We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive”
Review of Windsor Castle

Windsor Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.41*
and up
Windsor Half Day Tour Including Entry to Windsor Castle from London
Ranked #1 of 62 things to do in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Windsor Castle is the oldest and largest occupied castle in the world and offers an extraordinarily rich and varied day out. Throughout its history, the Castle has been redecorated, enlarged and rebuilt. Today The Queen spends most of her private weekends at the Castle, which is also used regularly for ceremonial and State occasions. Your ticket to Windsor Castle includes entry to our exhibition Waterloo at Windsor.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“expensive”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

expensive , overcrowded, poor information, positively not worth the money.The only good thing about the place itself is the walk along the river.When you come out of the train station you are bombarded with tacky tourist stalls.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank phyllis404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,197
    1,972
    338
    83
    42
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magic,,,like in fairytale!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I want to go again and I will for sure this month,because only in August and September you can go inside of the tower and from the top you can see the Windsor Castle.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank armena65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really nice castle and beautiful chapel”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Chapel was really the nicest part of the windsor castle's tour for me!!! What a splendour!
But everything in the castle is nice and you can have free audio guide. I would recomend to arrive at the opening to get a chance to see the castle not crowded! Also check the windsor castle website before planing

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank maudie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent day out”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a great day out at Windsor castle, staying at the Travelodge Windsor, literally a 5 minute walk away.
The castle is amazing, such history and the free audio tour is great. I was absolutely blown away by the scale and beauty of the castle. Plus if you get your passes stamped on the way out, you get free entry for a whole year included in your admission price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank grooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malabo, Equatorial Guinea
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Old World England”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I visited Windsor a week ago as part of a day tour from London. It was worth every penny! My only regret was the short space of time we had to spend there. Will definitely be visiting on my own sometime in the future.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WayneTrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windsor Castle also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Windsor Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing