We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Berks
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Christmas afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We booked Christmas afternoon tea as a treat for our parents. We're received a lovely warm welcome and were shown to a great table by a roaring fire in the drawing room. Cost was £24.50 each which included a seasonal champagne fizz drink, unlimited tea and 4 different flavours of crust less finger sandwiches each (Turkey, smoked salmon, egg, cucumber), 2 scones with jam and clotted cream, a slice of Christmas cake, slice of stollen and a piece of coffee cake. All was served on lovely silver tiered plate stands. We couldn't eat it all so our leftovers were nicely packed in cake boxes for us to take home. The grounds are beautiful and well worth a stroll. We had a wonderful time and will definitely return again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jivecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Jivecat

Thank you for your review. It is good to read that you all enjoyed your Christmas Afternoon Tea. We are also pleased that you intend to return. Many of our guests choose to enjoy afternoon tea on the Terrace in the warmer months. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oakley Court Hotel.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    598
    227
    97
    75
See reviews for
448
920
28
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and I came here for a midweek break last week (beginning of Jan) it was everything we hoped for. we stayed in their cheaper room yet it was lovely, large room, decorated and furnished beautifully. The hotel itself is very grand and the grounds are beautiful running along the Thames. its a very quiet place, perfect for a quiet escape!! yet only 5 min drive from Windsor castle and the town. perfect!
We had the breakfast option which was ok, they had changed the format that week so it was new for the waiters/waitresses so their were a few minor mistakes, suh as my husband asked for no beans on his breakfast and when it arrived it had beans, they were very apologetic and changed it straight away. continental/cereal/fruit/pastries/toast was help yourself buffet but cooked breakfast was table service.
couple of small things was when we arrived to check in the reception girl asked us to sign in and then basically gave us our room key told us where are room was and that was it, our room was quite a walk from main reception and up a few flights of stairs which normally would not be a problem but I suffer with my back so it was not ideal, but they do not have a lift, so if you have problems with stairs make sure you nifty them before hand. we had to go back to ask about where the restaurant etc was and times etc, also when we got to our room, one of the tables had not been cleaned, but I went straight back down and they recleaned the room fully straight away.
all in all a nice place to stay, for the price though everything should be perfect, shame a couple of things let them down x
must say all staff were very friendly, even when passing in the grounds or the hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Sarak

Thank you for your review. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experience and I apologise for the aspects of your stay that were less than perfect. We hope that you return to allow us another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional service that The Oakley Court Hotel is renowned for.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We recently stayed at the Oakley Court Hotel in Windsor, this is the second time we've stayed over, the first time was very good although we were there for a business conference, the second occasion (January 2014) we came to celebrate my wife's birthday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, superb. Hotel staff are very welcoming and friendly. We received a free upgrade to an executive + junior suite overlooking the Thames (thanks Reka - very much appreciated). The grounds are lovely, the hotel's superb, and staff are can't do enough for you. Thank you all for a very enjoyable to stay.

Manj - Rm226

Room Tip: The rooms are very spacious and of a very good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid-Rm1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear ManjRm226

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us - it was our pleasure to welcome you once again to The Oakley Court Hotel.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked two nights at the Oakley Court as a Christmas treat after passing it several times on boat trips along the Thames. We wanted somewhere to get away from the hustle and bustle of Christmas and this was ideal. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we were even greeted with a nice glass of champagne on arrival which was a relly nice touch. The rooms are quite large and have all the things you would expect from hotel of this standard, We stayed in one of the rooms in the west wing and at first were a bit concerned as we had had bad experiences with other large hotels offering rooms which are not in the main house. We were extremely surprised as this hotel had gone the extra mile to ensure that these rooms were of a very high standard, spacious, clean and very comfortable. I think this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at and we will definitely return

Room Tip: All the rooms in this hotel are of a very high standard and you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianUK17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Brian UK17

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel and post a 5* "Stunning" review.

Our aim is to provide great hospitality, services and quality and I am delighted to read that you will definitely return. Many guests visit to enjoy the tranquil setting of the Oakley Court Hotel, although we are close to many local attractions for those guests wishing to explore the area.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great venue for a business conference. The conference rooms were fine, although the two coffee machines kept on breaking down. The staff were attentive, helpful and friendly. The bar and lounges were very inviting. Grounds and river frontage were lovely, shame it was in December. My room was huge. The swimming pool was a good length.

Room Tip: Ask for a river facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Phil098

The team at The Oakley Court Hotel look forward to welcoming you for a return visit as a leisure guest to enjoy the many facilities we offer.

Please accept my apologies for the malfunction with our conference coffee machines - this was rectified as soon as possible.

Thank you for your review.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I selected this hotel from a PH group mailing that was sent to me as a treat for my wife and I on her Birthday which falls between Christmas and New Year.
We only stayed one night but we will certainly be back. The other reviews say it all, this has to be one of the best hotels we have stayed in for a very long time in every respect. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the location is lovely on the bank of the Thames and in the evening the garden and trees are lit up.
We ate in the restaurant and I took advantage of the meal offer when I booked and saved nearly £25. The food and service were excellent as was the breakfast next morning.
I did read that somebody mentioned the bathroom was out dated, this is true, however, for the money what do you expect. Everything was clean and in good order, the only thing I found which was not working was the heated towel rail in the bathroom as the valve was shut and the knob had been removed (Room 328) if maintenance would like to look into it.
If I had to nominate one thing as outstanding it would be the staff. The only thing I can think of at the other end of the scale is if I were to bring my elderly Mother to the hotel she would find it impossible to get in and out of the high sided bath for a shower which has no height control. Unless the manager who reads this can tell me he has rooms with walk in showers?

Room Tip: It is well worth paying a little extra for a river view room - stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingsince1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Travellingsince1970

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted to read that you had a "perfect" stay and your praise of my team at The Oakley Court Hotel is very much appreciated. The shower rail in your room has been investigated by our Maintenance Manager and your feedback regarding “walk in” showers is noted and will be taken into consideration for future plans. We appreciate you taking the time to submit your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Oakley Court Hotel.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towcester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

we enjoyed a lovely stay to celebrate my wifes 50th birthday.upon arrival we were treated to a glass of bubbly,the room was very spacious and clean.we dined in the restaurant on our first night the food and service was superb.all staff were very cheerful and pleasant.a superb setting next to the river thames. thanks for a very enjoyable stay would like to return in the summer to enjoy the gardens and river.many thanks

Room Tip: a room overlooking the river would be very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howardtowcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2013, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear howardjc,

Thank you for rating our service, food and facilities so positively following your visit to The Oakley Court Hotel to celebrate your wife's 50th birthday.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer to enjoy our beautiful riverside location.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,516 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Property: The Oakley Court
Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing