We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place! Bit Expensive!”

Legoland Windsor Resort
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.12*
and up
LEGOLAND® Windsor Resort Admission Ticket with Meal Deal
Ranked #7 of 62 things to do in Windsor
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: LEGOLAND Windsor Resort is a theme park dedicated to children aged 3-12 years old. Play your part in a world of LEGO adventure. Plus for the ultimate LEGOLAND experience stay over at the new LEGOLAND Windsor Resort Hotel right in the middle of the park! With over 55 interactive rides, live shows, building workshops, driving schools and attractions, all set in 150 acres of beautiful parkland, the LEGOLAND Windsor Resort is a unique theme park for the whole family to enjoy.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place! Bit Expensive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We visited Legoland for a 14th Birthday with 8 people and thoroughly enjoyed it. But we were different to others and I don't want to be disliked for it but we got in Free because we had 2 autistic guests which meant 2 adults got in Free and then the rest of the group got in on Tesco Clubcard vouchers. This also allowed us to use Queue Assist Passes which are well thought-out. We managed to get on nearly every ride use a combination of the passes or just queuing like everyone else (Being autistic doesn't mean they CAN'T Queue). The only downsides to the park was the drinks were expensive (luckily we brought a picnic) and the wasps which seemed to be everywhere even where their was traps. I hope Legoland staff manage to sort it out because I know other guests were getting annoyed. We were also pleased with the response of staff of a minor problem of ours which was when we put money into a locker it wouldn't lock, speaking to a member of staff they called a Engineer who refunded the £1 seen as we had put our belongings in another locker.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ICTWhizz1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,701
    4,036
    2,738
    1,719
    1,741
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good day out but could be so much more.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Much was hoped for Legoland. Our son has been a Lego fan since a toddler and now at the age of 12 had the chance to take him. With 241 vouchers it was worth it in terms of the entrance fee. We got there early as recommended on here. Great advice! The site is easy to walk around and nothing is too far away. We spent the full day from open to close and didn't feel bored! Highlights; Duplo Splash Zone, the Dragon land and the sea life zone (the queue was 90 minutes but the visitor shop had really interesting displays and knowledgeable staff). Lows; The queues (it was school hols so no surprise), lack of places to sit and the number of rides.
The site is somewhere between an amusement park and an adventure land and falls short on both counts. Some good parts and some less so. Don't leave without seeing miniland. Fantastic but really undervalued as an attraction. Go but be prepared!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Treat for the kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We got our tickets by using Tesco Clubcard so it was far cheaper than paying full price. I last visited 10 years ago and a lot has changed. There were 4 adults and 2 kids in our group. Yes we had to queue for everything but we knew this was the case so were prepared to spend all day at the park. The kids loved all the rides and didn't moan too much at the time we had to queue, the longest was 50 minutes for the log flume otherwise it's around 30 minutes. I didn't buy qbot system to jump the queue it was far too expensive I'm sure there is a better system that can be used ( time slots ). We ate at the burger bar and for 6 meals it came to a hefty £43 so be prepared to spend or bring a picnic. The rides are the main attraction now years ago it was the Lego but the park has lost its way and is now just another theme park with a bit of Lego on the side. The highlight for us was the stunt show in the centre which we watched twice. The park did go quieter at 5:30 and we grabbed the last couple of rides then and did the Star Wars exhibition which was good. So in conclusion there are far better theme parks you can go to with better rides but it still holds a certain charm.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Don't buy the priority parking online!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Visited the park 19th August, After a 4 hour drive including an hour stuck in traffic from the M4 to the park, was looking forward to parking near the park as I had pre-purchased the priority parking - only problem was the priority parking area was full! Spoke to a park worker who radioed someone who said basically tough luck, ask Guest Services for a refund of the difference! Ended up parking much further away in a field! Spoke to another lady at the massive queue to buy tickets who said "it does say in the terms and conditions that once the priority area was full you had to park in the standard area, you won't get a refund but you can ask, I showed her the priority car park ticket and it didn't mention this fact and no mention of this online either. Did get a £3 refund at Guest Services and one priority pass for a ride of my choice but not the best start to our first Legoland experience! Unless you get there really early then dont bother buying the priority parking! Queued over an hour for the Oriental Expedition train ride, if the staff did a bit less chatting to each other and concentrated on their job, perhaps it could have been a lot less!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
43 Thank DEvs1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Grim”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

What I learned about Legoland: They charge you £45 per person to get in, pack the place to the rafters and then have the cheek to offer you the opportunity to pay up to £70 per person to buy the right to jump the queues that they've created. I'd like to spend a consequence-free hour in a darkened room with whoever came up with that idea.

We visited on an average weekday, not a holiday weekend, and I struggle to imagine how they could have squeezed more people in. Every "ride" in the place had queues in excess of an hour and some up to two hours. And at the end of the queue you ended up on a lacklustre rollercoaster or something that went round in circles; the sort of thing Alton Towers would be embarassed to foister upon kids who didn't make the height limit for their real rides. Or on a glass-bottomed boat dressed up as a submarine watching anemic looking fish lurch around a murky tank.

Queues for the toilets were, in some areas, under half an hour. Because of this we went to the toilet a lot, pretending to the kids that it was a novel sort of water attraction with a fun blowy thing at the end (where there was a hand-dryer present).

Food was eye-wateringly expensive, we were relieved to have taken our own picnic, even though there wasn't a picnic bench to be seen. If the crowd-levels had one advantage it's that there weren't enough wasps to go round such that every picnic had one. The lego model village was faded, filthy and broken, it looked as though the gardeners had picked up broken lego models to strim under them and then just plonked them down again.

The good people of Legoland didn't miss an opportunity to at least try to relieve us of more cash, whether it was for refillable drinks bottles, carnival-style unwinnable coconut shies, payment protection insurance, extended warranties, overpriced toys or luxuries like water. And then, fittingly, on our exit someone tried to sell us a parking ticket we didn't need, after which we waited in a queue to get out of the car park.

I expected it to be intolerable and it went way beyond my expectations. Give this place a wide berth and maybe, if enough of us stay away, they'll learn that £200 a family should buy a better experience than standing in queues, crawling over each other like ants and being nickled-and-dimed to within inches of our bank balance.

For the love of god, avoid this hole. The UK has many wonderful theme parks and this really really isn't one of them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
42 Thank angryjonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legoland Windsor Resort also viewed

 

Been to Legoland Windsor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing