We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Experience!!! READ THIS!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We have just left this hotel and I am very disappointed with our stay!! We booked online back in April for a party of 5 which included my 5 year old son. We had visited Lego Land and were looking forward to a nice comfy stay after a long, tiring and extremely hot day in the park!! When we arrived at the hotel we were very impressed with the location, very close to Windsor Castle. The hotel looked lovely, from the front. We checked in at reception, then we were told that we were staying in separate blocks. My parents were put to stay in the main part of the hotel and we were told we were in another block. To which the receptionist referred to as "The Posh Rooms"!! He was clearly having some kind of private joke. When we got to the block we were in, there was no lift. Not that there's a problem with our legs but for £149 I would expect a lift. Our room was awful. Small and pokey, it had dated, damaged furniture. The paint was chipped. A view of a brick wall. Our shower took ages to get hot and was extremely noisy. As was next doors shower which kindly woke us up at 6am!! Our bed was hard and the pillows hardly had any filling. My son had to sleep on a sofa bed which was UNBELIEVABLY uncomfortable. You could feel every spring. It must have been like sleeping on a cattle grid!! The scatter cushions were grubby, and a loose, glass top on the television unit was dangerous!! Luckily my parents had a lovely room in the front of the hotel. I asked at reception if we could be moved from the slums into the nicer part of the hotel and unfortunately this was not possible! In fact there wasn't anything that they could do for us. They blamed 'Booking.com' . I noticed that anybody with children were put to stay in our block. Appeared that no children were staying in the "nicer" part of the hotel! Breakfast was lovely, staff were polite and car parking was free! But be warned.... This hotel isn't all it appears to be online. All you are paying for here is the location. I have stayed in far nicer travel lodges and if I could have taken my things and left at no cost, a travel lodge is where I would have headed!! It would have been luxury compared to our room! I have learnt a lesson though.... Always ring and confirm you are staying where you think you will be staying. Not some separate building that they are to ashamed to show photos of on
their website!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jayne_Shelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Jayne_Shelley,

Thank you for your recent feedback, please accept my apologies for the frustrations you encountered during your stay with us. Having done some investigation with the team I would like to try and respond to some of the points you raise.

On the 24th April we did try to contact you after the booking was made to inform you that the Privilege room you had booked was not able to accommodate a rollaway bed and would you ok with it being put in to the classic double room you had booked. As the contact number we received was unable to connect we contacted booking.com directly to inform them of this and they confirmed back to use that they sent you an email on 24th April at 13.48. The hotel has different types of room categories with predominantly our upgraded room types; Privilege, Executive and Suites located in the main building. Our classic rooms are located in a extension wing to the hotel which is interconnected to the main building. We do have pictures of all room types clearly displayed on the website and after checking on booking.com I can see the picture of the room under our classic heading is a picture with identical decor and furnishing to the room that you stayed in.

Please accept my apologies if you felt that there is decoration required to the room I have requested my maintenance manager to visit the room and carry out any necessary works required. Please accept my apologies and that of the team that on the night in question we were unable to move you to the main building of the hotel as we were fully booked and had sold all of our upgraded rooms to people paying the rate for these rooms. I will also personally ensure that the rollaway bed and pillows are replaced in this room if they need to be done.

I can assure you that we are a child friendly hotel and indeed have many families that stay with us who have a great experience with many on-line reviews and feedback to testify to this. The majority of the hotel bedrooms are located in the extension which is why you may have witnessed more families in this location.

I was pleased to note that your parents found their room to be great and that you found the breakfast to be lovely with polite staff.

Once again thank you for your feedback it is never out intention to disappoint any of our guests and please be assured I value your feedback and will ensure we carry out any corrective points we need to address.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,046 - 1,052 of 1,769 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Every year in July my wife and I spend 3 days in Windsor visiting friends. Normally we stay in old Windsor, a couple of miles outside the town centre. This year we decided to stay more central and after reviewing the trip adviser reports , picked the Mercure Windsor.We arrived early around noon and were shown to parking by a friendly gentleman .The reception is situated on the side of the building and to be honest a little bland but this is soon a distant memory. The lady who greeted us was very professional and friendly and informed us we could check in and that we had been upgraded to a privilege room, a nice surprise! We have been fortunate to stay in some nice hotels but must say none of the staff have been more professional or friendly. The room 304 on the 3rd floor was both spacious and clean with modern furnishings and a nice view of the castle. The bathroom was not the biggest but modern and clean and being in the old part of the hotel comes with a few quirks i.e. sloping doors, cracked ceilings but nothing that should bother you. The room also had a good size flat screen TV and both slippers and bath robes were supplied .We did not pay for breakfast because we decided we would eat in Windsor but the buffet breakfast looked well-presented and plentiful and probably worth the £10 per person if pre booked .We only drank in the hotel bar once due to the abundance of bars and restaurants in Windsor but must say it is a very pleasant area to spend some time over a few drinks with friendly staff .One of my biggest moans is and I repeat it in all my reports is why hotels don’t charge a more reasonable price for drinks. They must lose so much custom to nearby pubs when if they were more reasonable, would fill their half empty lounges (rant over).The hotel`s position is fantastic, a few steps to everything you could want.
To sum up I think this hotel truly deserves the complementary reviews and think you should pick this hotel when planning any stay in Windsor, both the management and staff seem to go that extra mile to make your stay special.

Room Tip: Pick old part of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopefarm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear storton,

Thank you for posting a review following you recent stay with us. Thank you for your positive comments and feedback about the team which I will be delighted to share with them. I know they will appreciate this feedback as trying to ensure all of guests get a fantastic experience is our key aim. I hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

With effect from the week commencing the 10th June the hotel is introducing car park charges for residents. The charge applicable to all guests bringing a car with them is £10 per day which is still the best value parking available in Windsor.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Arrived 11th July for a two night stay. The hotel is in a fantastic location and our room was clean, well appointed and comfortable enough. However, our stay was let down by a lack of attention to detail. Firstly, the sliding wardrobe doors had come off their runners. While this was relatively easy to fix myself, I would have thought that this would have been noticed when the room was cleaned after the previous guests had left and reported to maintenance. Secondly, the complimentary tea and coffee had not been refilled after our first night. The staff at the front desk readily provided more items, but again a lack of attention to detail. On the whole, the members of staff were very friendly and helpful, but one of the bar staff did appear to have had a long day and was not as sociable as the others. One major problems was that the draught offerings in the bar were not particularly well kept and despite what other reviewers have said, the prices were over the top. By booking through a third party, the price we paid for our stay was cheaper than it would have been had we booked direct. That said, I have stayed in far better hotels in major tourist areas in the country for far less, but I guess Windsor is a very expensive town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear redswan,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with ourselves. Thank you for your comments and please be assured I will take these on board, discuss them with the team and put in place the necessary corrective training and processes. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

With effect from the week commencing the 10th June the hotel is introducing car park charges for residents. The charge applicable to all guests bringing a car with them is £10 per day which is still the best value parking available in Windsor.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at this Hotel, it is just across the road from Windsor Castle so you literally park the car and it doesn't have to move. Our room was a twin room but very nice, the receptionist was very friendly and helpful as were all the Staff especially the Lady who organised breakfast in a morning. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, you helped your self to whatever you wanted. The only little quibble that we had was that we were charged £20.00 for parking which considering London I suppose is a good price but we were not informed of this charge when booking. Also my Partner is disabled and i should have mentioned this when booking as where we were (across the road from reception) there were no lifts, so realy not their fault.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helensmith135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear helensmith135,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the hotel. Thank you for your comments and feedback which we do review and will take the necessary action on. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

With effect from the week commencing the 10th June the hotel is introducing car park charges for residents. The charge applicable to all guests bringing a car with them is £10 per day which is still the best value parking available in Windsor.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I booked the night of 12th July as a treat for my husband and we were fortunate enough to get one of the Mercure special stay rates.We had a wonderful time, the hotel and our room was great, the staff were fantastic, from the parking manager, to reception (Matthew was very helpful and gave us a lovely room) to the restaurant staff. All were pleasant, polite, friendly and cheerful. We had an excellent meal in the restaurant. I couldn't fault the hotel at all. Thanks to one and all for a great time. We hope to book for New Year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KB0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear KB0809,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I will be delighted to share all of your positive feedback with the team and hope we can welcome you back to the hotel for New Year. Please contact us so we can forward you our brochure for New Year.

With effect from the week commencing the 10th June the hotel is introducing car park charges for residents. The charge applicable to all guests bringing a car with them is £10 per day which is still the best value parking available in Windsor.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My Wife Booked a return Two Night Break, arriving On Tuesday, July 2nd two coincide with Centre court tickets to see Andy Murray play at Wimbledon on Wednesday the 3rd. Due to a mistake on our part, we failed to read the e-mail received from the hotel, which confirmed the dates my Wife had selected. On arriving the receptionist advised of our booking, which was for the following day. The duty Manager Mr Garad Routledge was called. He informed us that the Hotel was booked fully that Night, but would see what could be done. He ask us to come back later, we spent quite an agonizing time. On returning to the Hotel We were welcomed back, with a smile, a Room had been found for us. This was a second visit to the Mercure in Windsor. So glad we did, so grateful to the the above Duty Manager.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Privilege Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevilj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear bevilj,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Thank you for your positive comments about Garad which I will be delighted to share with him. I hope we can welcome you back to the Castle hotel in the near future.

With effect from the week commencing the 10th June the hotel is introducing car park charges for residents. The charge applicable to all guests bringing a car with them is £10 per day which is still the best value parking available in Windsor.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just back from a short stay at this hotel and very happy all round. We had an Amazon Local deal which included room, breakfast and two course evening meal. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel, despite being on the High Street, right in the centre of town had a free car park and an attendant on duty.
The reception staff were friendly, polite and very helpful and we were able to check in earlier than the stated time. Our room was lovely with a little balcony that afforded a small peek, over the roof tops, of the Round Tower of Windsor Castle. The bed was comfy and the room and bathroom very clean and spacious.
The evening meal was fabulous and the restaurant staff were great. The breakfast was also excellent, really good choice of hot and cold dishes and very well organised and friendly staff. In fact, every member of staff we encountered during our stay was equally solicitous and friendly, without being overbearing or too familiar, so deserve huge credit for creating a lovely relaxing experience for us.
The later check out time of 12pm was much appreciated too as it gave us time for a little shopping before we left. Based on our stay I'd be more than happy to recommend The Windsor Castle Hotel to anyone, I'm sure we'll be paying another visit before too long!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear UkEmjay,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with ourselves. Thank you for your positive comments which I will delighted to share with the team who I know will be encouraged by this. I hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

With effect from the week commencing the 10th June the hotel is introducing car park charges for residents. The charge applicable to all guests bringing a car with them is £10 per day which is still the best value parking available in Windsor.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection

Address: 18 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: $150 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection is a 108 room, 4 star hotel located in Windsor, close to the main gates of Windsor Castle and grounds which is only a few minute's walk. Your hotel booking can include traditional or contemporary rooms, all with internet access and minibar. The Eighteen Restaurant has an award-winning a la carte menu, and Bar18 is perfect for coffee or cocktails. There are 12 fully-equipped event spaces for weddings or presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Castle Windsor Hotel Windsor
Accor Castle Windsor
Mercure Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing