights, but might have been a major incovenience if we had stayed longer.

Pleased also to see that breakfast is included as is the WiFi access, but extremely disappointed that on site parking at the hotel was £10 per night. Never had to pay for parking at a hotel before.

So some good points, some bad points, hence the 3 star review.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CR9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXWindsor, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and take onboard your comments.
Best Regards
Gehan.J.Dias-Bandaranaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great staff great service as always. Booked this hotel as it was close to legoland just a short drive. Breakfast was lovely but as always short of food due yo staff shortage. But would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah9393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXWindsor, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Sarah,
Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us,
We look forward to welcome all of you back.
Best Regards
Gehan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Hotel was clean and it suited our needs for one night. We had great service from the gentleman who checked us in. Parking was a nuisance - we went out for the evening and upon return there were no parking spaces left in the basement. We were told to park on the forecourt area but there was another family in the same situation, it was a real squeeze to get in a parking spot (not an actual parking space) and it took ages as another family were in the same situation and the staff had to move their cars for customers - took ages to sort out parking (seemed bit short staffed at that time, around 9.30pm, too). We asked for a travel cot and were told no problem that it would be in our room by the time we got back from dinner - it wasn't, we had to ask again so my husband had to collect from reception and we had to put it together ourselves. We had the breakfast buffet which was fine although I was disappointed that all the pastries were overcooked (not burnt but too dry and inedible). Staff were also friendly on check out. Good location for Windsor including for walking to see the local sights.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelMonkey78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXWindsor, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your response. We are glad you enjoyed your stay although you seem to have had a couple of unpleasant experiences. We assure you that these issues will be looked into and suitable solutions sought after. We hope to welcome you back.
Best Regards
Gehan.J.Dias-Bandaranaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

spent the weekend here and could not fault it, well located if you wanted to walk into town, staff could have done any more for us and made us all very welcome. Even for our friends that joined us for the day on Sunday.
The breakfast was what I expected for this type of hotel and not sure why other people have commented on the food.
Would definitely use it again

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolw59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXWindsor, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your very positive feedback, which my team will be very pleased to read. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.
Best Regards
Gehan.J.Dias-Bandaranaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Windsor

Address: 71 Alma Road, Windsor SL4 3HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range: $87 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Windsor 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing