We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place.”
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Booked via net at the very last moment and was not disappointed. True I did experience a noise issue that was dealt with in the most expeditious and correct manner by the night staff, Darrel, in particular! Before making this post I have read the good,bad and ugly.......my view would be simply, dont expect to be staying in the big castle nearby by and you will be fine.
It is not expensive and good value for your money. Will I stay there again..........most certainly!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahame R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Oakley Court Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,684 - 1,690 of 2,347 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

As you drive up the hotel looks very impressive and your expectations rise.....however issues quickly became apparent. After parking the car we were unable to get out because the spaces were too narrow so either find a space on the end of a row or park further away and trek back. We were early but hopeful that we could get settled in - but we had no chance with the unhelpful young lady behind the desk so we skipped lunch in the hotel and headed off to Windsor castle. Later in the day we returned and went to our room in the west wing which was a nice size and had good views of the river. Decoration is a bit old fashioned and window jammed when I opened it. We slept well but with no heating as it is very loud when switched on. Also a bit of trek back to the main house.

The main building itself is very nice - a bit like a country house with big rooms and appropriate furniture. In hindsight I wish I had asked for a room in this part of the building. Dinner was a delight - great service, a nice menu and food to match. Although the room is a bit dull the piano player helped make it an enjoyable evening. Breakfast was a standard serve yourself buffet with the usual advantages/disadvantages of the system. Concierge was also very helpful with local attractions etc.

The check out lady (Kathy??) was very pleasant, keen to hear my comments and offered me an upgrade on my next visit but I don't think I will be returning which shows first impressions are usually the most important.

Room Tip: I went for the east wing based on trip adviser but after staying there would recommend the main hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your valued review of The Oakley Court Hotel following your recent stay Early check in is always subject to availability and I am sorry it was not possible to offer this at the time of your arrival. Thank you for taking the time to feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed at Oakley Court Windsor last weekend and had a good time with our two friends, who we hadn’t seen for a while. It was my birthday celebration too, so we decided to splash out and stay overnight with dinner bed and breakfast. As it was a special occasion we booked afternoon tea as well, which was all very pleasant overlooking the river with the geese and wild birds in abundance. The Afternoon tea was very good with plenty of sandwiches and cakes as well as homemade scones and the staff were all very attentive. I didn’t think it was too expensive either, as we had two teas between the four of us which worked out at £ 21 each tea.
The hotel is nice but you can’t really appreciate the full view of the hotel itself as by the time you get through the winding drive your there at reception, so it’s not quite the wow factor when you arrive as it should be, in my opinion. The rooms booked included a disabled room for me, but unfortunately Oakley Courts idea of a disabled room was up 2 steps to reception then out again to our rooms which were across the driveway, then along a short path to another step, then another step to our room. This was also more annoying as it didn’t stop raining during our stay, so each time we went to and from the room to the hotel we got soaked.
The room itself was quite nice, but barely adapted for disabilities, with the exception of the bathroom, where they had made an attempt at adapting it, with a few rails to hold on to, and a lowered sink, but if I had been staying more than one night, I would have been unhappy due to the bathing situation which was just a normal bath with a hand rail to one side.
However my husband spoke to the young duty manager, telling him of the situation and although they didn’t have any other rooms to offer us, he kindly arranged 4 glasses of champagne for us on arrival at dinner. The meal was excellent with a pre started and some lovely fresh bread. I had the scallops to start with which were really nice and in a lovely buttery sauce. We all had steak for our main course and Wow! Was it delicious! You could cut this steak with a butter knife and it had a wonderful flavour as were the side dishes included. Our waiter Thomaz was truly excellent and paid attention to detail on every account from the food to the wine and even breakfast the next day, so thank you to Thomaz for making it special for us. Overall we paid a good rate for our dinner bed and breakfast, so felt that we had value for our money.

Room Tip: Try and atay in the main building with views of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IR2HELPU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you also for your valued feedback, which is vital for us to review the level of service and facilities we provide for our guests. Your review is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We spent two nights at Oakley Court on the first weekend of February. Our suite was luxurious and very well looked after, the swimming pool and sauna area was very relaxing and breakfast was excellent. The location is also fantastic, being so close to Windsor. The thing that really stood out to me was the standard of service offered by the staff. We were made to feel valued and felt very much at home. All in all, a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

We are delighted to receive your commendations about The Oakley Court Hotel and the impressive service offered. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I recently stayed at Oakley Court to catch up with some old girl friends. We shared a large room which was perfect for the 3 of us. Had a beautiful dinner in the Library and stayed up chatting until 4a.m! Chatting continued over a long and leisurely breakfast and just had the nicest time. All the staff were so friendly and relaxed that we just felt at home throughout our stay. Looking forward to our next catch up when perhaps we will make use of the new treatment facilities, if we can stop chatting!

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the East Wing are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cutie1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

We are pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable weekend and it will be our pleasure to welcome you and your friends for a return stay. Thank you for taking the time to feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Oakley Court offers a beautiful venue, a gothic building on the banks of The Thames with sweeping lawns and the main building has grand but intimidate comfy sofas etc. service was lovely and attentive. Pluses for our afternoon tea were the sandwiches and clotted cream and the beautiful little boxes provided for our 'doggie bag' take homes! Big minus was that the tea was tea bags ... Not loose leaf! No 'tea menu' just Twinnings tea bags which of course left a disgusting film around my delicate china cup. The cakes of which there were only three were I am sure 'brought in' and the jam was definitely not homemade. We had delightful afternoon but this is a budget afternoon tea - not for connessieurs of partaking of afternoon tea. Pay £10 more and go to Cliveden for the real deal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sallyjmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding the attentive service you received when visiting The Oakley Court Hotel. We normally receive many compliments about the quality of our afternoon tea and I am therefore disappointed to read that certain aspects were not 100 percent to your liking. Thank you for your valued feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I went to stay with my 8 year old son overnight. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. The concierge, Mr JJ Ngala was so friendly to my son and very helpful in showing us our room. I received a glass of cava on arrival which was a nice touch.

The room was very spacious and well-equipped. Reception were unfailingly responsive and handled a couple of small glitches very well (kettle stopped working and was very swiftly replaced; morning paper went astray but an alternative was offered). Free wifi worked well. Room service was quick, efficient and friendly. We ate from the bar menu, which was very tasty though as always in hotels, expensive (£16 for fish and chips or a burger - both very well executed though.) There was a radiator for heating and the upper part of the sash windows could be opened for fresh air, which was great.

The only slight disappointment was the pool. It is very small, not really suitable for swimming in as exercise. It was also very warm - rather too warm for me - and busy with lots of kids on a Friday evening. The water seemed a bit cloudy. The changing room was also small and very busy with people having left their clothes over all the benches so it was hard to find room to change! For a quick dip and a loll it was perfectly pleasant, specially if you can avoid busy periods.

Breakfast was very good indeed, and plentiful - the hot items were constantly replenished.

We enjoyed exploring the grounds and the hotel itself - look out for the suit of armour on one of the staircases!

The highlight of this hotel was the very friendly service from reception, room service and concierge, I'd say. It really did seem that they were happy to help.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are in two modern wings - however these are attached to the main hotel so you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Charlie162a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Oakley Court Hotel and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,921 reviews
2.7 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: $207 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing