We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night. The service provided by staff is excellent with nothing too much trouble, the room (in the west wing) was very comfortable with toiletries and robes provided. We used the gym and pool, these were great for relaxing (although the gym is small) The bar is very welcoming with plenty of comfortable seating and a nice atmosphere. Dinner in the restaurant was extremely good, although pricey the food and service makes it worth every penny.
We would definately recommend The Oakley Court and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deno_palmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your words of appreciation following your recent stay and also for recommending The Oakley Court Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,239
    631
    241
    101
    81
See reviews for
489
975
28
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This elegant hotel in a wonderful setting was perfect. Lovely grounds, sumptuous food and attentive, yet unobtrusive staff made our stay delightful. Historic property (and the set for Rocky Horror film) with added benefit of leisure/spa and golf - something for everyone. Quiet, rural setting so close to Windsor another benefit.

Room Tip: Get one of the river view rooms for added delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltlwing64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for rating our service, food and facilities positively We hope to see you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I first heard about this hotel from the Rocky horror picture show as it was filmed here and at Bray studios next door.The hotel looks fantastic and as a concierge of a five star hotel in Knightsbridge I was seriouslly impressed.Room had river view lovely bed. it was apart from the main house but we went and had dinner and a cup of tea at the end of the night (thank you Micheal).Check in/ check out perfect.Annabel at reception was lovely.Dinner was great too,We shall definatly be back.

Room Tip: the river view is a nice touch but they are not in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richiekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your five star review. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you at the Oakley Court on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I booked a Groupon package with a mini facial, back massage and foot treatment with a 2 course lunch. The newly opened spa (Nov 2012) was warm and well appointed, although the treatment rooms are very small. The staff were welcoming and I was very impressed with the standard of the treatments and the comfort of the relax room. However, when I went to the hotel for my lunch, I had not been booked in and did not feel I was particularly welcome. However, I was found a table and offered a drink. The lunch itself was buffet style and I enjoyed what I had, although I was dismayed to see the top layer of the green salad looking dry and wilted, although I was the first diner of the session. However, I had to eat it to the accompaniment of a male voice lecturing the waiting staff on the need to be 'more proactive' when serving people at lunch. In the end I tuned out the voice, so I don't know what the rest of the conversation was about, but it created a most uncomfortable atmosphere. Then, when I went up to get my main course, another manager brusquely greeted me with the words 'Who are you with?'. He didn't actually bar my way, but again, I am not used to this kind of attitude in a dining environment.
Having said this, the grounds are absolutely stunning and the view of the river is beautiful. Outside, there is a lovely peaceful atmosphere and I enjoyed my walk around the gardens after lunch.
Overall, a very mixed experience - I would certainly return to the spa and particularly liked the products they used, which are organic and much cheaper than most salon products. However, I shall not be returning to dine there, as although the food was pretty good, the atmosphere in the restaurant was not conducive to relaxing and enjoying a meal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishkamitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your treatments, the grounds and your food. Your constructive comments will be discussed with my team to further strengthen our positive approach to training within the resturantant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

It has been 15 months since I was last here. The river is still in the same place and still looks lovely; so does the lovely aged building. But the rooms are looking tattier, and the staff seem to be getting cheaper. I had soup poured in my lap at our formal dinner: that has not happened for a long time. The hotel is in a mobile phone blackspot but the landline phone charges are extraordinary: a colleague seemed to pay about £5 per minute, from what he said. My shower was not working properly - not in the quaint Olde-Englishe way, just in the Rubbish-Maintenance way. One evening I asked for a salad in the restaurant, as I did not want a big meal but I did want to sit with my group. I was told that I had to order from the full-price menu (£25 per head), or go and sit elsewhere. It all smacks of a premium-price hotel trying to cut corners and squeeze every possible penny of extra cash from us. I find this tacky. The place still has some great assets, but I did not feel the experience matched the eventual price.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tadashii66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
I am disappointed and concerned to read your review. The majority of our customer reviews are of a positive nature and I would have liked the opportunity to meet with you personally at the time of your visit to address your concerns. I have checked with my team and we do not have a record of these issues being raised at the time, therefore it is now difficult to rectify. I can advise, we are not in a “mobile phone black spot” and our telephone charges are clearly listed. I offer my apologies for the isolated incidents you describe and do hope that if you return to the hotel on a future occasion, you will allow me the opportunity to prove that this is not our normal operating standard and not the impression we wish our guests to leave with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

stayed at the hotel on bonfire weekend friday until sunday because i had won family pass to legoland in our local paper which had to be used by november.Thought we would have a treat and luxury instead of basic hotel. well worth going gorgeous hotel, grounds fantastic and staff all courteous and main thing to note was that we didn't feel out of place with our two daughters aged two and four. Nice to see history depicted around the buildings and the entrance was lovely with lanterns. we didnt try the swimming pool due to not having enough time. great location as ten minute drive to windsor. breakfast good as lots to choose from. only negative was that my partner witnessed one of the male staff speak nastily to a taxi driver because he had arrived too early and sent him packing to pass time. we use a local taxi company and cars immaculate and driver polite and courteous - so shame on you staff! no need to be rude talking down to someone.

Room Tip: we were part of the main building so we felt we had character with our surroundings. The annexe buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to learn that you had such an enjoyable weekend at the Oakley Court Hotel. Our Front of House Manager is investigating your comments regarding the situation you witnessed as we certainly do not encourage this type of communication. We have an excellent working relationship with our taxi company whom we have worked with for 30 years. Thank you for your valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Afternoon Tea we had on the weekend at Oakley Court Hotel has been one of the best yet that we have experienced. Being Afternoon Tea connoisseurs we have tried many different venues and this one is at the top of our list for quality, ambiance and value for money so far. The scones were fresh and very delicious and the other bits were also very nice. The room which we sat in for Afternoon Tea was lovely as it was nicely furnished and had views out to the river. This Afternoon Tea I felt was very good value for money and I would recommend it to others who are wishing to experience a traditional English Afternoon Tea in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amyskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your words of appreciation regarding our afternoon tea. Your feedback is highly valued and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,805 reviews
2.7 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Property: The Oakley Court
Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing