We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We traveled all over England and this was our most expensive and worst hotel we stayed in. The staff was not pleasant, terrible service. The WiFi did NOT work in the room. The room was mediocre at best with no amenities for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dhc2228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear dhc2228,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your recent stay with. I was disappointed to read that your stay was not up to experience you had expected. Please could I ask you to contact me at the hotel or email any further feedback you have regarding your stay to h6618-gm@accor.com so I can investigate this further as WIFI should be available in all bedrooms, we do offer a full range of toiletry amenities in all bathrooms as well as complimentary water in all bedrooms. I would also like to understand any specific comments about the team and the level of service you may have as this is something we normally pride ourselves upon and is also reflective in many of the the hotels Trip Advisors reviews that our service is normally very good.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    542
    233
    90
    47
See reviews for
303
823
52
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall,G.B.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed before and after our flights from Heathrow. The location to Heathrow is excellent, about 20 mins by car & very easy to navigate. All the staff, reception, bar & restaurant were all excellent - friendly, welcoming & efficient. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast & evening meals & enjoyed all, the food was of good quality & we felt good value for money - staff at both mealtimes were excellent. The room was spotlessly clean and well appointed, very comfortable. The car park is secure & plenty of room. We have stayed at lots of airport hotels & from now on will return here every time for Heathrow, wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Also the location is fantastic for sightseeing & shopping in Windsor with the castle just across the street !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oggieoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear oggieoggie,

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read you had such a pleasant stay with us and will be please to share your praise with all of the team. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for mine and my partners anniversary, the staff were outstanding and we were even greeted with an anniversary card on arrival which was above and beyond my expectations from the hotel.

The only issue was, the room was very hot, we could not get the air conditioning to work, we didn't report the problem as it was very late in the evening by the time we felt the heat was too much.

Apart from that very minor issue, I cannot praise the hotel enough. Wonderful staff, beautiful rooms, wonderful bar-- and the afternoon tea and fresh scones was the perfect end to our stay at the Mercure!

We will be back soon for definite! :-)
Rebecca

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Rebecca T,

Thank you for posting such a positive review following your recent stay with us. I will be delighted to share this with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed on 15-16 Feb and after reading some reviews here, was disappointed on entering the room to find it had an inter connecting doorway. Sure enough, as described by another guest, it was possible to hear the guest in the adjoining room opening a bottle of fizzy water and pouring it out at 1.15am. We were aware that there were no double rooms available and the twin was adequate, but would not recommend an interconnecting one unless you are very friendly with your neighbour!! All other aspects of the room were nice, and very clean.

One other point to note was breakfast. Saturday morning was fine but as the hotel was full on Saturday night, breakfast on Sunday was extremely busy and not very well managed. The restaurant manager could do with a few pointers on courtesy and politeness, it was like she was doing us a favour by serving us.

One the whole the hotel is in a great location, free parking a real plus. We took a train to Ascot races which was about 40 mins and the station only 10 minute walk away. Windsor was a lovely town with lots of nice places to eat in the evening. Would we stay again? Only if a non interconnecting double room was available!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear R M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Thank you for your comments, please be assured I will share them with the team and where appropriate ensure that we address any of the points raised.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was lovely, staff friendly, free parking, very good location and excellent breakfast. The problem was the evening meal, don't get the inclusive menu as its very limited and poor range of choices. We had a travelzoo offer which included evening meal, the head made a bit if an issue with the voucher and said to the waitress before handing out the menu "they are on travelzoo" as he turned he nose up when saying it. The travelzoo was the inclusive menu or £25 each towards the a la carte menu. The A la carte menu was a lot better and worth the extra. The wait in between the courses was about 45mins after the previous course was cleared.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattYeo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear MattYeo2,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Firstly thank you for your positive comments about the hotel, staff, car parking and breakfast. I was disappointed to read you felt the dinner experience was not up to standard. We do offer a seasonal choice menu as advertised on the Travelzoo promotion which offers guests the choice of a minimum of 4 starters, 4 mains and 4 desserts or the allowance given in the package can be put towards our a la carte menu as you describe. Please accept my apologies if you felt the team did not deliver the experience you hoped for, I will share this feedback with them and look to make any necessary changes where appropriate.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We used this place as an overnight stop on the way to Heathrow and were favourably impressed. The location couldn't be better being a couple of hundred yards from the castle with a secure car park. The staff were friendly and courteous and although we didn't eat there the dining room looked inviting. At just over £80 I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmg513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear tmg513,

Thank you for posting a review following you recent stay with us. I was pleased to read you had a pleasant stay with us and hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a family get together for our 40 wedding anniversary. The restaurant staff and restaurant manager Tamar were amazing. The food was delicious and service first class. We have been many times and each time is better than the last. Would recommend without hesitation.thank you for making our celebration such a memorable night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobo1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear bobo1973,

Thank you for such a fantastic review following your recent dining experience with us. I will be delighted to share your praise with Tamir and the team who I know will certainly appreciate this recognition. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,290 reviews
2.6 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,790 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection

Property: Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Address: 18 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection is a 108 room, 4 star hotel located in Windsor, close to the main gates of Windsor Castle and grounds which is only a few minute's walk. Your hotel booking can include traditional or contemporary rooms, all with internet access and minibar. The Eighteen Restaurant has an award-winning a la carte menu, and Bar18 is perfect for coffee or cocktails. There are 12 fully-equipped event spaces for weddings or presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Castle Windsor Hotel Windsor
Accor Castle Windsor
Mercure Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing