We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot on the Thames”
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Spent two nights here at a company team builiding event. There was no need to leave the facility because everything was at your fingertips. The staff was very professional and quickly addressed any of our concerns. The location on the Thames is magical. We where lucky to get a couple days of sunshine on the visit which made it even better. Careful of the breakfast, you can eat too much good stuff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear bkelly62

Thank you for providing your feedback following your recent stay at Oakley Court.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your company Team Building event with us, and that you were also able to relax at times and enjoy our "magical" location.

Thank you for also recognising my "professional" team, we endeavour to always exceed our guest expectations, as we did on this occasion.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,285 - 1,291 of 2,387 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

I was so looking forward to staying at the hotel because of it's film history. The gardens and Manor are outstanding.
The rooms are another story.....I was in the West Wing with a stunning view of the Thames, the back gardens and the Manor. My room looked like a Motel 8....straight out of the '70s. The fixtures were about to fall off the sink in the bathroom, the carpet was dated and stained, the AC made a lot of noise but no cool air. A very big disappointment.
BTW, I paid extra for a "Deluxe" room.
I would suggest just going for lunch or tea. Stay at the MacDonald in Windsor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAtrkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear CAtrkr

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the Oakley Court Hotel.

I am disappointed and apologise that you found your stay to be less than satisfactory, we clearly have a few issues here that you have now noted - it is always very disappointing after a guest has left the hotel that we discover how unsatisfied they were, I am positive that had we been made aware we could have rectified your issues to your satisfaction.

If you return to England in the future please give me the opportunity to show you why by far the majority of our guests leave us very happy.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Ever since I saw the film Half A Sixpence, I was drawn to this place, approx 4 miles from Windsor Castle, this one is not to be missed.

A day out for something special or a booking to stay over, you will not be disappointed.
A grand spectacular building with an essence of everything that is British.

I would imagine everyone would love to mention that they have stayed at Oakley Court Windsor.
The food is wonderful, the service is excellent with staff attending in a friendly relaxed manner. Once you have visited this fine abode you will be making plans to revisit like we have, don't forget to pick up your loyalty card from the bar to receive discounts and offers for further visits.

Room Tip: Over- looking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Toni S

Thank you for posting your review following your stay at Oakley Court.

I am pleased that you have highlighted that you enjoyed our "wonderful" food and that our service levels met your expectations.

Please be sure to return to us soon!

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed for one night here for her birthday and absolutely loved every minute. On arrival we were greeted with glass of champagne.the hotel and surrounding grounds and river thames are beautiful. We rushed back from the town to get back for sunset to sit by the river and it looked beautiful. For me this is one of those very few hotels that you will remember fondly! I really hope to visit again and this time have a picnic in the garden. Breakfast was self service. Good selection. Fry up, fruit, cereal, pastries, continental. Staff were very attentive. Just a wonderful stay in so many ways. Missing it already!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Claire B

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Oakley Court Hotel.

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your overnight stay so much, and that you got to sit in one of our deck chairs overlooking the River Thames and watch the sun set.

Yes, please come back and certainly order one of our wonderful Picnics, make sure you give us plenty of notice though as these are picnics are proving very popular!

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Managert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I have just returned from a most wonderful weekend at Oakley Court.
We were a group of 22 teachers celebrating a retirement with nearly 1000 years in education between us. The hotel accommodated us in the most wonderful rooms and with great service and expertise. This is an amazing place in magnificent surroundings on the river, with service and traditional standards that are not often found so close to London. I do not understand how anyone can complain about the Oakley Court. Standard rooms are beautiful, overlooking the car park and greenery, or the river. They have bathrobes and fridges and kettle and tea and coffee and basically anything you could want. Wi-Fi is free and good. We ate in the restaurant on a table of 22 and the organisation and service were truly outstanding. I'm not sure the other guests in the restaurant who wanted a quiet Romantic dinner would be particularly impressed. Next year there may be nearly 30 of us and I suspect a private room is in order! One thing worthy of mention is the quality of wines on the wine list and the reasonable prices . I had a French wine at £23.50 and it was fantastic. I usually drink Chateauneuf du Pape and this was just as good . Breakfast is very good and relaxing and enjoyable. We had some private charters with French brothers who picked us up from the mooring of the hotel. I will do a separate review about them what a magnificent company, so efficient, so friendly and lovely boats. Special mention needs to be made of Kate Dance who was so patient and so efficient in organising our booking. And Chris, who served on Friday nights need a medal. Oakley Court has provided the perfect setting for a retirement weekend. We were blessed with good weather but to be honest the setting, the lounges, the service, the food, all of these things would be fantastic whatever was happening outside. Thank you to the team at Oakley Court. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: All rooms a lovely, the river view is a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sha1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Sha 1955

I am delighted that you and your group of 22 had such a wonderful and memorable stay at Oakley Court.

My team and I always endeavour to deliver exceptional service and standards, and I thank you for recognising this element of your stay, as it is so often overlooked!

Your feedback is detailed and thorough, thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.

My team and I look forward to you all returning in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We recently stayed at the Oakley Court, albeit only for one night - whilst competing at the Royal Windsor Horse Show nearby. Clearly this is a well-managed and efficient hotel, with extensive grounds and a frontage to the River Thames. Our room was spacious and clean, with all the facilities you would expect from a hotel of this calibre (one minor grumble would be that the toiletries were a little mean!).
We ordered our evening meal via room service, and it arrived in a timely fashion and was perfectly acceptable - as was the continental breakfast next morning. The food was not outstanding, but acceptable.
As we only stayed one night I cannot give a more comprehensive review, but the hotel seemed to be all that we expected.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GallopingGastroGnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear GallopingGastroG

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the Oakley Court Hotel.

Being located so close to Windsor and the annual Royal Windsor Horse Show we benefit from being able to host many of the competitors and visitors this major event attracts - I am delighted that you found your stay to be so good, although I do take on board your comments about the bathroom toiletries.

I do hope that you are able to return in the future, maybe you will be able to relax a little more next time and get to enjoy our other hotel facilities that you missed on this occasion, due to your involvement in the Horse Show.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I stayed here for a small corporate awayday and thought it thoroughly pleasant and enjoyable. We were a party of about 12. OK, the bedrooms are a bit tired and the service a bit Curate's Egg but the benefits far outweigh the negatives. My bedroom was large, quiet and comfortable , the large riverside grounds are delightful and the main building oozes character and is very relaxing.
Our dinner in the evening was beautifully laid out in a delightful conservatory and food and service were pretty good.

This seems to be mainly a corporate conference hotel but there is so much space and so many nooks and crannies that I think a couple on a leisure trip would be perfectly happy.
The location right on the river between Maidenhead and Windsor is convenient for the many corporate offices in this part of the world but also good for sightseeing around Windsor or if you're eating in the Gastro-centre of Bray. It's also quite convenient for Heathrow, although a taxi ride rather than a transfer bus. I would definitely choose this place over other similar hotels like the Runnymede or the Compleat Angler at Marlow.

Room Tip: The rooms are mainly in newish (1980's) blocks away from the main building. The East Wing, where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank medocain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear medocain

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Oakley Court Hotel.

I am pleased that we were able to satisfy you and your other group members during your company away-day.

You are correct, our hotel allows for groups such as yours and of course for a leisure couple who just want to get away from it all - being so unique and with our adaptable service standards we deliver well against both of these types of guests, as highly recognised by several guest feedback sites such as Tripadvisor.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,963 reviews
2.7 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: $205 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing