We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Carlton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“friendly and clean”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I had stopped at the Holiday Inn Express in Reading a couple of times a few years ago when visiting my son so, hearing that one had just opened in Windsor where he now lives with his new wife and baby, we decided to try it. Our expectations were realised. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms and all public areas were fresh and clean. A good selection of cereals, fruit, juices, breads etc for breakfast, though the hot selection - sausages, scrambled egg and baked beans - was basic. Very conveniently located for town centre. Only major, ongoing drawback is the lack of a car-park. Fortunately the staff were very helpful in finding us a space, but if it isn't remedied by the busy season it will be a real problem. Otherwise good value for money

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinandPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXWindsor, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express Windsor.

I shall pass on all of your feedback to the team here as I am sure they will be delighted that you found them to be so friendly and the hotel lovely and clean, just as it should be!

Thank you also for the feedback regarding our location and facilities. Unfortunately yes, the car park is still out of operation at the moment as we continue to carry out essential upgrading and maintenance in this area.

Thank you again for all your comments and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Karen A. Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    224
    129
    32
    27
See reviews for
178
162
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stopped for just the one night last week. After reading some of the reviews about parking and customer service I was having some reservations about staying at this hotel. Yes, possibly the parking could potentially be a problem but we managed to park down the side road opposite the police station and were told by the receptionist that we could stay there for as long as we wanted. This turned out to be very useful as we spent the following day in Windsor itself and would have had to pay a fortune to park in a public car park. The hotel itself was very comfortable, although the bed was a little soft for my boyfriend and the room was very clean and modern . The breakfast was more than sufficient with a small choice of hot and cold food. The hotel was in a reasonable position and you could easily walk to the centre of Windsor in 10-15 minutes. I would also like to say that the customer service was great. We spoke to a couple of people on reception and both times were dealt with in a friendly and helpful manner and were given some useful information to help us with our stay. I would definately stop here another time if we ever visit this area again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cj67_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXWindsor, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express Windsor.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us and that you found our team here to be so friendly and helpful.

The hotel is in such a super location to visit many of the nearby attractions or to just take a stroll into the Windsor town centre.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Karen A. Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey-england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Hotel very new & fresh & very convenient for the centre of Windsor
Breakfast basic but very nice
Staff very courteous & helpful
BUT there is no car park as stated & no parking spaces anywhere near the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terreus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXWindsor, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express Windsor.

I was pleased to see that you found the hotel to be in a great location and the staff to be friendly and helpful. I shall certainly pass all of your comments on to them. Wiith regard to the car park, we hope to have this excellent facility open and available for our guests to use as soon as possible. In the meantime, there is on street car parking to the front and side of the hotel. Next time you stay with us, please don't hesitate to ask Reception for further information.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Karen A. Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We arrived on a snowy Sunday - there was only the disabled space left but friendly reception let us use it.
Locals tell us the carpark floods- the water table is 2' down.
We had a room on the front, were not bothered by traffic noise but short nights because of the planes- they stop after 11 & start at 4.30. But that is Windsor for you. Real estate is lovely but staffing seems to be a problem- three new members of staff in our stay. Our room was not serviced at 5 p.m. The charming house keeper did it herself, making herself late on her first day!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4wheelsonmywagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXWindsor, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express Windsor.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us and I shall pass your comments on to the team. With regard to the car park, we hope to have this excellent facility open and available for our guests to use as soon as possible.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Karen A. Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We use Holiday Inn a lot and frankly this new hotel in Windsor ranks amongst the best we have stayed at. As I understand it, the hotel opened in September 2012. The decor is modern, crisp and very clean. The staff we so friendly and helpful, everyone was enthusiastic and wanted to help. This our second stay there over the winter 2012/13 and I do believe there were teething issues as there are with all new hotels but these have been sorted out now, in fact our last visit must have been about 2 months after the hotel opened. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the town and castle with lots of restaurants nearby. We used the hotel the night before departing from Heathrow Airport and it was so nice not to be stuck in an airport environment, the restaurants nearby were great and a vast selection. We found a private car service (taxi type) which cost us 20 GB pounds to Heathrow. Frankly I could not fault this hotel.

Room Tip: Use this hotel instead of staying at an aiport hotel when departing from Heathrow
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony504146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXWindsor, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express Windsor.

I was delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found the team to be so helpful and friendly. I shall pass all of your comments on to them.

The location of the hotel is excellent for lots of nearby attractions as well as Heathrow and yes, lovely not to be stuck right by the airport.

We do believe the teething problems of any new hotel opening are behind us and I am so pleased you could see the difference from the last time you stayed. I hope this will bring you back to stay with us time and time again!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Karen A. Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Excellent value, within walking distance of castle and shops etc. Staff very friendly and helpful .Rooms and hotel in general very clean .Breakfast adequate. Would recommend this hotel as an excellent base for visiting Windsor and district

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXWindsor, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express Windsor.

I was delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We are in a great location for visiting Windsor Castle, the shops, etc and also additional nearby attractions like Legoland and Thorpe Park are great choices for next time you visit!

I shall pass on your feedback to the team at the hotel who will be delighted you found them to be so friendly and helpful.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Karen A. Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

£69.00 For a double room with breakfast, wifi and parking. Not bad in central Windsor.
The carpark is still not open, but the hotel has an arrangement with the Police Station next door, so you can park on the road beside it on the double-yellow lines and not get a ticket, until the car park is sorted.
The hotel is bran-spanking new, so no complaints about the room. I was surprised that the bed was nearly as comfortable as one on a Cunard Liners. Which is where I set my benchmark for hotels. Nice double shower and plenty of work surfaces for all those nick-nacks.
Breakfast is very much first-price: Tinned fruit, bland eggs, sausages and the coffee and juice, well much the same. But hey, just walk up the road and have a nice breakfast. After all you have just had the complimentary copy of the Independent newspaper. I ate the continental breakfast and it did not kill me.

I only stayed the one night, but found it a very good travelling hotel and good value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXWindsor, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express Windsor.

I was so pleased to see that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us and found us to be great value for money.

In addition to our FREE breakfast and FREE newspaper that you enjoyed, we also offer FREE WiFi so we hope you will enjoy this other benefit next time you stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Karen A. Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.5 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
2.6 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Windsor

Property: Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Address: 71 Alma Road, Windsor SL4 3HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Windsor 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing