We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't do it again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Legoland Windsor Resort Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Blackpool
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wouldn't do it again”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived yesterday. Straight away problem. Splash and pool area were closed and nobody bothered to inform us. We booked extra night just to use this facilities not saying for the price asked we should be warned not everything is available. Downstairs toilets dirty and no toilet paper. Food well overpriced and not nice. Breakfast £12 ? We had to get out from hotel to find something better to it. It's not about the money but quality. Evening entertainment was so boring that even our 3 years old gave up on two shouting girls and one brick of Lego. Nowhere near Alton tower resort run also by Merlin. I would like to add I'm well travelled person and its my first time complaining. From good points. Hotel is colourful and interactive , park is nice for younger kids and our 3 years old is loving it. Will we come again ? No

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    632
    265
    124
    110
See reviews for
1,593
11
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have previously stayed at Drayton Manor and the Alton Towers Hotels and Legoland was by far the entire familys' favourite. All of the guests have children so no hen or stag groups unlike Alton Towers to keep you awake ! considering that we booked a basic Kingdom Room we were very impressed indeed. The swimming pool was closed, but we had been informed in advance by E-mail, offered free swimming at WIndsor pool and were given complimentary tickets to another Merlin attraction which is amazingly generous. We couldn't believe how many people were still complaining about the situation; the hotel couldn't predict the ceiling collapsing in the pool and in reality the pool is only a small part of the experience. We look forward to our free day out at Warwick Castle !
We were slightly worried about the Bricks restaurant having read feedback on Tripadvisor, but were very impressed with the choices on offer (Beef strogonaff, salmon with prawns, Veggie options, carvery, salad bar, soups, cold meats, pasta etc etc). My kids really don't enjoy 'typical junk food' but again there was a great selection for them. I also liked the fact that fruit juices and milk was on offer as well as fizzy drinks, tea, hot chocolate etc. The price initially seems a bit steep, but for 4 people to potentially have 3 courses, soft drinks and coffees it would soon add up. Breakfast also offered such a good choice that I bypassed the cooked and enjoyed fresh fruit, waffles, continental etc.
To be able to walk through the hotel on arrival and be right in the park within a minute is a huge bonus. The 9.30 entrance was also great and even at 10am it still takes day guests some time to filter through to the far end of the park so we fitted in several rides in the first hour.
Bad points - the outdoor play area is great, but whilst sitting having a tea whilst watching our children play we were surrounded by smokers and lots of children were being exposed to smoke whilst playing. I am assuming this was the dedicated smoking area as there were ashtrays, but if this is the case would it be better placed to the left of the back entrance of the hotel away from the play area where there are other seating areas ?
Can't wait to return !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libby236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at the Legoland hotel for 1 night in the Easter holidays.

Good points
The theming is very good everywhere round the hotel (better than Drayton manor hotel but can't compare to Alton Towers as have not stayed there)
Kids enjoyed the quiz to find combination to get Lego from the safe in room
Location handy for theme park, free parking
Good new outdoor play area

Bad points
Very expensive and then you don't get the room you paid for and they couldn't care a less (see details below)
Bricks restaurant was really expensive and they pushed it offering reservations at reception and not mentioning the other (cheaper) Skyline restaurant
Pool area is way too small for the size of the hotel, it was quite cold and the seesaw in it was broken when we were there
The indoor playhouse upstairs was closed when we were there (peak easter holiday period)
The early ride time is only Atlantis and dino safari (unless its raining then dino is closed) so you spend 25 mins of the early ride time standing at a barrier waiting for the rest of the park to open
Check your bill carefully - Our "free" compensation drinks were charged to our room and we had to ask to get them removed

Our BIG problem
I booked a Kingdom room 8 months before our stay and at the time of booking had read some reviews on Tripadvisor saying to check in early as they sometimes gave you a different theme to the one you booked if you checked in late. With this in mind we checked in at 9.30am and to my disbelief I heard the woman say "your pirate room will be ready at 3pm". I showed her my confirmation clearly stating Kingdom room but was told they were full so we couldn't have a Kingdom room. I pointed out they were in trouble for this on Tripadvisor and was told they had had problems last year but they were now resolved (quite clearly they're not!) Long conversation later about my 3 year old daughter being frightened of pirates and its early surely you can swap us etc etc and their final offer was an Adventurer "suite" and a free drink each at dinner. Now I've scoured their website and they don't have any suites - according to the fire map on the back of the bedroom door it is a slightly larger (due to its position in the corner) than average standard room but that's about it. Don't get me wrong the room theming is very good but here lay the next problem - how many 3 year old girls like rats, spiders and scorpions? Not my daughter, so we had to drape t shirts over the Lego rat and scorpion before she would go in her bedroom or bathroom. I have since written and complained and was basically told I had one of the "best rooms in the hotel at no extra charge" so tough. Maybe it was one of the best in their opinion but not in my daughters eyes. They charge top price for the hotel on the basis of their theming but then you don't get what you paid for - its totally wrong. Another couple of emails to customer services and I finally got a 50% refund which I think was fair given they charge twice the price as a normal unthemed hotel and they didn't give us the theme we booked.

All in all this should be a great hotel but its ridiculously high prices, failure to deliver what you booked and lack of decent customer service lets it down. Sort it out Legoland, it's not fair to disappoint kids like that!

Room Tip: Book the cheapest room you can get as you probably won't get what you paid for anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewcastleHolidaygoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Me my girlfriend and our 3 young children stayed in the hotel or 1 night and had the best day ever!!hotel was amazing room was a good size and very clean.our kids loved every minute of the stay and when we had to leave they wanted to stay another night?when you go into the ark it's really really exspensive?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevengerrett34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed with our 4 year old son for 2 nights, rooms have a super theme - stayed in a kingdom room, treasure hunt to the safe was great. Plenty of space, with very clean rooms and great tea/coffee/hot chocolate and biscuits. Lobby is well themed but the shop was really lacking in anything except Lego, no magazines etc.
On the negative side would be the restaurant only have a all you can eat buffet and we though at £19 per adult and £8 for children it was expensive and this was the only choice however the food was hot and plenty of choice. Staff were friendly but could have maybe been a bit more interactive with the children. We ate here twice and the first night no one cleared our used plates so we ended up with them stacked up, however not the case on the second night.
The shows in the hotel for kids at night were not really advertised.
Great play area just outside the food court.
On checkout there was a bar discrepancy (someone else had charged drinks to our room) however this was sorted quickly I was surprised that there was not a cross check with the room name and surname when you were ordering drinks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andlaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel was amazing and my 6 year loved it but the food u could not have ate it and it was 20 pounds a person, my son didn't even eat anything but it's worth staying in for a night if going to the park

Room Tip: My son and us where in the pirate room it was great size and was spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l33ann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We has a wonderful time at legoland. We have never been before so decided to take advantage of the one night 2 days offer. It was wonderful. Our 7,5 and 10 month old were all very well catered for. The rides were amazing. We could take our 10 month old on most rides as she was allowed to sit next to us. There was buggy access everywhere. The hotel was fantastically themed. We had a kingdom room which even had a treasure chest for the kids to decode and unlock and find their presents. The room also had a separate sleeping area for the kids although not a door between which would have been nice. There was Lego to play with in various places in the hotel. Food wasn't great especially if you don't eat meat. Breakfast was nice enough. There is nowhere in the park for a covered area picnic. We were there off season so nobody seemed to mind us picnicking in the hotel cafe area. The swimming pool was good fun too at the end of a long day. Top tip: go when it's not school holidays. We had to queue for a max. 5 mins for any ride!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinnola470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
3.2 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.1 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legoland Windsor Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legoland Windsor Resort Hotel

Property: Legoland Windsor Resort Hotel
Address: Winkfield Road, Windsor SL4 4AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Legoland Windsor Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the spectacular dragon-guarded entrance and interactive LEGO features, through to the brightly coloured pirate splash pool and fully themed bedrooms, The LEGOLAND Windsor Hotel is brimming with LEGO features; inspiring little imaginations and creating laugh-out loud memories for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Cancelon, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Legoland Windsor Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing