We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasant place to walk whatever to weather”
Review of Windsor Great Park

Windsor Great Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.91*
and up
Windsor Independent Day Trip from London with Private Driver
Ranked #4 of 64 things to do in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to 4800 acres of sweeping parkland, award-winning gardens, ancient woodland and forest trails that are just waiting to be explored.There is something for everyone within Windsor Great Park, at any time of year. Encompassing The Savill Garden, Virginia Water, The Valley Gardens and the Long Walk and Deer Park - the Great Park offers a rich tapestry of experiences to discover, with a Royal history spanning over 1,000 years. You will encounter historical monuments, ancient forests and stunning horticultural displays, as well as rare wildlife, plants and fungi - so whatever your interest, there will be something to excite and amaze you.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always a pleasant place to walk whatever to weather”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A lovely place to walk, with so many different types of walks to choose from. You can loose yourself from the busyness of life for an hour or two and always feel better for it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Murfieslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    871
    247
    33
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Living so close to the Great Park we are there nearly every weekend, rain or shine. There is no area like this in the UK which has such a varied amount of beautiful space that is accessable to the public. From the Valley Gardens, Saville Gardens and Virginia Water to the deer park, stag meadow, Polo fields and village.
You could like myself and my wife do visit every week while waliking the dog and see so many different things and the wildlife is fantastic.
I would highly recommend a wander if visiting!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Virginia Water Car Park. 30 minutes to exit”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went to Virginia Water on New Years Day for a walk around the lake. Not for the first time we had a long wait to get out of the car park. The exit goes through the Wheatsheaf Pub and via the traffic lights. The traffic lights timing is very short for exit of car park and of course all the pub customers share the same exit.
It is time Crown Estates sorted it out.
They need an exit onto the A30. Maybe a left turn only.
CROWN ESTATES SORT IT OUT !!!
The Car park is not cheap

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank wdewijones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tally Ho Stables - Boxing Day Ride in the Great Park”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had the most fantastic Boxing Day ride through Windsor Great Park. We followed the horse box from Tally Ho Farm to Cranbourne Gate. Where we met our horses and our guide Jenny. We rode through the park for about an hour to the Fox and Hounds for a festive refreshment! Then back through the deer park and a large heard of deer. It was great day. Many thanks to Tally Ho Stables and Jenny Yung. I can throughly recommend trying them - you won't be dissapointed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Renna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Winter in the Park”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Beautiful views. Lots of hidden statues and little gems if you keep walking around, not just George III on horseback. Shame you can't drive around a bit more.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windsor Great Park also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Windsor Great Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing