We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great nights stay!!!!”
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great nights stay!!!!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

On arrival the reception staff were very inventive and polite, the room large with a good sized bathroom and a very comfy bed, the evening meal and breakfast was first class the only thing which was disappointing was the service at dinner.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 89Clarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear 89Clarks

We are pleased you had a "Great" stay. Please accept my apologies for your disappointing service at dinner. We hope you return to the Oakley Court Hotel on a future occasion; you can be assured of receiving our normal high standards of service and attention.

Thank you for your review.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,227
    623
    234
    100
    79
See reviews for
478
962
28
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My boyfriend took me away for a night to Oakley Court hotel for my birthday, and we had a wonderful weekend there.

The staff and level of service were impecable, from checking in, to dinner, to checking out. All very friendly and personable. Plus upon learning that it was my birthday they send up cupcakes to the room which was a very nice touch.

Food wise... We had afternoon tea on the saturday which was great value for money, and then dinner in the restaurant. Just had a main course as we were still full from the tea, but what we had (lamb for him, fish for me) was delicious. Lovely selection of wine too. Breakfast teh following morning was great, huge selection and very well cooked.

Our room in the east wing was lovely, very warm and comfortable although the bed was very slightly on the hard side. I used the gym in the morning which was small but good selection of machines. We also took a walk around the gardens and alongside the river which was beautiful.

We will definitely be back in the future, hopefully in the summer to enjoy the grounds a bit more.

Only tiny negative was the location and distance to public transport - had to take a couple of expensive taxis but that's our fault for not realising how far it was from Windsor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lnlondon26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Inlondon26

We are pleased you enjoyed your birthday celebrations at The Oakley Court and look forward to welcoming you again in the summer months. Thank you for your review.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in January for 2 nights booked a special deal through secret escapes. On arrival greeted with a glass of fizz and a room upgrade (not a bad start!).
The room was lovely and immaculately clean with a wonderful view over the gardens to the river. The main seating areas in the hotel have lovely big real log fires and comfy sofas to sit and relax on. The staff are friendly and really helpful - nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant was delicious we could not fault this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pje39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear pje39

Thank you for your 5* review. My team and I are pleased to read that you had a faultless stay at The Oakley Court and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I have never written a review before but felt I had to for this trip.
I was a bit worried about staying here for our 10th anniversary but we had nothing to worry about, what a lovely hotel, we checked in to a glass of bubbly and upgrade for our room. We went into Windsor and came back to a card and bottle of wine from the hotel (thank you Glen) we are still here but we are so impressed that I felt I had to write a review on how lovely this hotel is, so if your planning a trip to Windsor or the area near by this is the hotel to book.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicksre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Nicksre

Thank you for such a complimentary review. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we hope you return in the near future.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We arrived on Tuesday 25th February and were met by attentive reception staff and very thoughtful concierge . We quickly settled in and were shown to our room. A sumptuous king size bed and fabulous river view were mingled uncomfortably with coffee splattered plug sockets, holes in carpets and a slightly faded feel of a room that was running out of warm welcomes. We made our way to the bar and snuggled down to our comfortable chairs in front of a roaring, well tended fire and were quickly welcomed by staff that seemed to know exactly what we needed to unwind after our long journey. After being dazzled by the claims of " awarding winning " restaurant, we eagerly sat down, and again, were charmed by the attentive staff who made every effort ........but could not divert our attention enough from the charred steak which would have been passable but for the gristle and fat...ribeye ? Are you sure ? On the plus side we were beyond caring at this point after delving into the wonderful wine selection that the Oakly offers....this also after a beautifully chilled glass of champagne.
I would love to stop here...and award Oakley Court a very handsome score.....but again, as I said, this is a tale of two hotels. After an incredibly busy Wednesday we slopped into the bar in much need our our lovely attentive staff. We were abandoned ! After doing everything except jumping on the furniture and crying in frustration, we eventually were, begrudgingly, served. We sat down.....and watched with despare as our fire was neglected to a point it slowly gave up and with a sad final puff..died.
So as a final point Oakley Court may I say.......our breakfast in the room....no salt and pepper on the tray.......no butter with toast.....orange juice watered down ( we can tell).....and a very meager pot of coffee for two.
My advice to fellow travellers is this.........arrive on the right day..with wonderful thoughtful staff.....and you will be blown away. Stay after the shift change................and it falls apart. ( the concierge today literally watched me struggle with 3 bags alone and never moved to help). As I said....a tale of two hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Vanessa M

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.
It is our aim to consistently deliver high levels of service and it would appear that we fell short in certain areas at the time of your visit. I offer sincere apologies and thank you for your valued feedback as it is only through receiving such feedback that we can effect change within the hotel.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at Oakley Court for our anniversary and my birthday following a recommendation from a friend. I was very impressed with the smoothness of booking and pre arrival contact with guest services.
We arrived at Reception and were greeted immediately by a member of the conceirge team who assisted us with our bags, brought us a glass of champagne and then took us to our room. He was friendly and helpful and came out to the lawns later in the afternoon to show us around and tell us a bit about the history of the hotel - a nice touch and he took care not to be intrusive.
The room itself (226) was fantastic. Two large double windows overlooking the river and gardens and a huge, very comfy bed. There was a bottle of champagne and chocolates along with a card from the manager wishing us a nice stay and congratulating us on our anniversary/birthday. It was a personal touch which we appreciated and showed how effective communication between reservations, guest services and management is. Most importantly the bedroom was extremely quiet - we'd left our two little boys at home so relaxation was our aim!
We had pre dinner drinks in the bar - pricey but lovely cocktails, a great atmosphere and very attentive service despite staffing levels seeming quite low.
Dinner was unfortunately a bit of a let down. It's rare for us to eat in a restaurant of this calibre and be disappointed but we were. The staff seemed rushed and knew little about the menu when asked and we felt the restaurant lacked atmosphere. The food was just ok - but we were expecting to be wowed. We decided not to order dessert and took our wine through to the bar and finished it in front of one of the lovely open fires.
We chose to cancel our restaurant reservation for the second night and instead ate in the bar. There was a lovely atmosphere and a table had thoughtfully been reserved in the library section for us which was perfect. We had a great meal with wine, dessert and cocktails and the service was excellent.
Breakfast in the restaurant was good - the usual full english all available and a wide selection of fruit etc which I loved.
Unfortunately the pool had to be closed during our stay so we couldn't try it out - a bit disappointing but these things can't be helped.
Service generally was very good from check in through to housekeeping with perhaps the restaurant not quite at the same level as elsewhere. I'm only sorry I'm not able to mention a couple of staff by name (no name badges!) as they deserved particular praise.
All in all, a great stay in beautiful surroundings - we hope to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Sarah B

We are delighted to read that you had a "relaxing stay" and enjoyed your anniversary / birthday celebrations at The Oakley Court. Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff and facilities. I offer my sincere apologies for your disappointing Restaurant experience – we will carefully review your feedback with the Restaurant Manager and Chef as it is our intention to exceed our guest expectations in all areas.

We appreciate your understanding regarding the pool closure - this situation was unforeseen and due to circumstances beyond our immediate control. We are pleased to report that the pool is now in full service.

Thank you for taking the time to feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Oakley Court in the near future.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We arrived to a pleasant greeting in the main building with a glass of something fizzy. The main buildings are wonderful and very stately. However the room that we had was a huge let down in comparison. For the amount of money that we paid, I really expected the smaller details (such as a decent hair dryer, soft bathrobes and towels or a more up to date bathroom suite). The grounds provided a lovely walk and I am sure it will be lovely to sit in the sunshine over the summer. Yet we found the prices in the bar/lounge extremely over priced for what it actually was. We had a lovely weekend out in Windsor and Maidenhead whilst also enjoying an amazing curry at The Empire of India (about 5 minutes down the road if you turn right)

It was a lovely break, but for me it was just too overpriced. We had already spent a lot of money to go away, and having to pay extra (or not to have quality extras) was for me, too excessive.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear NicR

Thank you for staying at The Oakley Court. I am concerned to read of your disappointment. We have two hairdryers in each room; one in the bathroom and a second placed within the drawers and our bath robes and towels are of a high quality. Our bar prices are regularly monitored and in line with other 4* hotels in the area. It is pleasing to note that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay and thank you for your valued feedback.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,721 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Property: The Oakley Court
Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing