We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Touch of Royalty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Windsor Castle

Windsor Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.24*
and up
Windsor Half Day Tour Including Entry to Windsor Castle from London
Ranked #1 of 62 things to do in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Windsor Castle is the oldest and largest occupied castle in the world and offers an extraordinarily rich and varied day out. Throughout its history, the Castle has been redecorated, enlarged and rebuilt. Today The Queen spends most of her private weekends at the Castle, which is also used regularly for ceremonial and State occasions. Your ticket to Windsor Castle includes entry to our exhibition Waterloo at Windsor.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Touch of Royalty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I really enjoyed Windsor Castle. It had some great exhibits and was and enjoyable place to just walk around in. We took a tour up to the top of one of the towers and got some brilliant panoramas of the castle and the surrounding town. It was great to see where many royals and prime ministers went to school and also to see where the royals sleep. I particularly enjoyed the Queen's portrait exhibition. It was fantastic!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank bec b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,100
    1,935
    330
    81
    38
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“State apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went here in January 2013. There was not much of a line (although we had pre-booked tickets). We made the mistake of not heading there until 3pm and felt that we had to rush to see everything. The audio guide was informative and the state apartments were amazing (I would not pay to go if they were not open). The guides/attendants in each room were welcoming. I was glad I spoke to the lady in the banqueting hall - she was very well informed. The Christmas decorations and displays were lovely to see. I thought it was a great few hours but would go earlier in the day!

Helpful?
Thank MrsHTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent day out for family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were very impressed with the set up here. Our family with 6 & 8yr olds were enthralled for a full afternoon. Family ticket available with free audio guide (a must) and free return visit within 12 months (when ticket validated). The venue has a kids guide'' to involve younger visitors.
Visit was in Winter (Christmas time). The grounds were in excellent condition and all the staff very friendly and knowledgable.
St Georges chapel is steeped in history and the excellent audio guide augments the experience.
The apartments could be visited again and again and are worthy of a visit by themselves.
Tempting to stay there for a full day but recommend to be mindful of the kids attention span.
A must see attraction.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank The_4_Bears2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welwyn
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous Windsor castle!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This has to be one of the best places to visit in the UK.

We took the guided tour of the grounds first, which was very interesting, the guide was friendly, very well informed and happy to answer all the questions put to her.

The doll's house is amazing and really beautiful, also the French doll's and their wardrobe.

The rooms you view in the castle are beautiful and the guides again are very helpful and happy to chat, like Buckingham palace you are aware that this is living history, it is home to the monarch and a working castle and in constant use for state occasions.

I will defiantly return as we have the year pass (purchase on the official Windsor site), the kitchen's are due to be opened in the spring, so will be well worth a return visit.

We visited mid- December, it was easy to get around and no queues.

Do allow at least three hours, we took four hours, but needed longer, as we did not allow enough time for St Georges Chapel.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank yazmin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Royal Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

It takes some time to get around Windsor Castle, especially the Royal Doll's House! Its exquisite. Try to see the Changing of the Guard.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LiniDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windsor Castle also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Windsor Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing