We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location & staff, not brilliant for wheelchairs/poor mobility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fab location & staff, not brilliant for wheelchairs/poor mobility”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very good staff, great location, parking good, fab breakfast. Our room was a little tired and the air conditioning and TV were not great.

Main issue was than my Mother struggles with stairs and we were on the first floor of the annex which is only assessable by stairs. The main hotel does have a wheelchair friendly loo, but I had to ask for the revolving main doors to be fully opened so we could get out.

The Bar Manager was a hoot, great product knowledge.

Would prefer twin beds to be a little further apart.

Room Tip: The annex is quiet and has a link bridge to the main hotel, but it has no lift and the room we had 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear julie h,

Thank you for your recent review and positive comments about the team and our location. I will investigate further if there is anything else we can do in becoming more accessible as many of the areas of the hotel are listed and as such cannnot be changed. I hope we can still welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

With effect from the week commencing the 10th June the hotel is introducing car park charges for residents. The charge applicable to all guests bringing a car with them is £10 per day which is still the best value parking available in Windsor.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    534
    228
    88
    46
See reviews for
293
800
52
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Whilst the building is old, what do you expect, its Windsor, the place was clean and tidy. The staff were incredibly attentive, and could not do enough to help.
I've stayed in places where the sewrvice is good, but this was just a notch above that

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rikiberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear rikiberg,

Thank you for your positive review and kind words about the team and service at the hotel. I am pleased we were able to deliver the experience we aim to offer every guest. I hope we can welcome you back to the Castle hotel in the near future.

With effect from the week commencing the 10th June the hotel is introducing car park charges for residents. The charge applicable to all guests bringing a car with them is £10 per day which is still the best value parking available in Windsor.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had a reservation at the Harte and Garter but they were over sold for Royal Ascot. They made arrangements for me to stay here. What an unexpected treat it was. I was put in the Annex. The room was very nice with a balcony. I could see the Royal Standard flying over the Castle. The staff were very helpful, cordial....just what you want. This may just out place the MacDonald as my "go to" hotel in Windsor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAtrkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear CAtrkr,

Thank you for your recent review and positive comments. I hope we can become your go to hotel in Windsor in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With effect from the week commencing the 10th June the hotel is introducing car park charges for residents. The charge applicable to all guests bringing a car with them is £10 per day which is still the best value parking available in Windsor.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you are planning a trip to Windsor this hotel is perfectly located. We stayed just one night but were able to park up and forget about driving until we needed to go home. All the attractions and restaurants, shops, etc. are within very easy walking distance. There is on-site parking, which not all central hotels have. The bed in our room was very comfy so we had a good night's sleep. I've given an "average" for service and cleanliness as we were woken up very late in the evening by someone to ask about details which had been given on check in and, whilst the room was comfy (and included an iron and ironing board), the carpet was in need of replacement, the wardrobe door was off the rail until we fixed it, the tap in the bathroom had been polished down to base metal etc. It served a purpose and I'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue2000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Sue2000000,

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us. Thank you for your positive comments about certain aspects of your stay and please be assured I will investigate further and follow up on the other points you raise. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

With effect from the week commencing the 10th June the hotel is introducing car park charges for residents. The charge applicable to all guests bringing a car with them is £10 per day which is still the best value parking available in Windsor.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

After research for a village location close to Heathrow Airport, the Mercure Castle Hotel Windsor, England was chosen. The location is 'brilliant' as it is nearly across from Windsor Castle and in the center of the town. The Royal Guards actually parade directly in front performing the changing of the guard at the castle each morning! First impression, my friend and I were taken aback by rear entrance by taxi. We each had a heavy suitcase that we could not manage on the high flight of stairs with NO ramp! No doorman either. After check-in, which went smoothly, someone did help with bags at my request. The room was nicely appointed but had no safe, a negative for us with cash and passports, etc. Also, a disappointing view. Very nice bathroom, however. We had a package with dinner and breakfast inclusive which was a wise decision.The entire dining experience was a delight. Highest quality cuisine and delightful staff! The Royal Windsor Theatre was just down the street and we saw an excellent play that had been playing in London for 3 years. Another plus. And a pedestrian street with all manner of shopping is just around the corner. Windsor Castle requires the better part of a day to view properly, but we took a lunch break and received a 'bracelet' for .return same day entry. As most are day visitors, it is nice to spend the night with fewer people milling around. Walking to Eaton, just over the bridge over the Thameswas yet another unexpected treat.
DEFINITELY,THE LOCATION WAS THE HIGHLIGHT OF OUR WINDSOR EXPERIENCE!
Also, the front desk arranged for transport to the airport the next morning at a reasonable set fare. All in all a quite lovely find.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenHawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear EllenHawkins,

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us. Thank you for your positive comments about the team and your dining experience I will be delighted to share this with the team. I hope we can welcome you back to the Castle hotel in the near future.

With effect from the week commencing the 10th June the hotel is introducing car park charges for residents. The charge applicable to all guests bringing a car with them is £10 per day which is still the best value parking available in Windsor.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We arrived a little later than planned for our anniversary weekend, having been detained by both roadworks and traffic on the journey down. When we checked in the gentleman behind the desk was professional but very friendly and made us feel very welcome. We chose a room with a balcony but those who are light sleepers would do well to ask for a room inside the old part of the hotel as they are likely to be disturbed by the planes flying over and it is much quieter in there, although this was not an issue for us.
We went for some dinner and had a quick walk round to get our bearings before coming back and taking residence in the bar. We cannot compliment Andi, the bar manager enough. Such a fantastic character who really made our stay which prompted our return the following evening. He made some very good drinks suggestions and we only hope that the "Paddington Sparkle" makes it onto the cocktail list in the end!
Breakfast was splendid with such a wide choice and nothing was too much trouble for the people looking after you. A seat by the window to watch the world go by and make new friends was just the icing on the cake.
Not one person that I saw working in the hotel was miserable or grumpy. We had a good laugh with the lovely lady on reception as we left and have decided that we shall return here again for our anniversary next year.

Room Tip: If you are likely to be disturbed by the noise of the planes (Windsor is under the flight path to He...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElFidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear ElFidget,

Thank you for your recent review. Thank you for your positive comments and feedback about the team, in particular Andi, which I will be delighted to share with them. I was pleased to read you had a wonderful anniversary break with us and look forward to welcoming you back next year.

With effect from the week commencing the 10th June the hotel is introducing car park charges for residents. The charge applicable to all guests bringing a car with them is £10 per day which is still the best value parking available in Windsor.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Due to business and personal travel, I have probably enjoyed over 100 nights at the Castle Hotel during the last 20+ years. Windsor and the Castle Hotel are favorite places for me to visit. Service is good and the quality of the food is excellent. High Tea is magnificent! The rooms are small but cozy, and staying there makes me feel like I am a part of history. I even enjoy listening to the old wooden floors as they rub and squeak a little. The hotel has experienced several phases of renovation that are very positive especially to the rooms overlooking the High Street. I highly recommend this hotel if visiting the Windsor and Eton area.
Just a friendly bit of advice to the management....fix the toilets so they work a little more "efficiently"! This is an area of renovation that deserves immediate attention because it detracts from an otherwise special experience.

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking High Street if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Presleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear 4Presleys,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Thank you for your comments and please be assured we will look at the points you raise. I hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon and thank you for your custom for 20 years!

With effect from the week commencing the 10th June the hotel is introducing car park charges for residents. The charge applicable to all guests bringing a car with them is £10 per day which is still the best value parking available in Windsor.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection

Property: Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Address: 18 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection is a 108 room, 4 star hotel located in Windsor, close to the main gates of Windsor Castle and grounds which is only a few minute's walk. Your hotel booking can include traditional or contemporary rooms, all with internet access and minibar. The Eighteen Restaurant has an award-winning a la carte menu, and Bar18 is perfect for coffee or cocktails. There are 12 fully-equipped event spaces for weddings or presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Castle Windsor Hotel Windsor
Accor Castle Windsor
Mercure Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing