We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh dear, tried hard, what a waste of a great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Oh dear, tried hard, what a waste of a great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

We arrived by boat and moored up overnight. The hotel members of staff were charming throughout. However, the room was not value for money. The 'double' bed was small, the room was fusty, the air con kept defaulting to 27c, there were fag butts on the window ledge, the shower was one ‘nearly bearable temperature’, the bathroom basin took 10 minutes to drain, the bidet (and we love bidets) water streams were dribbles, the ‘online TV’ hotel 'services menu' was pathetic and we had to phone reception to ask when breakfast was served etc. We ordered a Sunday newspaper on arrival and when we ‘phoned reception they (didn't apologise but) implied we were not telling the truth(Please note the customer is always right!). It did arrive eventually.

The food was excellent, if pricey. Well done chef!

This is a great wedding location and we saw two beautifully colourful Sikh ceremonies taking place. However, if the owners want to cater for regular hotel and dining guests they really need to rethink their strategies!

We arrive for breakfast but had to wait in the bar for 15 minutes with many other guests until the many empty tables were cleared and prepared – oh dear. Expensive yes, great location yes, great staff yes but please note owners - train your human resources to be in position at the times they are most needed!

We love this part of the River Thames and we will be staying inmany of the hotels, B&Bs and pubs but not his one this year. We will try again the Oakley Court again in 12 months and report back - it really is a most beautiful part of the world.

It could be exceptional!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highrollerreefing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBarclay, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. I was very disappointed to read your comments and I do appreciate that apologies after the event do little to make amends, but I do hope that you accept mine and that of the team here at Oakley Court. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to document your concerns in such great detail. The opinion and comments from you, our guests are of vital importance to us and I assure you that Oakley Court has an ongoing commitment to supporting our guest’s needs. It is only through your valuable feedback and comments that we can improve our services and operations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    598
    227
    97
    75
See reviews for
449
920
28
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

Truly beautiful hotel with beautiful gardens. Decent mattresses on the beds and a good sized room.
Issues: for those who like perfection the bathroom could have done with updating when you look closely - ie cracked tiles and some rusting on the shower unit. However, if felt clean and of good quality and the bathroom was a good size.

The only other issue was that there wasn't a table available at breakfast on the Sunday morning at 9:45am - we were sent to the bar to wait for a table.

We had 2 breakfast and 2 evening meals. The food in the evening was extremely good and superb service.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen_Eastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBarclay, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are planning shortly to improve the bathrooms through an investment programme. I apologise for the delay on breakfast and obtaining a table but pleased that you were shown to the bar whilst a table was prepared.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Oakley Court in the near future and thank you for taking the time to use Tripadvisor for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

I stayed 2 nights (31st July and 1st August) for my brothers wedding. My standard room (at a discounted rate of £115 a night) overlooked the car park. The wall paper was lose in many spots and the bathroom tiles were cracked. However even worse was the shower was broken so I could only have cold showers. This fault was reported and so called resolved...it wasn't!! Only after getting concierge to check he agreed it was broken and moved me down the corridor. After several trips to get the door card walking I moved rooms. This room overlooked the service entrance to the hotel and I was woken at 3.20 am by a lorry reversing outside.
Onto service...well that was non existance!! I was told to wait in the lounge for my breakfast on the Sunday as the dining room was full. I waited..and waited...I asked the waiter was a table ready to be told no. After 30 odd minutes he admitted he'd removed me accidentally from the list. Not good.
The next morning it was service for a hot breakfast – which arrived promptly. However I waited over 20 minutes for tomato ketchup...which after this wait wasn't fresh ketchup but out of a bottle!
A number of our wedding party also had problems...one waiting 45 minutes for a glass of wine in the bar.
I also think that charging for internet access (wired or wifi) at £6.50 per hour of £15.95 is acceptable when I paid a premuim already for the 'joy' of staying here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richt71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S. expats
Level Contributor
199 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed at the Oakley Court for two nights--what a lovely location! It is west of Windsor, so visitors need to be aware that they will not be near the city, but in a quiet location by the river, about a ten minute drive from Windsor.

We were upgraded to a suite for free, to be next door to our teens, who had two single beds. It is without a doubt the nicest room I have ever stayed in. HUGE canopy bed, big squishy robes, a couch, a table for four, and a cool gothic window looking out on the grounds and the Thames.

Breakfast is really pretty good, although I have never been too happy with coffee in the UK. Dinner was a little overpriced and took a while to arrive. However, while you wait you can sit outside and watch the river. There s also a motorboat that can be rented by guests.

My only quibble with the hotel (which was used in the filming of The Rocky Horror Picture Show) is the exorbitant amount of money they charged for wifi access. Wifi should be a nominal fee. Or...free! This is just a case of greed which mars an otherwise lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

The hotel from the shining basically. Location is nice if you want to be near Windsor, outside of the building looks lovely and food and service were good but the room was probably the most run down poorly maintained room I have ever stayed in.

For £200 a night they should be embarrassed. Mildew and mould around the bath, really thick dust in the units, chips in the woodwork, marks on the walls, bed sheets looked like they were left over from the war, toilet door handle was hanging off, in short I wouldn’t expect this from a £50 a night hotel. What’s more a £50 a night hotel has an iron in the room where as these rooms don’t and when you call the concierge after 5 minutes of ringing if they can pick up the phone they may tell you as they did me that there are 15 irons in the building but they are all out and they will bring you one later which never happened.

The place needs to shut its doors and renovate simple as that.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spicyhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

A beautiful, gothic style hotel, although the interior was at first a little disappointing (a bit grubby) by day 5 we no longer noticed any imperfections as we had fallen in love with the place. The bedrooms (interconnecting for 2 adults and 3 children) were ample although they were extremely warm. That said, the beds and pillows were very comfortable and the housekeeping staff did a superb job. The location is ideal and we enjoyed both the view and the food on the deck at night. The pool while small, was never over populated and we enjoyed using the facilities on most days of our stay. We left feeling refreshed and somewhat sad but with very happy memories of our time at the Oakley Court. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellybel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

The main house looks impressive from the outside -although a bit shabby and grubby once you get inside. However, the food and service do not come up to scratch. We celebrated a 60th B'day with a tea party for 25+ guests. The tea and coffee was 'stewed', luke warm and presented in-self serve thermos flasks. We had to ask for jam for the scones and the cakes/finger sandwiches were okay - but miles short of memorable.

A few guests stayed on for supper - which was a disaster. Mouldy hambuger-buns and haphazzard service. Won't do it again and wouldn't recommend it. There are plenty of nice places with a view of the river Thames - this is not one of them.

Also the car parking is all over the complex - but no obvious spaces for disabled badge holders. Had to un-load eldely parents and then drive thier car some distance to find a parking spot.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennysk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,516 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Property: The Oakley Court
Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing