We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a location”
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level 6 Contributor
591 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“What a location”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Have been to many area hotels and did not even know of this place until friends from Oz booked it for their last night in the UK. We decided to join them.
We were overwhelmed by the location and the setting of the hotel. Wonderful gardens fronting the Thames with superb patio seating for drinks and casual dining. We looked at the dinner menu but found both the choice to be too complicated and far too expensive unless you ordered from the set meal. This was however too limited in choice for us.
The bedroom overlooked the river with a more limited view than others but still very nice. We did not like the air cooling system which just seemed to blow more warm air. The concierge could not suggest any local restaurants.
Breakfast was pretty good but very cramped and the fried eggs container opened adjoining the toaster which was dangerous.
Overall we enjoyed ourselves and would probably stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian_uk12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear brian_uk2000

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. The location and setting of The Oakley Court Hotel is enviable and certainly solicits excellent comments from all of our guests.

Regarding our menu - I can confirm that our menu selection changes regularly and I am sorry that the selection offered at the time of your visit was not to your liking.

Our Concierge is always happy to help and provide information for guests and our Front of House Manager is currently investigating your comments and will address - please accept our apologies.

Thank you for your valued feedback as it is only through detail such as this that we can improve our services and operations in the future.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oakley Court Hotel.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,238
    629
    241
    101
    81
See reviews for
488
974
28
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The grounds are beautiful. We had a problem with the electric to the room and the staff dealt with it very quickly and efficiently. The staff were very helpful and professional. We had dinner in the restaurant on the one night and it was a good quality meal. The river view in our room was lovely. I would definitely use the hotel again.

The only complaint was the music in the restaurant which was the same three songs being played over again during dinner and breakfast every day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeeeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear MeeeEngland

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you will definitely return to The Oakley Court Hotel. I have passed your feedback regarding the background music to The Restaurant Manager. Thank you for taking the time to feedback and we hope to welcome you in the not too distant future.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Oakley court is upscale so we only stayed one night,but what a great place.The staff is very professional.The hotel is right on the Thames and we had a very large ,comfortable room with a river view.It was a very relaxing stay before our trip back to reality.We highly recommend staying here even if only for one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berube54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear berube54

Thank you for highly recommending The Oakley Court Hotel and for your compliments regarding our team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on another visit.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My fiancé and I booked a bed breakfast evening meal and Windsor castle offer. We had a superior double, the room was lovely, beautiful furniture, trouser press, mini fridge, complimentary water etc, etc.it was a big room with a huge bed !
The staff where very polite and friendly, the grounds were beautiful, you could sit outside to eat or have a drink at the outside restaurant which over looked beautiful gardens and the river Thames.
You can choose to have dinner outside or in the more formal dinning room.
The food and service was excellent, the wine even better. We had coffee in one of the beautiful lounges.
The following morning we decided to have breakfast in our room, which was great, everything you wanted and so relaxing.
From the hotel we went on to Windsor castle which is another review :-).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeaniem6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear jeanieM6

Thank you for your 5* review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the charm and ambience of the Oakley Court Hotel together with the service provided by my team. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Found this place by chance the evening before my 65th Birthday, thought we knew all the lovely places on the Thames but this was heaven, had cream teas with the family,not very impressed with the scones so hard, sandwiches fine, service brilliant.Tried to book a boat in the morning but was told it should be ok for the afternoon being a Tuesday, so after the teas we went to ask about the boat but was told it was going out in a few minutes, A disappointed family birthday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginny5019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Ginny5019

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your afternoon tea at our stunning location on the banks of the River Thames and I do apologise for your scones being less than perfect at the time of your visit.

It is advisable to pre-book boats as they always prove to be very popular with guests especially during the warm periods of weather we are currently experiencing.

We hope to welcome you again to the Oakley Court Hotel.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had the everything we needed, an excellent hotel, convenient for where we'd planned our visit. Close to the train station for our trip into London, very close to Windsor Castle for our tour and the hotel sitting on the Thames a perfect location for people watching, we partook of the evening BBQ a very pleasant experience indeed. The grounds of the hotel are very nice to walk around the sculptures are well worth a look. The weather was superb which made the visit all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Stelbug

Thank you for rating our facilities and services so positively. Many guests find the proximity of the hotel to local attractions and transport links to be helpful and add value to their stay. We hope to welcome you back to The Oakley Court Hotel and thank you for your review.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed one night with my daughter and thoroughly enjoyed it. Right on the River Thames with beautiful grounds by the river to picnic in or can pay and hire a boat/take a cruise. Great indoor pool and spa facilities. Friendly staff. Bedroom was huge, comfortable and with all amenities expected at a 4*. Didn't eat dinner at the hotel as arrived quite late but picked up sandwiches, nibbles and wine and was pleased to find wine glasses in the room and a fridge to keep our sandwiches cool whilst we took a swim. Gave cooked breakfast a miss though as we were unwilling to pay the £18 per head for it - took our own and had a DIY breakfast in bed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angharad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Angharad B

We are pleased that you had a relaxing stay at The Oakley Court Hotel and thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,788 reviews
2.7 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Property: The Oakley Court
Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing