We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally geared to make sure you have a good time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Windsor Racecourse

Royal Windsor Racecourse
Book In Advance
More Info
$10.81*
and up
Scenic Thames Riverboat Return Journey from Windsor
Ranked #10 of 60 things to do in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Totally geared to make sure you have a good time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Windsor races are and have always been relaxed and fun. They have loads ofthemed events throughout the year. Most meetings are on a Monday night and the most fun way to get there is by water taxi from Windsor Riverside. Just check out the racecourse web page and book ahead as you get a better deal on the taxi plus entrance tickets. Drinks are at normal prices so no need to take anything with you UNLESS you decide to drive and take a picnic. A most enjoyable evening. Never disappoints.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fernlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    113
    28
    11
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Evening Races at Windsor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My first visit was Monday night 15th July. This racecourse is fantastic the best I have been to. So clean, well looked after and all the staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Completely different experience to our local racecourse at Newbury where the staff do not acknowledge even and are rude. Well Donne to your staff. It was very hot evening and as it was quite packed it was hard to find somewhere to sit in the shade as that was why everyone was after too. My only criticism we were in the Club enclosure and at some points you had to queue for the ladies. Need more toilets. I would highly recommend this racecourse and just wish it was a bit closer to home, but we will be back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth G, Public Relations Manager at Royal Windsor Racecourse, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
HI Kathy,

Thanks for your review - thrilled you had a great time and thanks for your feedback on the facilities, we'll look in to that.

Hope to see you here again soon.

Royal Windsor Racecourse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“windsor evening races”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Lovely evening - good value. Very busy as it was a lovely evening but this added to atmosphere - still no waiting to bet or food etc., wonderful band after everyone having a very good time. Walked outside taxi waiting straight to hotel totally hassle free.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth G, Public Relations Manager at Royal Windsor Racecourse, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hi Lisa,

Thanks for the review - it's always great to hear back from racegoers and very pleased to see that the team are doing a great job. We hope you'll come and join us for another evening soon.

Best regards,

Royal Windsor Racecourse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

From arriving to leaving everything went smoothly. All staff we encountered were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The bars and eateries were well staffed so no queues, likewise plenty of bookies and even the cloakroom was quick. The grounds were very well kept I didn't see one untidy area or over flowing bin and there was plenty of seating. I'd recommend getting a water taxi it was a fun way to travel instead of the usual trek from a car park, and they had a bar onboard! That was £6 return. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fulltimeholidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth G, Public Relations Manager at Royal Windsor Racecourse, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks for your feedback - thrilled to see you had a great time at the racecourse and hopefully we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Day In The Sunshine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had a great day, But like most occasions the weather can make or break it, we was fortunate to have blue skys and sunshine for Gentlemens Day but the good weather brings the crowds.
All the Bars were under tremendous pressure (but to be fair to the venue you can never know for sure if the sunshines you will always get a better turn out) What i find is that £20 for a jug of Pimms(from the Pimms tent) should be more of an occasion than a little bit if mushed fruit and having to request the young lady serving to put some mint in the Jug ( a bit like a drive through Mcdonalds) We had a table in the Blues & Royals restaurant incidentally the Pimms was even worse from here no fruit at all no mint & bits of lemon floating around to give a lovely bitter taste !!!! I do feel so sorry for the young lady who has to manage the serving staff always procured from an Agency (not a good one i think) to me none of the staff on the day had any waitor/waitress training and boy did it show. The young man who took our order well and truely cocked it up and we was kind of made to feel it was us who was in the wrong BUT the young girl in charge was extremly proactive in resolving the issue, i kind of think she must get used to the problems with the way they obtain the staff it might be worth a bit of investment to get a couple of full time staff to carry the Agency staff thus raising the standard of the overall experience, as the food isnt cheap but you get a great table in a prime loacation for the day to eat a drink away from the hussle & bussle... If i had to score on just our restaurant experience it would be poor/average but i realy think that can change depending on who the agency sends.. Just an idea from a business man why dont you feel around the area for a good crew of part time men/woman who can share the shifts do a great job with passion that is so obviously missing and make the whole day a great experience for the paying customer !!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank simonkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth G, Public Relations Manager at Royal Windsor Racecourse, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your review - we're very pleased to hear that overall you had an enjoyable day at the races, Royal Windsor was made for days in the sunshine! However we were very disappointed to hear about the waitresses/waiter weren't up to scratch but we will certainly consider your feedback and seek to address the situation so that yourself on your return and future customers won't have the same experience in this area.

Best regards,

Royal Windsor Racecourse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Windsor Racecourse also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Royal Windsor Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing