We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food!!”
Review of Creme - CLOSED

Creme
Price range: $16 - $46
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Food!!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Having lived in Windsor for over 4 years it is good to have a reasonably priced ''Great Food'' restaurant, being a regular customer at Creme wether it being for breakfast, lunch or dinner I never have a fault.

Atmosphere is always great and the staff are polite and always happy to help you.

Even visit for interviews and to treat the staff for lunch!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morgan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard d, Owner at Creme, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we are trying to improve standards daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    82
    23
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What has happened to Creme???”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Creme has been a firm favourite but not sure what has happened recently. Took friends there for dinner having raved about it for a long time, but we were disappointed.

The fish and chips were poor, fish over cooked and dried out and the the chips covered in spice, two of us had this meal and left most of it.

Two others had the monk fish special with risotto. Risotto good, but again fish dried out and presented with a single prawn sat on top of each piece. This is a minor point, but pretty poor presentation.

Burger was very good and the risotto of the day perfect, so not all bad.

Odd thing on booking our table we asked for 8pm and were told that it would have to be 7.30 as there was a large party coming in. When we arrived the restaurant was full and there was no large group.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Medley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard d, Owner at Creme, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
my sincerest apologies for your unpleasant visit to Creme. We make every effort to deliver a consistently high quality experience when you visit but faulted on this occasion.
please contact me at the restaurant to discuss this matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatley
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Some Saving Graces!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Visited here last week with my wife. While eating our meal, the owner, who appeared to be working in the kitchen, became very angry with a member of the floor staff. I am not sure what the problem was but she become very upset and the owner was shouting at her in full view of the restaurant! This was one of the most unprofessional experiences I have seen in a long while! He clearly needs to learn how to manage a team and discover that shouting uncontrollably at staff is not a good display of leadership skills and will not enable staff to share his vision, thus moving his business forward.
However, when we enquired if the member of staff was ok the floor manager, who was trying very hard to cover the shock on his face, was polite and was able to put us at easy. He was very professional and was very able to control the staff who were very unnerved by this and the costumers who were equally shocked. It is obvious that the owner has a very competent floor manager who has a range of leadership skills which the owner do not posses!
If it wasn't for the saving grace of the professionalism shown by the Portuguese Manager we would not have had such a good experience. Well done!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard d, Owner at Creme, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
you are quite clearly a friend of a competitor taking a jibe at our restaurant. low blow!!!!
myself and all my staff have no idea what you are talking about. Please don't hesitate to call me at the restaurant so I can tell you what rubbish you are talking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, good service”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Absolutely spot on service and food. Been there on many occaisions and now only found the time to write a review. It fills up quick, so do make a booking on the more busy days fridays, saturdays, and lunch time too... Very friendly staff too..

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Her02013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard d, Owner at Creme, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
thank you for your feedback i have passed this on to my team, they are all very happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Relaxed and informal, very friendly and helpful staff. Interesting and varied menu, reasonably priced. Can get busy, so best to book.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PegasusQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard d, Owner at Creme, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
we are working very hard with staff changes to maintain a consistently great experience for our customers, this proves very tough at times so thank you for your amazing feedback. the team are delighted. look forward to another visit and please introduce yourself on next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creme also viewed

 
Old Windsor, Windsor
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing