We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Church Service with the Queen”

St. George's Chapel
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.96*
and up
Windsor Half Day Tour Including Entry to Windsor Castle from London
Ranked #2 of 62 things to do in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Church Service with the Queen”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We often go to the chapel when we are in Windsor on a Sunday and as we planned to be in Windsor over Easter we hoped that we would be able to go as The Queen would be in residence. We enquired on arrive on Saturday and we were told that we would have to queue up outside the Castle on Sunday morning at about 9.00 a.m. as it was mostly by invitation but that the public were allowed in after security checks etc. This we did and were so pleased as we managed to get a front row seat in the chapel and had a really good view of the Royal Family etc. The service was lovely especially as it is the first time I have every sung God Save The Queen when the Queen was actually present. It made my Easter.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank L0cket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,394
    311
    34
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a truely spectacular chapel steeped in history. We found it facinating with all the kings and queens buried there and all the history about the Order of the Garter.
We had visited the castle on Sunday so couldn't go into the chapel but because you can have an annual ticket once you've paid, we decided to pop back to see the chapel on the Monday before travelling home and we are so glad we did. This is not to be missed if you are interested in our history.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This alone would be worth the price of admission into the castle”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Easily the neatest part of the castle tour, such rich history and heraldry that was graciously explained by the staff. You can even attend service in this church, what a treat to be sitting in such a storied building.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rlee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Ask and you'll find out a lot”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Chapel Stewards were very committed to their job. I learned so much, such as the fact that the graffiti on the walls and marks on the columns are not recent, but the result of Cromwell's Roundheads who used the Chapel as stables.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Full of history and really interesting”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Within easy reach of hotel although parking in town centre was expensive!! Can highly recommmend watching changing of the guard at the castle.Only takes place on even days of the month ,weather permitting,well worth watching

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeeStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. George's Chapel also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to St. George's Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing