We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family break”
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Having visited Oakley Court for numerous weekend breaks pre kids this was our first visit with our 6 and 3 year olds. Having read numerous reviews we were interested to see what changes had taken place under the recently installed new management.

The family room was good. Yes, as per previous reviews there isn't much natural light in the ground floor family rooms, but our room was very spacious and comfortable, (and yet probably the last place a family would spend much time when the grounds are so beautiful!). The kids were delighted with the open space, the geese, ducks and numerous public rooms in the main building (far more than were accessible under previous management). They were made to feel welcome by the friendly staff and as a result we felt able to relax and enjoy the break. They were also both were given an activity pack at check in which was a nice touch and made for an exciting and fun stay for them.

We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant when it opened at 6.30pm and again the kids were made to feel very welcome. Our waiter was excellent but sadly the food was average. A homemade children's pizza wasn't great but deserts were excellent. The adults menu was uninspiring but not unreasonably priced despite other reviews. My husbands ribeye was good, but red mullet and and langoustine didn't really work. A £23 bottle of Malbec was however excellent, and with the total bill for 2 children's meals, 2 plates of nibbles to start, 2 main courses and one plate of cheese for dessert coming in at £100 we actually felt it was good value. At £4.50 for a beer and £5.50 glass of prosecco in the bar beforehand (both of which were cheaper than our local pub), we also thought that drinks were very reasonably priced. We understand that a new chef will be starting at the hotel shortly and look forward to a possibly slightly more interesting and better executed adults menu (although desperately hope the good value kids menu remains).

The leisure club and pool was far better than remembered. Maybe in our pre-kids days we were lucky enough to experience nicer hotel spas, (and this is a pool complex and small gym rather than a spa). Never the less it was clean, the water was warm, and the sauna and steam would have been perfectly good had we been able to enjoy them. The family swim times were generous however there are some times when kids can't swim so best to check. Equally we did encounter a couple of serious adult lane swimmers who would have been best to note the adult only times....They were unfortunately a little intolerant of the well behaved children trying to share the pool with them.

What could be improved? I'm niggling and trying to be constructive and have no complaints but..... The glass of fizz on arrival (and the text the day before to let us know the glass of fizz would be waiting for us) was a nice touch, but yes it was a very small glass and the anticipation that had been built was far greater! A welcome juice for the kids would have been nice. Breakfast was good but agree with other reviewers that fresh bloomer style bread (rather than pre sliced) would have been nicer. Equally the option to have freshly cooked eggs would have been appreciated. The ground floor family room was also a little noisy with noise from above.... A minor criticism given that this was also a family room and that as a result they were keeping similar hours to us, however with different tenants this could have been a problem for us as a family with young children.

All in all a great weekend and we will be back. It would be great tower about special offers & late availability given that we are close by in South West London.



Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank KB5905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Kate B

I am delighted to read that you had a relaxing family break and thank you for your valued review. We hope to welcome you again to The Oakley Court.

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,322)
There are newer reviews for The Oakley Court
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,286 - 1,292 of 2,322 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

An excellent welcome provided by world's best young concierge created a great first impression.
Nice surprise too to learn about the hotel's cinematic past.
True we ate out and the breakfast team were a little over zealous with the tidying up (wait until they've gone guys I was enjoying that coffee), and reading other comments there's always room to improve but it would be unfair to hold that one mistake against this great hotel. To find this kind of value so close to London was the biggest surprise.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a well fitted door, you don't need Christopher Lee doing that vampire 'mist...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24,691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear 24691

Thank you for your 5 star review and for your constructive feedback.
We hope to welcome you again soon.

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

A delightful hotel full of old world charm by the river.We had a splendid room with two bay windows overlooking the river.It was very quiet and the bed was comfortable
The restaurant was fully booked so we ate in the bar which has a limited menu-food was well cooked but rather expensive for bar food eight pounds for rhubarb crumble and custard.
Breakfast was a buffet-plenty of choice but sliced bread.It would have been nice to have it freshly cooked to order
Staff were friendly and helpful

Room Tip: ask for a river view
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Heather S

Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you again to The Oakley Court.

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I must say it was so lovely driving in to the Hotel on Friday evening after a hard week at work, we arrived in reception had a complimentary glass of Champagne and a free upgrade, everything was going beautifully, our room was lovely, we got showered went to the bar had a nice pre-dinner drink all the staff were wonderful attentive and polite. Then unfortunately "the restaurant" OMG, the menu was dreadful. I can honestly say I have never been to any restaurant when I could not find a starter I liked or even fancied, QFC (Quail fried chicken with Marmite) what on earth were you thinking of. The mains were again limited in choice, I had steak that was tough and sinewy, my fiancé had the lamb it was all dreadful. It was such a shame. The breakfast was absolutely fine with a good choice of cold and hot dishes.
It is such a great hotel in a lovely setting, the staff are wonderful, Just get a good Chef with a good menu, it would make a good hotel a great hotel. The young concierge with a sprained wrist is a credit to you, very polite and attentive. Please sort the restaurant out and change that awful menu!!!

Room Tip: Choose over looking the Thames Wondeful
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rangey62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear rangey62

Thank you for your feedback. It is good to read that you enjoyed your stay however disappointing to read that our menu was not to your liking at the time of your visit.

I am pleased to advise we have a new Head Chef commencing in April and I certainly hope you return to The Oakley Court to experience our new seasonal varied menu.

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Wow what a find this hotel was on Secret Escapes! perfect setting by the river in stunning grounds. The actual main building is stunning too ! beautiful decor and completely unique. There is also a pool, jacuzzi , steam room and sauna. The staff were superb to. Truly amazing place, thank you :)

Room Tip: ask for a river view and im sure they will help if they can
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Mark G

Thank you for your 5* review and for describing The Oakley Court as an "amazing place".
We hope to welcome you again.

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I recently spent a lovely day at The Oakley Court. It would be difficult not to be impressed by the hotel and location which are fabulous, if the weather is kind and you can sit outside the terrace by the river is really special. As it was a Saturday lunchtime the dining room was closed but the anytime menu was more than adequate for a relaxed lunch. However for our group the real stars were the staff who were friendly and attentive without being OTT. On the whole I would definitely recommend, and look forward to my next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyMc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Sally Mc_12

Our unique setting is definitely one of the major features that makes The Oakley Court so special. Thank you also for your comments regarding our friendly and attentive staff - we hope to welcome you again soon.

Thank you for recommending The Oakley Court.

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed at the hotel on business recently. Whilst the arrival at the hotel is quite impressive, via a large gateway and winding drive to an impressive building, it is marred by the numerous car parks and other ugly buildings along the route.

On arrival at the hotel itself, the staff try to be helpful but are easily distracted; I waited 10 minutes before the concierge could find time to carry up mu luggage. There are clearly some issues in the fabric of the building and the over whelming smell of perfumed air fresheners and stuffy air gave me a headache. The hotel is either boiling hot or freezing cold, with no middle ground.

I was in the main house in a suite. The room was very large but extremely disappointingly furnished with dated style furniture, clashing wallpaper and carpets and tired paintwork on the cupboards. The wardrobe contained a safe which, unless locked closed, viciously slammed me on the ankle every time the cupboard door was opened. The room was boiling hot and only one tiny window opened for fresh air along with a wall mounted air con unit was was inadequate. On the plus side, the view of the river was pleasant. The bed clearly had a cheap mattress and not particularly good linen - I have slept better in a Premier Inn!

The bathroom again was large but the layout was poor, windows unobscured, grouting dirty and water pressure non existent. Alarmingly each time I turned on the tap on the basin it came loose. Towels and bathrobes were hard and uncomfortable.

The dining room was uninspiring and the breakfast subject to a ghastly conference style buffet.

All in all, an just about OK place for a large conference group (although again there are better options), but avoid avoid avoid if you are looking for a special romantic destination. There are much, much nicer places to go to for a better price, greater comfort, luxury and a freshly cooked breakfast.

I really felt that this hotel was trying to be ultra posh on the marketing, and just failed to deliver. If I had personally paid the bill, I would have felt completely ripped off.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jben40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Jben40

Thank you for your review. The majority of reviews we receive are of a positive nature.
If we had been made aware at the time of your visit, every effort would have been made to resolve any issues or concerns.

Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,872 reviews
2.7 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: $208 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing