We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How do families afford this?”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Windsor Castle

Windsor Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.70*
and up
Windsor Half Day Tour Including Entry to Windsor Castle from London
Ranked #1 of 61 things to do in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Windsor Castle is the oldest and largest occupied castle in the world and offers an extraordinarily rich and varied day out. Throughout its history, the Castle has been redecorated, enlarged and rebuilt. Today The Queen spends most of her private weekends at the Castle, which is also used regularly for ceremonial and State occasions. Your ticket to Windsor Castle includes entry to our exhibition Waterloo at Windsor.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“How do families afford this?”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

It is thirty years since I visited Windsor Castle, and intended a quick half-hour walk round the precincts before Lunch. I was very surprised that you now have to pay nearly twenty pounds to go in. Amazing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,068
    1,925
    326
    80
    38
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The castle is beautiful, and particularly interesting as it is still in use by the Queen. The portion of the state rooms open to the public are well worth a visit, especially the room used by the queen for state visits, which is decorated in elaborate gold. The dollhouse is also very worthwhile. Recommend a good 2-3 hours.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank voyageouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A piece of British history!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Had visited this castle in Jan 2012.. it was really touching to see the glimpse of the 'British Raj'. As an Indian I could relate to many things that were displayed in the castle.. It was a bit overpriced though.. The audio tour really helped.. Overall had a nice time at Windor!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shash2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Susssex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were pleased to visit at this time of year as it wasn't really busy. it gave us plenty of time to really take everything in. We definitely want to return at the end of the year and would probably have more questions for the very helpful, knowledgeable staff. We loved our time here

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Oh to be the Queen!!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Amazing, amazing, amazing. Get here early, so it's not so busy. Do the kitchen tour it's worth the extra, great to see inside the heart of the building. The State rooms have Ben beautifully restored from the fire, and though it is expensive, your ticket does entitle you to cond back as many times as you like for a yr, and restoration on this scale isn't cheap, so I thought it was definitely worth it. If you have children, the dolls house will have them in enthralled. Spent about 4 hrs in total seeing everything, so take your time & soak it in.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windsor Castle also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Windsor Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing