We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of British history!”
Review of Windsor Castle

Windsor Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.57*
and up
Windsor Half Day Tour Including Entry to Windsor Castle from London
Ranked #1 of 62 things to do in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Windsor Castle is the oldest and largest occupied castle in the world and offers an extraordinarily rich and varied day out. Throughout its history, the Castle has been redecorated, enlarged and rebuilt. Today The Queen spends most of her private weekends at the Castle, which is also used regularly for ceremonial and State occasions. Your ticket to Windsor Castle includes entry to our exhibition Waterloo at Windsor.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A piece of British history!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Had visited this castle in Jan 2012.. it was really touching to see the glimpse of the 'British Raj'. As an Indian I could relate to many things that were displayed in the castle.. It was a bit overpriced though.. The audio tour really helped.. Overall had a nice time at Windor!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shash2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,188
    1,968
    337
    83
    42
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Susssex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were pleased to visit at this time of year as it wasn't really busy. it gave us plenty of time to really take everything in. We definitely want to return at the end of the year and would probably have more questions for the very helpful, knowledgeable staff. We loved our time here

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Oh to be the Queen!!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Amazing, amazing, amazing. Get here early, so it's not so busy. Do the kitchen tour it's worth the extra, great to see inside the heart of the building. The State rooms have Ben beautifully restored from the fire, and though it is expensive, your ticket does entitle you to cond back as many times as you like for a yr, and restoration on this scale isn't cheap, so I thought it was definitely worth it. If you have children, the dolls house will have them in enthralled. Spent about 4 hrs in total seeing everything, so take your time & soak it in.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
150 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Imposing”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My partners brother was visiting from overseas and expressed a desire to visit the Castle - turned out to be a great idea!!

Audio guides were available in several languages and provided a very interesting ans instructive commentary with very clear directions as we toured inside and outside the castle.

The Wardens (not Beefeaters who are only at the Tower of London as I was gently corrected) were polite and helpful when asked for information.

We were lucky that it was such a fine day which made the visit so much more enjoyable. The Guardsmen in full uniforms changing the guard at various times were great photo opportunities as they marched their way around the Castle and took up residence at various sentry points around the Castle (more photo opportunities

As you would expect from such an old building (and now the Queen's main residence) it was breathtaking in it's magnificance and history and a quick walk around Windsor itself was the icing on the cake (for example if you look at the town hall just outside the entrance to the castle you will notice that it's designer and builder (Sir Christopher Wren who also designed and built St Paul's Cathedral in central London) has added pillars at the demand of the town burgers who commissioned the building as they didn't believe the free standing roof at the front of the building wouldn't crash to the ground under it's own weight. Sir Christopher (knowing a thing or two about designing buildings) knew this to be wrong however he who pays the piper calls the tune and the pillars were duly erected but, to prove his point, he left a two inch gap between the top of the pillars and the roof which you can see if you stand in front of the building!!

In conclusion - worth the trip

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxLondon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Absolutely Majestic”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you are visiting London I would strongly advice on taking a 1 hour train from Waterloo to Windsor. The Castle is breath-taking. I never imagined that it would be that big or beautiful. I bought a ticket which included a kitchen tour. This is about £5 more but totally worth it. The guide along the way to the kitchen gives a brief overview of the grand entrance as well as the area's destroyed by the 1992 fire. The Doll House is beautiful and I'm sure it will be the envy of every girl and woman. You get to walk through different rooms and with the audio guide hear about each room and the bits of history they contain either in the art or furniture.

The town itself is picturesque and I suggest making a day out of your visit. There is an amazing Chocolate shop that sells delicious hot chocolate and goodies and will make a great afternoon 'tea' stop.

My visit to Windsor and the Castle is one of my highlights to my London trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sofiah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windsor Castle also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Windsor Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing