We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Spring Afternoon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windsor Castle

Windsor Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.60*
and up
Windsor Half Day Tour Including Entry to Windsor Castle from London
Ranked #1 of 60 things to do in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Windsor Castle is the oldest and largest occupied castle in the world and offers an extraordinarily rich and varied day out. Throughout its history, the Castle has been redecorated, enlarged and rebuilt. Today The Queen spends most of her private weekends at the Castle, which is also used regularly for ceremonial and State occasions. Your ticket to Windsor Castle includes entry to our exhibition Waterloo at Windsor.
Ft Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spring Afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

In London for business I had a free day and went with a colleague to Windsor Castle for the afternoon. Very impressive place and well worth price of admission. The audio tour made the difference. I wish they would have allowed photos inside the apartments and chapel, but I'd recommend this a great day trip. Public transport was a breeze from LHR and Slough station.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diverdown2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,942
    1,896
    317
    79
    39
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“good tour guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Did the tour with the guide who was very interesting. We we only in there for 2 hours so a bit expensive.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sleepysheep27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is my favourite tourist attraction in the UK. We only live locally but it's just such a lovely thing to do on a quiet day. When it's busy it can be a bit of a nightmare however.

You really get a feel for the 'house where the Queen lives' as it were. It's a real 'living, breathing' castle and a home, as opposed to other places (other National Trust houses perhaps) which definitely feel like things to just 'look at'.
Lots of fun and also as a Brit I felt a lot of National Pride while walking around the castle.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ImiKof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Visited Windsor for the first time and felt we had to visit the castle. So pleased we did. Take the audio tour, especially as its free, this makes it so much more interesting. Allow 3 hours plus to take it all in. I went with teenagers and even they enjoyed it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Amazing xperience for the whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

WOW!! this was the most amazing day for the 4 of us. Headed by train from the city to this beautiful town and most amazing castle. Abundant with history spilling out from its high walls and amazing collections of art, guns, swords, crockery and serious wealth. Audi commentary is a must but i think the kids version is also excellent with tid bits about the castle that we adults dont get the hear about - very comical, interesting and keeps the kids really interested. Our kids aged 6 and 8 could not get enough of this wonderful place. We saw the guard changing here at approx 10.30 or so and got a great view compared to the view at Buckingham. If only the walls could talk. Please, please see this attraction if you can - well worth the time and effort and once in a life time experience. Fantastic and the highlight of my trip to London. Plenty of nice restaurants right nearby, lovely river and nicely kept town

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank varney4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windsor Castle also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Windsor Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing