We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque luxury hotel on the bank of The Thames”
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Rarely does a UK hotel exceed my expectations. the Oakley Court is rare indeed. My wife and I booked a last minute stay here through Booking.com for £171 for one night in a river-view room before we flew from Heathrow.

The exterior of the hotel is a truly remarkable piece of architecture and the grounds are beautiful. The interior of the hotel is equally grand.

Reception service was welcoming, friendly and efficient. Our room (222) was in the West Wing looking down the Thames. The room is very spacious and includes all the usual amenities plus a trouser press (a rare things these days). The king bed was very comfortable.

Our bathroom was spacious and had a lovely deep tub/shower. The bathroom includes a Bidet.

Take time to stroll down the bank of the Thames and soak in the natural beauty of the grounds and the terrific sculptures made from tree branches.

Breakfast was good though the croissants were tiny (I would have preferred full-size fresh croissants at this price).

Dinner costs around £30 per head ... We opted to drive into Windsor for dinner at The Hungry Eye (recommended).

If you have more than one night there are plenty of things to do at this hotel.

Room Tip: Select a river view room to fully appreciate the setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear NigelMA

Thank you for your 5 Star review - I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Oakley Ct - I take on board your Croisants comments, I will be changing these to "full size" shortly!

I look forward to you returning to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,597 - 1,603 of 2,387 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just had a long weekend at this hotel,got the usual twin room saga until i insisted that i had booked a double room,then like magic a double room appeared the staff were superb and attended to all our needs the food and drink was good but very expensive even for a hotel, the grounds were beautiful a great view of the river thames,they have their own 9 hole golf course and steam room jacuzzi and spa the rooms are excellent the one we had was a king size bed and so comfortable

Room Tip: we stayed in the west wing and it was quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnmc0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Johnmc0001
Thank you for your 5 star review - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Oakley Court Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have just had a three day Super Break at The Oakley Court Hotel. There is absolutely nothing negative to say about it. The grounds, the hotel, the rooms both bedrooms and public rooms were immaculately and tastefully decorated and very spacious and the restaurant and all hotel staff were excellent. I would most definitely recommend anyone to give it a try. There's plenty of parking and an easy few minutes drive into Windsor where we had no trouble parking. One tip though, if you park right in the centre of Windsor you will pay over double to cost of parking just a 10 minute stroll away on the edge of town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear ChristineJ
Thank you for your complimentary review and for recommending the Oakley Court Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We wanted to revisit Windsor and decided to locate ourselves at Oakley Court. We were very impressed with the hotel.The room we chose overlooked the Thames (well worth it) and were spacious and clean.The breakfast at the hotel was very good but we did not dine otherwise at the hotel as we wanted to spend our limited time looking around Windsor and Eton.The only complaint was that the air condtioning was either faulty or inadequate. Other than that criticism very impressed with the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan28347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Alan28347
Thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to welcome you again to The Oakley Court Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

First the positives - great location, beautiful grounds and property, most of the staff we met were very friendly and accommodating, and the rooms (courtyard wing) were big. Unfortunately for us, we arrived (couple plus baby) and were put in a room (402) with a cathedral skylight .... with no way to block out the light! As a result we had to switch rooms but were not able to do that until the 2nd night of our stay due to having a sleeping baby the first night. The issue here is why have a hotel room and have no way to block out the light, especially in June (was light at 5am). While the hotel staff were apologetic and switched us to a room downstairs the next day, no-one took the step of offering any type of meaningful discount as a result of our inconvenience which frankly is a shame as it left us with a disappointing opinion of this hotel. Would not return however my advice to the management of this property is to pay a little more attention to putting things right - will go a long way to building loyalty.

Room Tip: Not 402!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GPATB38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear GPATB38
Thank you for your review. The room you refer to is very popular and often requested by regular guests. I am sorry this was not to your liking - I can fully understand this room may not have been ideal with a baby. I am pleased to note that you were moved to another room as soon as possible and that all other aspects of your stay were to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just spent a weekend at Oakley Court, Windsor. Expensive but worth it - lovely hotel in a lovely setting. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was excellent and as I am a coeliac and always a little apprehensive about dining out, I was extremely pleased with the restaurant staff's knowledge and helpfulness - they even had gluten-free bread to hand - now that is a first! The facilities are first-class; cleanliness is good and the whole experience was very relaxing. If I have one complaint, it is that despite the weather being mild the hotel rooms always felt very warm and muggy - the air-conditioning had to be on full-blast in the bedroom.

Would I go again - you betcher.

Room Tip: Ask for a room riverside - better view and more chance of a cooling breeze in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickycat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Rickycat77
Thak you for your complimentary review and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Took a trip to Windsor for three nights and got a terrific deal at this hotel. It was easy to find and the grounds were lovely which gave us a good feeling when we rocked up. Check in was quick and we were escorted to our room by a lovely chap who told us a bit of history of the hotel and the different movies that had been shot there. Our room was lovely, however we were woken up at 6am by the people above moving around the creaky floor. As we were staying for the three nights we spoke to Catherine on Reception who quickly and efficiently moved us from the stable block to the West Wing where we were given another lovely room and we continued our holiday. The service was friendly and acceptably efficient and the grounds were stunning. We will definitely return to Windsor again and when we do The Oakley Court will be our hotel of choice. highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Fi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Fi M
We are pleased that you had a "wonderful stay" and we look forward to you returning to the Oakley Court Hotel next time you visit Windsor. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,960 reviews
2.7 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: $205 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing