We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to visit Windsor after 40 years.”
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I find it impossible to believe that anyone can state that this hotel is less than perfect. We stayed for 2 nights and had a lovely time. Next to the River Thames the hotel is ideally situated for walks around the grounds and visiting Windsor, Maidenhead, Henley-on-Thames and lots of other locations. The room had views of the river, two comfortable arm-chairs, wifi, fridge, table, lots of lights, power shower lots of wardrobe and drawer space. Food was excellent and the staff that look after us were so pleasant and friendly. My wife and I intend a return trip because we liked it so much even though it was almost a 6 hour drive.

By mistake I packed a face cloth from the hotel but my BH has posted it back to them so we hope that we will be welcomed again.

Room Tip: The river side of the hotel has beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayRegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear RaynardAtherton

Thank you for your complimentary review - we certainly hope to welcome you again to the Oakley Court Hotel.

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,331 - 1,337 of 2,387 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed for a night last weekend and found the hotel to be of a good standard with smiling, helpful staff and wonderful grounds to walk around. The room we were in overlooked the Thames and it was wonderful to have a selection of magazines and coffee/tea making facilities and be able to relax comfortably in your own room. The restaurant was quite limited in the selection of foods but we chose to eat in so that we could both have a nice drink, the breakfast was far superior with piping hot plates and a good selection of hot and cold foods.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sarahandthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Sarahandthesun

Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

If you have more than just a night through Heathrow this is ideally placed in the M4/25/3 corridor. The hotel itself backs onto the Thames -ideal for Sunday morning papers on a bench with Swans/geese and rowers to watch. Except for the occasional plane noise this is a very tranquil place.
Film buffs will want to go purely because Bray studios was just down the road and Hammer did many of their films here when the house was semi-derelict before a £5 million upgrade/renovation. The style is a bit muddled, but probably quite authentic.
The staff were great, but food disappointed. A four star should do better.
The bar menu is very limited, so I choose the main dining room. Again limited choice - but that should not be a problem as it usually implies fresh ingredients well cooked.
I choose 'lamb four ways' which was an ill nconceived dish poorly made. A 'deconstructed' shepherd's pie was greasy and overcooked, although an accompanying chop was good.
The also served a shrimp and salmon bake (which tasted fine) in a metal tin, which made it look like a just opened tin of sardines! So presentation and concept problems!

They also do what (I,m afraid) most hotels now do and that is the dreaded buffet breakfast. I arrived as it opened. Eggs already hard and luke warm, bacon already soggy. What it must be like for people breakfasting at 9.00 I dread to think> There were at least 5 waiting staff for maybe 20 customers. Why not move one of them to the kitchens and serve freshly made/to order food? Thete should be a Trip Advisor Campaign again pre- prepared hot breakfast in hotels!

All the same I enjoyed my trip, relaxed in a great leisure centre. In terms of value for money the Superior rooms are worth going for.
Although overall I gave a 3 Star rating it could so easily have been 5
Worth keeping an eye on later reviews asw this has recently changed hands and if they sort out the kitchens/cooking I would definitely go again

Room Tip: Pay for superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emilymor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear emilymor

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I am pleased to confirm, we welcomed a new Head Chef to the Oakley Court at the beginning of April and we hope you return to sample our menu - a combination of simple and classic dishes served in the Dining Room Restaurant or the Terrace Restaurant.

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I've recently returned from a great two night B&B break with a friend at The Oakley Court. The service, food, rooms & location were all first class. We had a spacious, meticulously clean room overlooking the Thames & beautiful grounds, what more could you ask for? The hotel has a great history, having been used as a film set in its colourfull past. Films including The Belles of St.Trinians, The Rocky Horror Show, Half a Sixpence & several notable Hammer Horror films were set here - great fun if you're a film fan. I'm vegetarian and enjoyed both the offerings in the evening and for breakfast, my non-vege friend said the 'Lamb four ways' was particularly delicious. The building has loads of character and has been sympathetically added to, to provide spacious accommodation. We booked the stay through Superbreaks with inclusive rail travel from Newcastle and an evening meal on the first night, great value for money. My friend and I travel far and wide visiting castle's, museums and attractions and this is without doubt the best hotel we've stumbled across. It's a short taxi ride from Windsor Castle & Legoland (both of which are good value for money and well worth a visit.) I strongly recommend a trip to Windsor and a stay at The Oakley Court. I intend returning to the hotel with my husband for a visit to Ascot which is also a short distance from the hotel. (Didn't have time to visit the Spa.)

Room Tip: River view rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Wendy S

Thank you, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your break and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Went to Oakley Court for a business meeting over a couple of days. The arrangements for this part of the service seemed, as a participant, seamless to me. Friendly staff, slightly cheeky barman all went down a storm.
My accommodation was in the slightly less glam 1997 part of the building, but was very comfortable, clean and warm. Good shower too. I was only sleeping there, and the view was still good.
The best part of this hotel is the original building. It is a star in itself. Amazing history. Lots of movies and TV filmed here but apparently was also the UK headquarters of the French Resistance in WW2!
The hotel is quirky with a tiny feeling of faded grandeur which really pleased me. Lovely deck area and of course, right on the Thames. It made the most of the downtime we had on a work event.
I'm not sure when the new chef was installed here, but I think the food was faultless. As the website advised, was simple food, done really, really well. Was one of the highlights of our event. Perfectly seasoned, and how did they cook risotto for our party of ~60 so well?
I would love to go back again as a private visit, and will give feedback to my employers that we should have global meetings here as opposed to London hotel. Is easier from Heathrow.
My only caveat is to be aware that there is no lift. There are a lot of stairs, so if that is not good for you, ask for a downstairs room.
Another thing is they need to get a better website. Really doesn't do them justice. No interior shots or tariffs, or most importantly the menu. Even a sample would be good for guidance.
HURRAH!!!!

Room Tip: No lift. . . and lots of stairs, so get downstairs room if that bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosinaf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Rosinaf01

My team and I are delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay at The Oakley Court Hotel.

I can confirm, we did experience temporary operational challenges with our website recently, when we switched website providers - please accept our apologies - it is up and running now.

We are unable to install a lift as the Mansion House is a listed building.

We look forward to welcoming you again to The Oakley Court Hotel and thank you for your valued review.

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

From the minute of booking, to the second we left... What an amazing experience we had.
Highly highly recommend the champagne afternoon tea package. Food was delicious, plenty to enjoy and just simply amazing.
We had a wonderful seat in an Edwardian decorated room over looking the river which only enhanced are our experience.
An absolute must try.
Thank you so much staff!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Gemma316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Gemma316

We are delighted to read that you had an "amazing experience" and thank you for your review and for recommending the Oakley Court Hotel.

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

overpriced,wi-fi not working ( not great for business), jacuzzi with warmish water, hole in towels, more like a Holiday Inn. Shame the mansion is beautiful but really needs services improvement. I would rate the hotel average as food, leisure facilites,atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Zoitam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Zoitam

The majority of our Trip Advisor reviews are of a positive nature and I am sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations in many areas.

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,963 reviews
2.7 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: $205 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing