We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Great Location”
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here two nights. Check-in smooth. Our room had a view of the Thames, with a small walk from the reception to the room. Amenities were great and the room was lovely and quiet, great for people who are jet-lagged. Breakfast in our room was excellent and service prompt.Great surroundings and lovely buildings. Short drive to Windsor which suited us..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay so much - I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Richard Smith, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,688 - 1,694 of 2,387 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

We only stayed one night, but it seemed good with clean, quiet rooms. It's quite a rambling place so we had to walk a few minutes from reception to our room, but that was fine. The breakfast was reasonably good and the grounds looked lovely fronting onto the river, although sadly it was raining so we didn't get to enjoy them

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Francisthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay - next time bring some sunshine with you and stay for more nights!

Richard Smith, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I recently visited Oakley Court Hotel for a spa trip with a group of friends. My friend had very kindly bought us all a 'spa' day out so we could get together and do what girls do best... get pampered!!! Nothing could have been further from the word relax... by the time it got to lunch I thought someone was going to jump out with a camera and say this has all been a joke!! Firstly we arrived at 10.30am as we had the 1st treatments booked for 11.30am and we wanted to get our robes and slippers on. We were greeted by the RUDEST staff who pointed us to the direction of the 'spa' reception after 15 mins with no one about we asked the leisure staff again about the where the 'spa' staff were. They informed us "oh they do this all the time" (great first impression) and that the pool is separate to the treatment rooms so we would all have to pay an additional £10 each to use the pool. At 11.30am we meet with the 'spa' staff and again are asked to pay the additional £10 for the pool. We were also then informed that the Oakley Court Hotel 'Spa' is not a 'Spa' but treatment rooms!! Also to add insult to injury the 'free lunch' wasn't going to be free. So with no robes or slippers on due to the fact it's not a 'spa' we spent the morning by the pool and got our first treatments done. So now it's lunch - we have to get changed back into our clothes due to the fact it's not a spa and walk over to a different part of the hotel for some lunch. We were asked in the restaurant "are you here for the spa lunch?" yes that's right the spa that isn't a spa is offering a spa lunch...? any way after a lot of too'ing and fro'ing we are sat at table in the restaurant and given rather good looking menus, we start to discuss who's going to have what for dinner when it's starts to get confusing we are all saying dishes but none of us can see it on our menus... oh that's right we were all given different menus!!... To summarise - THIS IS NOT A SPA! The staff are rude and all that's missing is Manuel from Faulty Towers. DO NOT VISIT!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
3  Thank -BEES-Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Firstly thank you for your feedback, I am disappointed that your impression was less than perfect on this occasion - the "Escape" is a third party operator of our beauty treatment rooms, I will certainly pass your comments to them for a response to you directly.
By far the majority of our hotel guests and external Leisure Club Members all enjoy our facilities, however we seem to have fallen short of your expectations on this isolated occasion, I apologise for this - if any of my team had been made aware at the time we would have certainly endeavoured to rectify your experience. However, thank you now for providing your feedback, as it is only through receiving such feedback that I am able to effect change for the better at the hotel
Richard Smith, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here twice in one week. The first stay was brilliant, -Maybe because I had no expectations set. The room was in the new block with the leisure centre and was spectacular. Large open space with a supremely comfortable mega size bed. Dinner was excellent, with attentive service. Just felt very content to be there. The second stay was not so good, my expectations were not realised as I was given a dinky little twin and after dinner the place got simply flooded by some sort of conference that had just broken up. Clearly many of them were well lubricated and motivated on a a couple more adult beverages -but unfortunately the bar could not cope with the numbers......
As to location, it is out of town. You will not get into town without transport so do not select this hotel if you want to wander around in Windsor and be able to walk home. If you want some peace.... then it is perfect.
Top feature: Choice of two landing areas to land your heli !
Close second: Gothic stonework, probalbly why Hammer House of Horror use it so often.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Origami_kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for providing this feedback and also for staying twice in one week! I will certainly share your comments with my team. I was disappointed to read about your second experience not being quite the same as the first - I apologise for this, the large group we had booked at the hotel certainly enjoyed themselves, however this may have caused some frustrations with our other guests staying during this isolated time.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I fell in love with the setting and romance of the building, on the banks of the Thames with gargoyles staring from the stoney turrets. It was pouring with rain when we stayed but I can see this place would be amazing with the sun out, enjoying a Chablis on the terrace. The reception areas and bar are quite small but the staff were great, made you feel very welcome. Bedrooms were generous with comfortable bed. Well located if you are planning a night out in Windsor and off course ideally placed for the Heston restaurants in Bray. Breakfast was average and it was heaving. Good nights sleep though.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlottiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back some time in the sunnier months ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Beautiful hotel and beautiful grounds. Myself and partner wee invited along as part of family 60th birthday party/celebration. The service cannotbe faulted by any of the staff. In fact I would say it was exceptional. We had a large room overlooking the river with a massive king size bed.
This place hasa fascinating history as a lot ofthe Hammer horror films were filmed here, as were the St Trinians and others. The only down side was the bar prices for the cocktails. £9 for a small cocktail. The kitchen staff very kindly produced a vega mal for me (it had been asked for in advance). Unfortunaately, my meal was abit of a let down. The onion soup was the consistency of baby food and didnt really taste of onion. The main course was a mushroom risotto which was so bland. It had no flavour at all. The pudding was the best, a plate offruit, very decoratively presented. There was nothing really for a vegan to eat from the bar menu either. But I did have a bowl of lovely three times cooked chips.
At breakfast the next day, again, the kitchen staff were most accommodating in coking some of my vegan bacon for me. All in all, a very good experience in a beautiful setting in a ple with charachter. I felt they could have made more of their filmic past. Perhaps a few photos around of scenes from the films at the place where the scene took place. ould we go again? Probably not. But nonetheless, an interesting experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickyjiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding the exceptional service you received throughout your stay at the Oakley Court HoteI. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I can confirm that our bar prices are in line with other 4 star hotels in the area . I will also pass your feedback regarding our vegetarian options to our Head Chef as guest feedback is of vital importance to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My sister, 7 year old niece and I spent 2 days in a suite overlooking the Thames. The grounds of this hotel and the experience of being able to wander along the banks of the Thames on a sunny day were beautiful. The gothic looking hotel, with it's nooks and crannies really is like a film set. The staff were not only friendly and helpful, but able to tell us about the history of the hotel. Food was wonderful. The big hit with my niece was the pool. So much so, we never made it to Windsor the second day. The perfect place to go to unwind and have a bit of a pamper in lovely surroundings.

Room Tip: The West Wing is nearest to the river bank, and you have more chance of getting a river view if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lottie-2-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your valued review. We are pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,963 reviews
2.7 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: $205 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing