We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to celebrate.”
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
berkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to celebrate.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

August 17th. We stayed at for two nights, to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. When we arrived, we were put in room 350, overlooking the river, a bottle of champagne, chocolate, fruit and a card from the manager were in the room, a very nice touch. The room was large, clean, comfortable and quite luxurious, even fluffy robes in the wardrobe. We ate in the restaurant the first night and have to say the food, service and atmosphere were first class. Breakfast was good on both mornings, with a reasonable amount of choice, however the self-service area was a little messy really needed to be tided up on a more regular basis. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble for any of the staff, the grounds were in excellent condition and the Spa area was enjoyable. I have no fears of recommending this Hotel, they clearly know about good service and customer care.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the river, not the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barneyBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear BarneyBerkshire,

Congratulations! The Oakley Court Hotel is the perfect choice to host a celebration to remember. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back on a future occasion. We have noted your comments regarding the breakfast area and thank you for your valued feedback.

With regards
Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,187
    606
    232
    97
    76
See reviews for
459
936
28
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limavady, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We have three kids and were concerned they wouldnt be made welcome how wrong we couldn't have been the staff were fantastic with the kids and couldn't do enough. The room was lovely spacious and clean and lovely fresh fruit waiting. The breakfast was excellent there was something for us all and again the staff were friendly and efficient. The location is stunning with lots of boats on the water and swans, ducks etc kids loved it. Will hopefully go back sometime great place to stay and only 25 minutes from Harry potter studios. Happy customers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 335nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear 335nichola

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you for another family break at The Oakley Court Hotel.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I dont really leave comments on tripadvisor because the hotels i go to are usually 5 stars, up to expectations and wonderful. But i am slightly desappointed this time. I booked the oakley court for its character and beautiful surroundings despite reading very mixed recent reviews about it. I am staying (am there at the moment) with my children.
The good: beautiful place for old stone lovers, charming castle, wonderful high ceiling rooms decorated with taste and a hint of british way of life. Stunning park that you can enjoy at anytime with a walk by the river, great number of leisure facilities (been too busy to try any yet), great location when you want to stay close to london and avoid the noisy city life. Peaceful and nice. Rooms are what you would expect to be from a castle and the main beds cosy. Food is ok, tasty, and their breakfast delightful and varied.
Where there is room for improvement: in the room: only standard channels on tv (no satellite/no cable channels/ no channels in languages other than english); movies on demand: cant watch, not working (bad image, breaks off all the time and no solutions to it). No toilet brush in the toilets (that can be a big deal). Restaurant (bar meals): this is where it does not do it for me. Thats twice we eat there and everytime the service has been quite super slow. Waiting 30 minutes to get my order taken (after i complained) and then another 30 minutes to have it served is not a good deal (we had only ordered a soup and a kids pizza). Apologies?: i did get a bit of it in the end but not enough to make me believe the same thing wouldnt happen tomorrow if i was to go back there to eat. Half way through i thought about ordering from pizza hut, it would have been quicker, tastier, bigger, better value for money. The food is ok: big plates with not so much inside unfortunately. Thank god it is tasty but i could still do with pizza hut rigjt now. I felt sometimes the staff was a bit misorganised because of too much work going on or lack of interest. Dont know. I read it had gone under new management, maybe it is not up to scratch yet.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beastyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Beastyboys

Thank you for your review. The Oakley Court Hotel is a Four Star hotel and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. I offer apologies for any inconvenience you experienced with regards to the TV and reception within your room. I can confirm we do not have toilet brushes as we are unable to hygienically sanitise these after each use. Our new Restaurant Manager further apologises for your less than perfect dining experience - it is only through detail such as this that we can improve our services and operations in the future.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great hotel fantastic location food out of this world. Large room a little dated but the view overlooking the Thames made up for that. The food we had at night was some of the best we have eaten and we have been on many cruises but the hotel food surpassed what we have had on board any ship.Nice to sit out on the deckchairs in the grounds looking out over the river.
Parking your car was expensive in Windsor a shame the hotel didn't run a shuttle bus at a small cost.

Room Tip: Room to overlook the Thames
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lofty56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear lofty56

Thank you for your 5* review of The Oakley Court Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we hope to welcome you for a return visit in the near future.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful grand hotel for 2 nights. Our room was very luxurious. Spotlessly clean with all the facilities we needed. I would definitely recommend it to anyone. A fabulous setting for a wedding. The hotel is beside the river Thames. It was very relaxing sitting by the river watching the boats slowly sailing by in the evening. The staff were very polite, helpful & proffessional.

Room Tip: A fantastic place to go to for a special treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Ellen355

Thank you for your review and for your compliments regarding the service and standards provided at The Oakley Court Hotel. We hope to welcome you for a future visit.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Ok.. Check in - excellent service, glass of fizz given as we were checking in.

1st night. We were totally shattered, its the start of our honeymoon, prior to heading to New York.... Fire alarm went off and we were all evacuated from the room.. Walked into the grounds (west wing fire door) so dark, no lighting, we walked into a non cordoned area which was like a bog..... Discussing.....

Decided on room service morning after. Cereals with no bowls and no milk...... Dont know how we were meant to eat.... Cooked breakfast was stone cold. Toast only lightly toasted, cold and no butter (despite ordering)... Called to tell them but explained that they were short staffed. Not rectified. Left tray outside room as per standard practice.... When we arrived back to the room in the evening, tray still there, had to call room service to collect.... 2230hrs tray still there with leftovers on it... Additional glasses added to the tray... I guess it's not the housekeeping responsibility to move...

Day 2 tray removed overnight!!!! Cheers guys! Hope there are no rats!!!!

Lets hope New York is better!!!!!

Check out tomorrow morning.....

I've often stayed in much less expensive hotels thru work with much better service....

Sorry chaps. Nice looking old hotel but the cracks are showing....

Room Tip: Continue into Windsor.... Skip Oakley court!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Rich D

The safety of our guests is top priority and in line with Health and Safety procedures we evacuate in the event of the alarm sounding.

It seems that your overall experience was less than satisfactory and I have noted your concerns and will turn to my management team to address. Please accept my apologies and thank you for your valued feedback.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My daughter and I stayed one night in August whilst on a little 3 night culture tour, staying at 3 different hotels. The first hotel outside Leicester was awful and on arrival at our 2nd night's choice it was not as advertised and they let us cancel.We were hot tired and disappointed with our hotels so far and at 6.30pm had no-where to stay. We rang our 3rd choice (a Principal Hayley Hotel) to see if they could take us for 2 nights but could only offer a room at their 'flagship' hotel Oakely Court, of which we knew nothing. We were reassured that we would have a quiet night, and although it was very expensive for just the room for one night, in desperation I said yes.
We were so delighted when we arrived, What a lovely hotel, perfect situation, glorious grounds, lawns rolling down to river and the standard double room was such high quality. Staff were busy but still managed to be pleasant and courteous. We had only booked the room so paid for dinner and drinks as extra's, but considered it a treat that quite made our little break extra special. Dining outside was glorious and we had a giggle playing snooker in the games room. We had wonderful night's sleep ina nice quiet part of the hotel with lovely river views (although a tiny negative was that a few people walked right past our window taking a short cut to the dining areas across the lawns, so not very private). Even though tea and toast was a bit OTT at £13 we still didn't want to leave, but Windsor Castle was beckoning. If only our last hotel had been as good. (Another Principal Hayley hotel, Beaumont Estate, was terrible and we had to complain to get 'upgraded' to the part of the hotel we had originally booked anyway). But I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Oakley Court again, when I win the lottery I'm taking the family for a weekend. Its a jewel of a hotel.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are bit more private from people walking around the lawns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Dorren O

Thank you for deciding to stay with us - we are pleased you had a relaxing stay and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Oakley Court Hotel.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,595 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Property: The Oakley Court
Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing