We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a new lego experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Legoland Windsor Resort Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed overnight at the legoland hotel on the second weekend since it opened. The hotel environment is BRILLIANT. There is lego everywhere and so much to keep children and adults entertained. There are fantastic themed rooms with a lego treasure hunt in each one and a real attention to detail. We had a "kingdom room" complete with a royal bed for adults, heraldry throughout and we even had a lego spider in the bathroom! Breakfast and dinner can be eaten in the themed lego restaurant or in the Skyline bar which is next to a large indoor play area. Unfortunately, the pool area was closed during our visit, but looked great and hotel guests have early bird access (30 mins) to legoland before it opens.

My only criticism is that when the hotel is full, the buffet style restaurant is very noisy and the skyline bar/play area opposite is even noisier. There seems to be no where in the hotel for parents (and children) who want a less hectic dining experience.

Room Tip: choose from Kingdom, Pirate or explorer themed rooms. Not sure whether it's worth the premium f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomas2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,941 - 1,947 of 2,016 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed in Room 210 for one night. I'd booked a standard medieval room before the hotel had opened so like another reviewer was concerned when the photo's of the premium rooms came out.However the room was great and were fine as we weren't there much.

We arrived at 12pm on a busy weekend which was perfect as the traffic into the park had gone. The hotel has it's own car park although at midday there is still cars from overnight guests as well as those turning up so was almost full. There are no bays so it relies on people parking well. Reception is well done and you leave your bags and can play with the lego or go up to the pool (shut when we were there).The hotel reception gives you a pass key which you need to access the lift and stairs. Then you can go to floor 2 which has the bar and restaurant and the park gates. Be warned reception is very busy at 3pm for check in and has long queues, so do leave it half an hour.

Our room was perfect with two young boys as it was just across from the door to the main public area. There is also a massive play structure with Lego etc and the boys could play but still run back to the room quire easily. Medieval rooms are are floors 1 and 2 so don't have much in the way of views. However ours was right behind the Lego clock on the front entrance so actually had a good view in terms of Lego fans. Floor 3 is pirates and floor 4 is adventure. Both looked good from the carpets!
The room was very well themed and fact as an adult you wouldn't want much more. The boys room was fully themed and had reading lights for each bunk. The bunks are smaller than normal so I wouldn't have thought that comfy for large or really long people. Only premium rooms have a fridge which was a shame.

Service was totally dependent on the member of staff. Reception were helpful and a couple provided a badge and an extra room gift for my son who had a birthday that day. However restaurant staff failed to produce the birthday surprise without chasing (blank looks all round) or were either overworked or hovered over your table.
Some of the tables are round and are totally inappropriate for a a family of four. Ours knocked his plate of the table because you can't see the edge with the thick paper table covering. We were told we couldn't move because they were fully booked. However plenty of large table remained empty and uncleared the whole time and then the restaurant went quiet anyway. Eat in the bar area. Nice food, less expensive and better service than the buffet restaurant also no children eating with their hands out of the buffet dishes). The buffet at dinner was very busy until 7.30 and then was dead. There are no drinks for children apart from water or fizzy soda, you get charged for juice and the like. Breakfast was good though.

Small points are that the park doesn't actually open half an hour earlier for guests...only the submarine ride does. The rest of the park was corded off till 10. Still you are the park at the opposite end to everyone else which is a bonus. Very nice to come back and get out of wet clothes, eat, relax and then go back into the fray.

Room Tip: I think it helped being on floor 2 and near the lifts and stairs. Lifts get very busy and can take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AmyEade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on 25/03. Overall, we had a good time as both the kids loved the hotel room (kids aged 5 &9).

We liked...... the hotel room - we upgraded to a premium adventure room and were located on the 1st floor - plenty of room - would def recommend as kids have a seperate sleeping area to the adults with the bathroom in the middle so we felt quite seperate. Kids had their own TV with remote control -note...you might want to set the parental controls as if you've got kids that can read they could pay for the entertainment package and charge it to your room bill without you noticng it!! - we had a fridge in our room where we stored our drinks, etc. lots of Tea/coffee in the room - really couldn't fault it!

Unfortunately, the swimming pool was not open as they were having filtration problems...they gave us a £20 off voucher which we used in the Bricks family restaurant.

Food - bricks restaurant was available in the evening and was the location for breakfast - overall - could not fault the food - a few niggles - e.g. Evening meal - Cost per adult £19.95 Ch £9.95 (approx) - at first glance this was quite expensive but this was unlimited buffet - lots to choose from and suitable for all tastes - there was a carvery, normal fried stuff, vegetarian options, salad bar, etc, etc. Kids had a section all to themselves - with plastic bowls & plates for the kids in case of accidents (result!) Desert was a bit of a dissapointment - but only because I'm fussy - there was a range from jelly to profiteroles to fruit salad....with ice cream factory aswell (like pizza hut). All fizzy drinks and tea/coffee was included in the price - my complaint was there was no non fizzy drinks included in the price and my kids don't drink fizz...so had to get them drinks from the bar!
buffet breakfast (again in Bricks) was included in the price of the room and was very good with loads of selections - from fruit, to continental (meat & cheese) to full english (chef also there to do fried eggs and omelettes) to pastries to cereal - a real good selection and the fruit juices, tea/coffee were all included. The tablecloths are made of paper and covered with lego figures and they give you crayons - kept us entertained during dinner whilst waiting for the kids to finish!

Entertainment - we weren't expecting any but outside the restaurant by the bar was a small play area and the youngest was thrilled with 'Pink Brick' and friends arriving and doing a little disco and when Ollie the dinosaur came along.....well you can imagine the applause - the show didn't go on too long - kids enjoyed it and the older kids were happy to carry on testing their lego builds in the attached testing area!

Another good point - you get to enter the park 30 mins before it opens to the general public so if there is somewhere you really want to go - you can get there before the queues!!

Porters - we arrived at 0945 on sunday morning and the park didn't open till 10 - we took our luggage into the porters - whilst hubby was parking the car in the car park opposite, they tagged it - gave us a key to use the lift - and off we went into the park and was on our first ride at 1015! when we got back to the hotel that evening (approx 1730) We checked in (see dislikes!) but when we got to our room our luggage was there waiting for us! Brill!

staff - all of the staff we met over the two days were helpful and went out of their way to help - even if they didn't do a very good job (e.g. the lad cleaning the floor after the apple juice spill - but he did try!!)

Express check-out - really good - the bill was put under the door and if we agreed with it (we did) you just sign the form and put it in the express check out box and off we went (haven't been billed yet though! LOL!)

we disliked - check -in - for a new hotel, only 3 staff were on check in and it took a long time!! it didn't help that the check-in desk is really long so no-one was sure whether to Q behind the person in front (like Tesco's) or just one Q (like at the bank) - this caused some confusion especially with the foreign guests.
- bar prices - approx £4.00 a pint of beer and a large glass of wine approx £5.00...........but you are really a captive audience!!

Overall - we had a nice time - kids really enjoyed it - you do need to see it to experience what it's like - the number of people I saw taking photos of the toilets - they were amazing -
A good hotel especially of you want to be on site and great for special occasions - will recommend it to family and friends - yes, it was expensive but as this was for the kids birthday in lieu of parties - we think it was worth it

Room Tip: premium adventure room was spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suziewoo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Went the 2nd weekend of opening, so everything was clean with no childrens paw prints yet. Really enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel and the way they have decorated the exterior, and main interior rooms rooms with lego themes. They clearly have put a lot of thought into the hotel, down to the table cloths in the dining room which you can colour in the pictures on. In the evening it was good with kids entertainment until late and the adults can sit outside in the sun.
We had the standard pirate room which was fun, and meant we didnt feel we lost out to the superior rooms. Proximity to park is excellent also, with you being next to the Atlantis ride.
Staff very friendly and helpful.

Negatives are that there are only 2 lifts which are slow, and clearly not enough for the hotel, which shows by the number of people using the stairs.
The food and drink is typical legoland pricing model - expensive, with evening buffet £20 per adult, and lunch also expensive. The food is very nice though. Recommned eating in the pizza buffet in the park.
Pool was shut which was very annoying.
Also the 'park opening 30mins before the public' is a bit misleading as they only gave the hotel guests access to the Atlantis ride with the rest of the park being closed until it was opened to the public. This was a bit disappointing.

All in all, a very enjoyable stay and would recommend it if you can afford it.

Room Tip: Go for 3rd floor superior rooms to avoid kids stomping on the floor above. Also make sure you go out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveLawrence2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

At the time of our stay the hotel had only been open 8 days so we did expect that there may be a few teething problems. Before we arrived we were told that the pirate temed kids splash pool was not open due to difficulties but we were given a voucher to spend in the hotel (which softened the blow for the kids).
In general the hotel is very well presented with lots of thoughful additions for the kids. The hotel reception area has a huge lego pit to keep the kids busy while the adults queue to check in. The check in queue is huge at 3pm so they will need a distraction. The staff were very helpful but we did have problems with our booking. As part of our reservation we were promised an upgrade to a room with a view of the park. The room we were given did not have a view and also did not have the seperate themed children's bed area.
The staff did try to sort this out quickly and after a bit of fuss we got as good a room as was available and the children were given gift packs to make up for the mistake. Apparently the reservations team had not transferred any of the details of this special deal to the reception staff so we were not the only family to be disappointed.
One thing which does seem strange in a hotel this big and which attracts families is how ridiculously small and slow the two lifts are. We spent an inordinate amount of time waiting for and travelling up and down the lifts when we could have been having fun.

The room itself was just as advertised with lots of lego touches and fantastic things for the kids to do. The room was very clean and well fitted. The other areas of the hotel are equally thoughtful and well fitted.
We ate our evening meal in the family 'bricks' restaurant which was okay but food choice was quite limited for the price (19.95 for adults). Howver the food was a good quality, service was excellent and there it was a limitless buffet which suited our kids. There were lots of meat, vegetarian mains and salad options but hardly any vegetables. The sky bar offers a bit more choice and better value for money.
Hotel guests get 30 minutes in the park before the main gates open at 10am, this is a great chance to get on the popular rides before they get too busy.

To sum up i would say it was definitely worth a visit and we enjoyed 95% of our time there. The staff are great and very attentive. The focus is definitely on children and families. Our two children had an amazing time and would love to go back.

Room Tip: If you have a special deal I would ring before you go to check that reception have all your details...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank loftyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We went to Legoland and stayed at the Resort Hotel for one night. The hotel is fantastic, the product has been really well thought out. The bedrooms and other areas are themed really well and we enjoyed our stay.
The staff were all very friendly and tried hard, but there were some teething problems which they had to deal with and it is not yet a sleek operation. We were given the wrong room, the room had been incorrectly allocated on their computer system. This should have been a simple problem, which should have been dealt with quickly, but it took over an hour to sort it out. We ordered room service, which was good, but we had to phone quite a few times before the phone was answered. We were told that the bar answers the room service phone and when the bar is busy, the phone cannot be answered. The product is excellent, the staff willing and friendly, but unfortunately the execution does not yet match the product. We enjoyed our stay and will be back!

Room Tip: Park view room was worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lizandhubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I'm not really sure who enjoyed this experience more, me or the kids. For them, having a pirate themed bedroom with pirate bunk beds and hidden treats was magical, but for me as a parent, visiting a hotel where kids are meant to be kids and to have fun was unbeatable. Everything in the hotel seems to be geared towards people enjoying themselves and the attention to detail is amazing. Everywhere you look, there is something to see or do or play with - from a treasure chest in the room to table cloths you colour on in the restaurant.

The bedrooms are well equipped and the bathroom was luxurious. The restaurant was very good, especially a fantastic breakfast with so much choice. My elder son loved helping himself from the kids' section of the buffet and the food was excellent. I was particularly impressed with the staff too. It seems so rare in Britain to get such a high level of service: everyone we dealt with was friendly and helpful and kind.

It was great to be located right on the edge of the park and being able to enter half an hour before it opened to the public made us feel like VIPs.

Thumbs up Legoland - we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
2 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,433 reviews
2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legoland Windsor Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legoland Windsor Resort Hotel

Address: Winkfield Road, Windsor SL4 4AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range: $118 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legoland Windsor Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the spectacular dragon-guarded entrance and interactive LEGO features, through to the brightly coloured pirate splash pool and fully themed bedrooms, The LEGOLAND Windsor Hotel is brimming with LEGO features; inspiring little imaginations and creating laugh-out loud memories for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Legoland Windsor Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing