We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed in hotel with young family to visit legoland. Staff were welcoming towards children. Rooms were very clean and modern. Staff were happy to provide adjoining rooms. Really enjoyable stay. Breakfast was good although more staff were needed to keep on top of trays and topping up items. Service in restaurant at night was not so good, waited 1/2 an hour for 3 pots if ice cream!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E6522G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 588 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel for style, position, cleanliness, simplicity, service, security (next to police station) food and ambiance.

Hotel is ideally located on through-routes and just a few mins walk from the centre of Windsor. No sooner had we arrived than the Manager asked if he could help and explained the parking situation. Now THAT's service folks.
Reception staff were informed, attentive, courteous and interested. Hotel itself is immaculate, great blue/white style, rooms are small but well appointed, spotlessly clean.
Breakfast is superb considering it was included in our room price. Minor criticism would be to keep the dining area clean as people can't be trusted to clean up after themselves unfortunately.
Didn't use the bar but it's definitely there. We had guests for breakfast who were dealt with professionally and courteously.

Definitely recommend this hotel for short stay or longer if you're not looking for those frequently neglected services that other hotels offer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pah2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXWindsor, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your heartening comments, which I will share with my team. We hope that we would have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Kind Regards
Gehan.J.Dias-Bandaranaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Check in was quick and the receptionist was polite and friendly, we knew there was a problem with the parking before we arrived but we had no problem finding a parking space along side the hotel by the police station enterance.
The room was very clean and the mattress was lovely and soft with a choice of firm or soft pillows. Shower room was spotless and clean.
Breakfast was nice with a choice of cereals, toast, fruits, yogurts and scrambled eggs, beans and sausages( could have been better quality). Breakfast area was clean which is good as most hotel buffet areas look like a bomb has hit them so well done.
it's a 10 minute walk into Windsor, but becareful seems like some drivers in the area don't know the rule for zebra crossings and nearly got knocked down twice.
Check out was quick and easy
Would recommend this hotel and will stay again when next in the area

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sapper245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXWindsor, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your positive comments which I will share with my team. Please also note that our New Car Park, will be ready in the very near future.

Thank you once again and hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Kind Regards
Gehan.J.Dias-Bandaranaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

No parking available despite being shown on their website. Duty manager very unhelpful and advised parking in adjacent road which was all double yellow lines or opposite which appeared to be residents only.

Unacceptable response from staff. 'Its not my problem' says the duty manager. YES IT IS, you are alienating your customers, a Lille better training on customer relations would help.

Do not use this hotel if you want to relax.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarmotWhistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXWindsor, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Please accept my sincere apologies on behalf of my team member. Thank you for bringing this issue to my attention. I will be speaking to the relevant member of the team and affording the appropriate training where necessary.
Please also note that the construction of our car park is nearing completion and will be available to our guest in the very near future.
Thank you once again and look forward to welcome you back to the hotel.
Kind Regards
Gehan.J.Dias-Bandaranaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Excellent location - easy walking access to the Town Centre Room and Breakfast very good.
Unfortunate that the underground car park was flooded! Local Parking was available so was not a major problem.
Recommend this Hotel for Value,condition and location

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jevansx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXWindsor, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to share your very positive experience, which I will personally share with my team
Please be assured that the construction of our car park is nearing completion & will be available to our guest in the very near future.
Thank you once again & we look forward to welcome you back,
Kind Regards
Gehan.J.Dias-Bandaranaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in February, we chose the hotel because of it's location and secure parking. However, on arrival, the parking was out of use and we had to park round the back in a Social Services Office car park(?).

Being new, everything was lovely in the hotel. The room and bathroom were fine, and it was nice to be able to open the window to let fresh air in. The breakfast was good too. The location, for walking in to Windsor was ideal. We would not hesitate to stay here again and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The price was reasonable too and included breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a bed with a firm mattress, ours was far too soft, hence I woke up with back ache.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMoneypenny0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXWindsor, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Please be assured that the construction of our car park is nearing completion & will be available to our guest in the very near future.
Thank you once again & we look forward to welcome you back to the hotel.
Kind Regards
Gehan.J.Dias-Bandaranaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Staying after a long haul flight into Heathrow just for one night and luckily a priority club points stay. Handy for Windsor about 15 minutes walk away, parking an issue particularly as the car park is closed due to flooding. Room a bit grubby with stains on carpets and furniture and bathroom not very clean and extractor fan seems to be on permanently. Quite noisy from surrounding rooms. Breakfast complimentary and whilst adequate nothing to write home about. Staff at check in efficient and being priority members we were able to check in early and check out late which was useful having just arrived from an 11 hour flight!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXWindsor, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Please be assured that your comments regarding the issue of cleanliness in your room is taken very seriously & will be discussed with my team. Any shortfall in processes that have not been followed will be looked into and made to stringently follow.
Further, the construction of our car park is nearing completion & will be available to our guest in the very near future.
Thank you once again & we look forward to welcome you back to the hotel.
Kind Regards
Gehan.J.Dias-Bandaranaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.5 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Windsor

Address: 71 Alma Road, Windsor SL4 3HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range: $73 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Windsor 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing